KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Sierra Wireless

Is this your company?

Sierra Wireless

Add a Review

Sierra Wireless Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 225 reviews

3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Sierra Wireless President and CEO Kent Thexton (no image)
Kent Thexton
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment, Great colleagues(in 16 reviews)

  • "They have a good work life balance(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It's in the middle of nowhere in Richmond(in 5 reviews)

  • "Growth opportunity can be limited if you are not digging yourself in the opened internal position(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good salary, benefits, work-life balance, but company lacks leadership.

      Aug 13, 2019 - Senior Firmware Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company really cares about their employees. Pay and benefits are good and work-life balance is good. Working in IoT sector offers interesting technology, and many coworkers are very competent.

      Cons

      Senior management appear to have no tangible plan for future products and services. They want recurring revenue but it's not clear what value they offer for this. The core business (wireless modems) has become commoditized with low margins. As such I fear for the future of the company.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Sierra Wireless Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for your feedback - we are always looking for ways to improve and serve our customers better. Sierra Wireless is currently going through a period of growth and transformation and we are striving to build a strong and growing funnel of opportunities for our customers that will allow our organization to continue to be successful.

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Work-life balance

      Jan 17, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Work-life balance -Flexible working hours -Very good welfare -Opportunity to use the latest technology

      Cons

      -Knowledge transfer is not effective, so it is not easy to handle the project transferred from the overseas team. - You may feel difficult to build-up expertise as the works are too diverse.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      Not a good place to develop your career

      Jan 12, 2021 - Embedded Software Engineer in Richmond, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work-life balance Layback work style Flexible vacation

      Cons

      Chaotic management, from top to bottom Unaccountable leadership No space for junior to grow (treated as code monkey)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      a good company

      Aug 17, 2020 - Test Engineer in Hong Kong
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - work life balance company - workload reasonable - nice people - nice company culture

      Cons

      - salary is a little bit lower than other company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Intern

      Not a bad place to work at

      Jul 31, 2020 - Software Test Engineer in Richmond, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have a good work life balance. Their own gym Has catering

      Cons

      A lot of manual testing.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      OK to work at

      Apr 5, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid Technology, reasonable management, good work life balance

      Cons

      Ever changing process implements rather than design

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Inside Sales

      Jan 25, 2017 - Inside Sales in Richmond, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Our Team embrace changes to support our Regional Sales Managers/ Directors. Being here for a short time, I've very happy being part of the Team. Positive culture, supportive Team and fantastic Leaders. We embrace change to best support and deliver excellence. Work life balance is great, I always have a blast coming to work and I keep learning new things each day. One Team one goal. Whomever hates and has left us negative feedback- I wish you luck in your future career but it's time to let it go. Our role changes to reflect business needs and our top priority is to drive success and deliver not customer experience but also generate new opportunities.

      Cons

      I do enjoy the convenience of Cafeteria food but it can improve in variety. :) I do enjoy the convenience of Cafeteria food but it can improve in variety. :)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Sierra Wireless Response

      Senior HR Advisor

      We’re happy to hear that you’ve been able to find the necessary support to be successful in your role. We will work on bringing healthier, tasty meals!

    8. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Inside Sales

      Jan 25, 2017 - Inside Sales in Richmond, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Positive Culture -Supportive Team -Supportive Leadership Team -Loyal Employees -Work life balance -Embrace changes -Customer focus -Success driven Advice to the Haters: Life brings you in different directions, be mindful when leaving feedback that this world isn't as big as you may seem. You feedback reflects the reasons why you are no longer with this Team. We wish you all the best and hope you'll find a way to put your negative feelings aside as your own brand will reflect on your next career path. Our roles and responsibilities changes to better support our extended Sales Team. We put forth effort to stride for excellence to deliver common goals for our Organizations.

      Cons

      -Improvement on cafe menu if possible.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Sierra Wireless Response

      Senior HR Advisor

      Thank you for providing your perspective. We are happy to have you on board, and will work on bringing healthier, tasty meals!

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great work environment

      Feb 11, 2010 - Engineer in Richmond, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great working environment. The people here are just extraordinary to be around; teamwork is definitely not an issue. Everyone is willing to help and share information for the greater good. Great benefits and ok compensation. Good work-life balance. You definitely get to learn a lot here, and there are opportunities to move around.

      Cons

      Because Sierra Wireless is a multinational company, competition exists between the various sites. As with most companies, this one also suffers from corporate politics and the need to satisfy the expectations of the investors and creditors. Don't expect huge gains in compensation based on performance, unless you have a great manager who fights for you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sierra Wireless Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Sierra Wireless? Share Your Experiences

    Sierra Wireless logo
    or