Signal 88 Security Reviews | Glassdoor

Signal 88 Security Reviews

Updated Oct 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 150 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Signal 88 Security CEO Reed Nyffeler (no image)
Reed Nyffeler
78 Ratings
Pros
  • "Always something new, great technology, great team(in 5 reviews)

  • "There are no pros unless you consider getting screwed over more than you ever have before a good thing(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "No paid time off, no health care, other than pay there are no benefits(in 19 reviews)

  • "No Benefits, low pay, lots of overtime, really bad phone app(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fair and just"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Signal 88 Security full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They will treat you like they care about you, they will have a patrol officer out to you before the police even get there normally, and if its bad the owner will be there to help. The company will listen to what you have to say (provided you dont run off and quite before you get the chance) They are fast and prompt on fixing pay issues

    Cons

    Its a security job not much else to say if you have worked on before as for the company the owner can be a bit busy but he is the owner and runs the company.

    Advice to Management

    Get dash cams for patrol cars

    Signal 88 Security2019-10-07
  2. "Professional and courteous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Signal 88 Security full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pleasant clients and friendly co-workers

    Cons

    Finding coverage after already being scheduled.

    Advice to Management

    It was a blessing to be a part of the Signal 88 team. The owners are honest and kind people whom I am grateful to have known. My supervisor was a pleasure to work with and well educated in all aspects of the field, never hesitated to answer my questions. The hardest part of my job was having to deal with a personal matter that unfortunately deterred my focus at times. Nevertheless, I cannot express enough the... amount of gratitude I have for the time I spent working for them.

    Show More
    Signal 88 Security2019-09-27
  3. "Not a terrible job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Signal 88 Security part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Was a very easy and laid back job. Great if you enjoy working by yourself because your typical shift is always you working by yourself. Gets boring at times because you are just driving all night long. Operations Manager, Ryan, was great. Always willing to help and give advice whenever you needed it, regardless of time. Not a bad entry level security position.

    Cons

    38 hours a week No benefits Low pay

    Advice to Management

    Need to hire more people to staff all the dedicated sites. Constantly being called to see if I could work on my days off.

    Signal 88 Security2019-08-31
  4. "Research your local franchise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Signal 88 Security full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great corporate support and business model. Lots of support from the top down

    Cons

    Local franchise owners have flexibility to cut costs. Limited radio capabilities and gear upgrades.

    Signal 88 Security2019-07-29
  5. "Family orientated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Signal 88 Security part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great boss! Always puts his employees first. He even redid our contracts to get us raises.

    Cons

    Only part-time available.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Signal 88 Security2019-07-25
  6. "Excellent company that cares about it's employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Signal 88 Security full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Extremely flexible FG is wonderful to work with Excellent Network communication tools Necessary software is condensed into one easy piece of software for the most part.

    Cons

    Not every owner operates the same way. No network wide benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Continue focusing on the OBX and CBX format. It is working, but will take time.

    Signal 88 Security2019-07-22
  7. "Great Starter job, great team and work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patrol Supervisor in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Signal 88 Security full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy to get a hold of management, plenty of hours to work, overtime, patrol vehicle, advancing technology

    Cons

    Night hours, lower pay, no benefits

    Signal 88 Security2019-07-22
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Manager in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Signal 88 Security full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Positive workplace, great employees and owner.

    Cons

    Need to stay in the loop more. Other than that great comapny.

    Signal 88 Security2019-07-21
  9. "Good place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Signal 88 Security full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay, open access to management/ownership, flexibility

    Cons

    benefits could be better, that's about it

    Signal 88 Security2019-07-17
  10. "Fun Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patrol Officer in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Signal 88 Security full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always something new, great technology, great team.

    Cons

    Usually have to work Weekends

    Signal 88 Security2019-07-16
Found 150 reviews