Signet Maritime Reviews | Glassdoor

Signet Maritime Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
36%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
Signet Maritime President and Chief Executive Officer J. Barry Snyder (no image)
J. Barry Snyder
26 Ratings
  1. "I have been working at Signet Maritime for more than 20 Years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Brownsville, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Signet Maritime full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great teamwork with many ways to advance on a career path, while having a great set of policies and procedures in place. Also, great work environment, excellent pay, good benefits for health, personal time off and 401K

    Cons

    None that I'm aware of

    Signet Maritime2019-07-31
  2. "Successful & Admired Marine Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Signet Maritime full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A Great Company that provides a safe work environment and is committed in providing the highest quality marine service. Signet employees are valued for their professionalism and expertise. I am proud to be part of this organization.

    Cons

    I have been working for Signet Maritime for many years and I have no complaints to report.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the keen management skills

    Signet Maritime2019-07-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Abled Bodied Seaman 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Signet Maritime full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is good and medical benefits

    Cons

    When you have father and son working together, is not a good thing. Perhaps,the worst thing a company could ever allow. Having to indur 10+ years of no shows,lies and corruption has me thinking, when will this ever end.

    Advice to Management

    Get someone who knows how to manage

    Signet Maritime2019-07-22
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Office Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Signet Maritime for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Your Title won’t fit on a business card.

    Cons

    Your title won’t fit on a business card. You have to wear so many hats, you may as well own a Lids store. All the responsibility and no authority. Everyone reports to one person, the Owner...there is no chain of command. Even if there was one, turnover is so high, you would be reporting to someone else the next day. Toxic, micromanaged, unprofessional. The list goes on.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t write 5 start reviews on Glassdoor to boost your rating. It only hurts your reputation more.

    Signet Maritime2019-08-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Signet Maritime full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co workers. Such high turnover allows for fast track advancement for anyone wanting to add a title to their resume.

    Cons

    Owners don't allow local management to manage. Owner likes to micro manage every facet of the company.

    Advice to Management

    Get out before the company is taken by the bank.

    Signet Maritime2019-08-05
  6. "Chief Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chief Engineer in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Signet Maritime full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Office in Jacksonville is really great. Good communication to troubleshoot issues and timely repairs when in port. Scott is very knowledgeable and very helpful

    Cons

    6 hour shifts are miserable, day rate could be better, 28/14 schedule is miserable

    Advice to Management

    High turnover rate due to day rate and 28/14 schedule resulting in unhappy employees

    Signet Maritime2018-11-01
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Dumpster Fire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Signet Maritime full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing. This place shouldn't even be considered a last resort for those seeking employment.

    Cons

    Barry Snyder couldn't make his Dumpster fire burn any hotter if he tried. The guy is running his company into the ground.

    Signet Maritime2018-11-21
  8. "Do your research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Signet Maritime full-time

    Pros

    Employees are pretty awesome, and do you their best to help you not get fired or quit.

    Cons

    Very unstable work environment. Employees are pinned against each other by upper management often. Proofread all correspondence or you will be publicly embarrassed via email by the owner. Very personal and confidential things about employees are often shared with the office. It would make for great TV.

    Advice to Management

    Retire or sell the company.

    Signet Maritime2018-11-19
  9. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Work 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Signet Maritime full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company hired me on with little experience, and during a time I couldn't find a job. They have given me more experience than I could have ever gotten anywhere else. They gave me a shot when no one else would. Everyone in the office is like family, and I love it here!

    Cons

    You have to work hard, so if that isn't your mentality, you will not fit in.

    Signet Maritime2018-09-26
  10. "Great pay, management decisions bringing company down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Able Seaman in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Signet Maritime full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Above the average industry pay

    Cons

    Upper management a detriment to their own company

    Signet Maritime2018-09-27
Found 38 reviews