KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Silicon Labs

Is this your company?

Silicon Labs

Add a Review

Silicon Labs Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 318 reviews

4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Silicon Labs CEO Tyson Tuttle
Tyson Tuttle
179 Ratings
Pros
  • "great work environment and culture(in 16 reviews)

  • "Excellent work life balance and learning(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Austin liberalism is super lame(in 12 reviews)

  • "Nothing much good work life balance(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Silicon Labs and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Wonderful company!

      Jan 5, 2021 - Corporate Marketing Intern in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive team, great work/life balance, approachable CEO & executive team, fun & enriching internship program

      Cons

      Could be male-dominated at times, but no issue with that in my department

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Intern

      Great place to work

      Oct 12, 2020 - Design Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent work life balance and learning.

      Cons

      No cons as such was found

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Silicon Labs Response

      Recruiter

      We are pleased to hear your internship with Silicon Labs was enjoyable. We pride ourselves in offering interns real, hands-on projects, and it's great to know that was true of your experience. Thank you for your review and for your great work!

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Work Environment

      Dec 30, 2020 - Applications Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Great work-life balance 2. Coworkers are friendly

      Cons

      The cold brew runs out fast!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Silicon Labs Response

      Recruiter

      Thank you for taking a few moments to share a bit about your experience. We're glad you enjoy your coworkers and the cold brew.

    4. 5.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Nov 18, 2019 - Design Intern in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interns are assigned meaningful projects Co-workers, managers and mentors are very helpful/approachable Great location, workplace, snacks, work/life balance

      Cons

      Not a job for the indifferent - engineers should be genuinely interested in their work to thrive

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great people, great vision,

      Feb 27, 2019 - Manager in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very smart, talented employees, not only the engineering team but even the mail delivery crew and administrators! The company care about the growth of the employee Best place to work for in central Texas Good work life balance Great vision by the CEO which was on the founder team

      Cons

      The software team is not as strong as the hardware team

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Software Wngineer

      Feb 3, 2017 - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great talent all around - not just engineers, but at every level. Its great to work around intelligent people - Treats employees well - Decent pay, very good work life balance, a lot of initiatives to make employees healthier, good profit sharing and Stock plan. Management appears genuinely happy when employees get a higher share of the profits. - A lot of good to great managers - Lean company, so everyone gets a lot of responsibility

      Cons

      Very lean company, so while you get a lot of responsibility, there isn't much room to grow (career wise)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Silicon Labs Response

      Community Relations Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to provide this review of Silicon Labs. One of our company goals is to be a great place to work, so we’re very happy to hear you enjoy working here. If you’d like to provide any additional feedback, please feel free to reach out to me directly. – Jackie Padgett, Communications and Community Relations Specialist

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good, solid, professional experience.

      Feb 16, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent location. Lots of smart co-workers (often over-qualified for the types of chips being designed). Best work/life balance out there.

      Cons

      If you are on the digital side, you won't be working on anything close to bleeding edge technology, both in terms of process technology or the types of designs you'll be doing. There is also the typical (of mixed-signal companies) "analog is so special" attitude (which I feel actually holds back true innovation on both digital and analog sides). On the flip-side it also makes the job fairly easy to do very well, but if you're an ambitious type, this can wear on you. Also, the culture is a bit clinical, old-fashioned and risk-averse. I wouldn't say its actually a terribly innovative company at all.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work. Challenging environment. Expectations are high, so don't think you won't have to work hard.

      Feb 2, 2010 - Senior Test Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent management, respect for employees. Good work/life balance. Work environment is professional but includes the occasional ping-pong tournament. Good Benefits, including Roth 401K option

      Cons

      Salary and raises are low compared to other companies. Very high expectation of employee competence. Be prepared to learn fast with little training.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best job I've ever had... and the only one

      Aug 15, 2016 - Field Sales Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great flexibility with your schedule Great work/life balance Fantastic people to work with Organization not very vertical or large, allowing you to get to know management well

      Cons

      Due to the small size, there isn't as much potential for moving up the ladder.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Silicon Labs Response

      Community Relations Specialist

      Thank you for this review. We’re happy to hear you’ve had a positive experience at Silicon Labs. We take pride in our great benefits and our open communication policies that have remained in effect even as our company has grown. As for your concerns regarding personal career growth, we encourage you to look at Success Factors for internal job postings and keep an open dialogue with your manager regarding opportunities you are interested in. If you have any other feedback or questions, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me directly. – Jackie Padgett, Communications & Community Relations Specialist

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Product test

      Dec 1, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, smart people, high potential for growth

      Cons

      Product diversity beyond capacity. Work, life balance is getting tougher and tougher....

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Silicon Labs Response

      Community Relations Director

      Thank you so much for taking the time to review Silicon Labs. We are glad you are satisfied with compensation and we agree – we have extremely talented employees and a lot of potential for growth. We hear your feedback about work/life balance and we can ensure you that this is a major focus for us in the coming year. Glassdoor reviews are anonymous, but please don’t hesitate to contact me directly if you’d like to provide any more feedback. -Jackie Rogers, Communications & Community Relations Specialist

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Silicon Labs Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Silicon Labs? Share Your Experiences

    or