Silicon Valley Bank Reviews

Updated May 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Silicon Valley Bank President & CEO Greg Becker
Greg Becker
311 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance - easy workloads(in 44 reviews)

  • "Great benefits package and genuine support from leadership throughout COVID and the move to working remotely(in 38 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance could have been better(in 21 reviews)

  • "middle management gets more people(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      The place you want to work

      Nov 17, 2020 - Director in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      SVB is an extraordinary company. Yes, we have amazing clients and a great position in the market, but that's not why I work here. I choose to work here because of the people. Every single person I know who works here (or who has previously) is a believer, a builder, and an optimist. Like any company of humans, it's not perfect. But, what keeps us going and growing is our sense of purpose and seeing the impact each of us can have, every day.

      Cons

      We continue to grow quickly, so change is constant. Our pace is fast.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Silicon Valley Bank Response

      SVB Team

      Thanks for your positive feedback! SVBers are an amazing group of people.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Supportive people to work for

      May 13, 2021 - Executive Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with. Many have been there for years which is a testimony to the culture. They’re always focused on the people and driving change and improvement to the culture.

      Cons

      Not always having a clear understanding of goals or how decisions are being made

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Leadership, changing culture

      Feb 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The executive leadership is transparent, empathetic and cares about the employees and clients. Greg - CEO, Mike - President and Phil - COO are just amazing. Compensation and benefits are better compared to other financial institutions. Overall the company has a sense of purpose and trying to stay on top of emerging disruptions in the financial sector. I see the company growing in the next 10 years, with forays into global markets and innovative products.

      Cons

      The technology leadership gets recycled at an average of 3 years and when I say refreshed its right from CIO and CTO level down. Check how many CIOs and CTOs the company had in the last 15 years. Obviously, with that the entire division gets re-orged and loses focus on work and goals. The current leadership does not look very bright either, results are yet to be seen. There is a weird nepotism culture at SVB, whenever there is a leadership change, the leaders and their subs get a free hand at bringing their friends, family, neighbors, etc. and with that, the entire work culture changes. This has happened multiple times in the last few years. Right now, it's in the technology and product team. >50% of these teams are now completely new and hired via friends and family offer and have utter disregard for everyone who is not part of their new "team". There are no career opportunities in technology, there's not even a roadmap or job leveling. For many, they don't even know if by some miracle they get promoted what will that title be. Management will hire someone external than promote internal, as there is always a friend, family or referral waiting in line.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A company that finally aligns to my values and passion

      Apr 27, 2021 - Manager in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing and empathetic leadership, ample opportunity for growth, well compensated, strong financial performance

      Cons

      Lots of room to grow technologically, still a bit siloed

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Bring your hazmat suit

      May 14, 2021 - Program Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compensation Benefits WFH No others - but I have to enter at least five words :-0

      Cons

      Dictatorship Awful HR experience Pitiful Sr. Management No collaboration - its their way or your marginalized

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great mgmt team

      May 3, 2021 - Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Laid back environment. Busy sector.

      Cons

      Hard to meet people/teammates (COVID-19)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      n/a

      Apr 30, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great benefits and flexibility I&D is a primary focus

      Cons

      work/life balance, manual processes, outdated software

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Love Working at SVB

      Apr 8, 2021 - Marketing Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Silicon Valley Bank goes above and beyond to take care of its employees. I'm really proud to work for SVB and play a small role in the company's tremendous growth story.

      Cons

      Company is growing quickly, which occasionally leads to work-life balance issues and disconnect between employees/teams.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Excellent Culture

      Apr 22, 2021 - Vice President in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive team, we live our values

      Cons

      We tend to work a lot

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Company Overall

      Apr 7, 2021 - Senior Director in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, strong culture, generally kind coworkers

      Cons

      Poor systems and tech approaches generally

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 532 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Silicon Valley Bank Job Seekers

    Associate Development Program
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Silicon Valley Bank? Share Your Experiences

    Silicon Valley Bank logo
    or