Silicon Valley Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Silicon Valley Bank Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Silicon Valley Bank President & CEO Greg Becker
Greg Becker
236 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (19)

    "Love it and love my team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Silicon Valley Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    SVB is a huge growth company that still has a hometown feel. I work with the greatest team in IT Product Development. My team lead and manager are supportive and encourage me to take training to learn as much as I can to be successful. I am working on project that is being implemented 2 years later than planned. I know that without the management changes at the top of the IT org, we would still be debating requirements.

    Cons

    Sometimes the hometown feel means we take too long to make decisions and worry about hurting peoples feelings. We need to keep in mind our value to speak with integrity even when the message is difficult. That how we will get the great results.

    Continue reading
    Silicon Valley Bank2019-05-11
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great company, bad software"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Silicon Valley Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture, compensation, benefits, managerial support.

    Cons

    Outdated software and clunky tools throughout the organization

    Silicon Valley Bank2020-02-07
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Unprofessional IT Executives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous 

    I have been working at Silicon Valley Bank full-time

    Pros

    Growing company but values and culture are getting lost

    Cons

    Unprofessional behavior by QA IT director executive. The PMs hesitate to reach because of insults and belittlements during conversations. Lack of understanding on technology and delivery aspects of projects.

    Continue reading
    Silicon Valley Bank2020-03-12
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Unprofessional Executives and no support from HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Silicon Valley Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Progressive Company, profitable, customer and client-focused

    Cons

    Recent Addition of Chief Product Officer and his management team behave unprofessionally (profanity in meetings; berating employees, etc.)

    Continue reading
    Silicon Valley Bank2020-02-27

    Silicon Valley Bank Response

    March 13, 2020SVB Team

    Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. As a long-term employee, you’re aware that SVB’s Values drive what we do and how we do it. We take feedback of unprofessional behavior very seriously. We will share this feedback with HR and the right teams internally.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Liked my role but structural issues at SVB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Vice President in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Silicon Valley Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really enjoyed my role and day to day work. Appreciated that I was given a lot of autonomy. Culture that encouraged working across teams and getting to know people across the company. Clients are cool and it's an interesting space to work in.

    Cons

    The politics and finger pointing are beyond compare. Difficult for top performers to be promoted and the reasons given by management are nonsensical. This is compounded by poor expectation setting. Inverted org chart means there are more people giving direction rather than doing. Salaries are below market. I was told that this was made up for by good work life balance, but have found the hours to be long, often as a result of manufactured crises.

    Silicon Valley Bank2019-12-31
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good company but not good IT world."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silicon Valley Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Very good company if you are working in business/sales/operations/client side. Many things to learn and grow. 2. Good 401k plan ,medical plan , ESOP , bonus.

    Cons

    1. Politics in IT team. Higher Management doesn't care for you. 2. Some employees working day and night without any appreciation from managers. Not enough man power to complete all deliverables. 3. Doesn't matter if you work day and night, Promotion is only given to those who have repo with senior managers or above. 4. If joining as H1-B Visa employee, your PERM process will take 2-3yrs. This is worst than any other company. Assigned Immigration lawyer company delays a lot and will only take action if you near your 6yrs max. Atleast streamline Visa process(if still hiring Visa candidates, else don't hire).

    Silicon Valley Bank2020-01-08

    Silicon Valley Bank Response

    January 10, 2020SVB Team

    SVB is a fast-paced company and we are experiencing rapid growth. We’re increasing our investments in systems and people and are hiring across the board. We’re aiming to hire and integrate new employees quickly, but this does take time in a competitive job market. Where we’re missing the mark on retaining and promoting employees and living our values around the environment for employees at all levels, we welcome the conversation and strive to do better. Regarding the PERM process, we recognize that it can be a lengthy experience. As a result, last year we began initiating PERM cases earlier to address delays in timing

    Continue reading
  7. "Amazing Culture, Intelligent Workforce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silicon Valley Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture is hands down the best I’ve ever experienced out of a company. I recently started in the Colorado office, and everyone I have met is a genuinely good person as well as very intelligent. Keep up the amazing culture you have cultivated. Banking systems are slicker than most competitors, and career development is a big focus here. They invest in their workforce and management maintains a fair attitude. I couldn’t be happier!

    Cons

    None that I can think of. Keep up the great work

    Continue reading
    Silicon Valley Bank2019-12-21

    Silicon Valley Bank Response

    January 2, 2020SVB Team

    Thank you for your comments. The Colorado office is fantastic and we're happy to hear you are settling in and enjoying the work, team and the strong culture SVB has built over the past 35+ years.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Silicon Valley Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Over 3 weeks vacation time, good people, the culture used to be good.

    Cons

    Long hours, outdated systems, manual and tedious processes, low pay.

    Continue reading
    Silicon Valley Bank2019-12-31

    Silicon Valley Bank Response

    January 2, 2020SVB Team

    Appreciate the review and your feedback. Maintaining SVB's special culture is important to all SVBers and it's something we continue to focus on as we grow. Regarding our systems and processes - we hear you and are continuing to make investments in this area.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Nervous and unsure, looking at another re alignment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Silicon Valley Bank for more than 8 years

    Pros

    New people with new ideas Multiple projects New development centre Positions of importance like CPO,CDO have been hired

    Cons

    Clashes with new and old ideology Confusion over priorities Politically motivated mgmt , IT divided, conflicting priorities

    Silicon Valley Bank2019-11-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good place and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Silicon Valley Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to innovators and innovative technologies

    Cons

    Not enough remote work options

    Continue reading
    Silicon Valley Bank2019-10-23
Found 400 reviews