Silliker Reviews | Glassdoor

Silliker Reviews

Updated Apr 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 112 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
27%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Jim Miller
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "Most of the techs are great people(in 8 reviews)

  • "Benefits such as paid time off are pretty good, 401k match is average(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Need to be on task at all times because there can be certain days with long hours(in 16 reviews)

  • "Work/Life balance virtually non existent(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Microbiologist in Salida, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Silliker for less than a year

    Pros

    excellent hours, great coworkers and benefits

    Cons

    sometimes long hours during peak seasons

    Advice to Management

    none that I can think of

    Silliker2017-10-12
  2. "Intriguing career choice ruined by awful infrastructure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Microbiology Technician in Crete, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Silliker full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Trains you from the ground up, learned an interesting new career skill set -Got hired regardless of not having prior experience

    Cons

    -Mass miscommunication between all departments -Lazy and irresponsible HR department -Crippling passive aggression displayed by management -Work/Life balance virtually non existent

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and actually evaluate their critiques and needs without shaming or punishing them. Analyze and repair weak infrastructural business practices, many problems that should've been addressed never were.

    Silliker2019-04-22
  3. "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Microbiologist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Silliker full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the other microbiology techs i worked with

    Cons

    This was the most messed up company I've ever worked for. Such a bad work environment and a lot of issues within upper management. I could go on and on because there was so many situations that such should not have happened. A lot of drama and false promises.

    Advice to Management

    be role models

    Silliker2019-02-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Overworked, Underpaid. Get Your Experience and Get Out!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chem Technician in Crete, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Silliker full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to get a lot of experience with different testing and instruments right out of college. Great job for entry level experience only.

    Cons

    Repeatedly worked 8+ hour days and weekends. Very underpaid for the work I put in. I personally had to threaten to quit twice to get to 2 baby raises - and I could have made more in retail. Management makes many unreasonable requests and did not care about employees. They also made many promises to change titles (I was promised chemist) and raise pay which were never kept. Also was consistently understaffed. Your input...

    Show More
    Silliker2018-08-28
  5. "Silliker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Silliker full-time

    Pros

    You can get a wide variety of experience in a short amount of time and can make lots of overtime.

    Cons

    there are none that come to mind

    Advice to Management

    You are trying till run to lean

    Silliker2017-09-01
  6. "Microbiological Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Microbiological Technician in Crete, IL

    I worked at Silliker full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a good place to get started. They expose you to a wide array of techniques.

    Cons

    a large amount of overtime, average of 15 extra hours a week.

    Silliker2017-02-06
  7. "Operation Chemistry Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Silliker full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Good place to learn and grow.

      Cons

      Not overtime pay and not good bonus.

      Silliker2017-01-27
    • Helpful (2)

      "Microbiologist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Silliker

      Pros

      The team members really make the job pleasant. This is an OK resume booster if you're fresh out of college and looking for something steady and full-time.

      Cons

      The pay and work expected of you does not align after working there for a while. Get in, gain experience and GET OUT! Management is nothing short of incompetent and ineffective in making the workday easier.

      Silliker2016-11-21
    • "Great Learning Opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Silliker full-time

      Pros

      Lots of opportunities to cross train and learn new skills, supervisors are approachable and reasonable. The benefits are incredible- tuition reimbursement alone puts this well above many other companies.

      Cons

      The hours can be unpredictable, and long, which made it difficult to balance personal and professional.

      Silliker2016-07-08
    • "Good place to start"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Silliker

        Pros

        Great place to start out at

        Cons

        Too much overtime no life outside of work

        Silliker2016-06-26
      Found 112 reviews