Silver Chef Reviews | Glassdoor

Silver Chef Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
18%
Approve of CEO
Silver Chef CEO Damien Guivarra
Damien Guivarra
7 Ratings
  1. "work in progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Silver Chef full-time

      Pros

      benefits are good environment is nice

      Cons

      no communication no room for improvement

      Silver Chef2017-10-23
    • "A company with true purpose"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Silver Chef full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - so many genuinely good people - a company that works hard to hold profit and purpose equally - an awesome product that really benefits the hospitality industry

      Cons

      - significant change over the last 18 months - a few people with too much of a sense of entitlement but they have slowly moved on

      Advice to Management

      - continue to work hard and over-communicate as the business transforms - ensure poor performance is quickly and effectively managed

      Silver Chef2019-06-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Was once a great place, could still be great again if there was a change in the executive space"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Silver Chef full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The people and some leaders are great to work with taking a genuine interest in your development and learning. Again, this is only for some leaders.

      Cons

      To get further in the company, it’s become clear that it’s who you know and not what you know. The core values are out the window which is sad because these are supposed to be driven from the top down. How are employees supposed to live the values of the company if the executive team aren’t?

      Advice to Management

      More focus is required on rebuilding the culture that was once great but now lost. I understand the business needs to make money but you’re forgetting that it’s the people that you employ who help to achieve that goal of making money. Management need to stop telling the people that everything is ok when in reality, the looks on people’s faces and the enthusiasm that used to exist in the office is diminished.

      Silver Chef2019-05-23
    • "Sinking Ship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Silver Chef full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      A few remaining people who still care about Silver Chef

      Cons

      Silver Chef use to be a place that cared about their people and purpose. Unfortunately due to some unskilled and unqualified people running the business, they have driven the company to make poor choices and ruin every aspect Allan built. Silver Chef is all about who you know and if your friends with the exec team and senior leaders. The culture that once was has been burnt to the ground and I don’t see Silver Chef...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Stop promoting or giving pay rises to people that don’t have the skills to do that job Actually recognise the hard workers and not the lazy ones who don’t even do a full week of work.

      Silver Chef2019-06-12
    • "BUYER BEWARE - Start again with experienced management."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service in Brisbane
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Silver Chef full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      There are NO Pro's working for this company. Everything is smoke & mirrors.

      Cons

      - Silver Chef have a nasty habit of making irrelevant people feel very relevant, this leads to pedestals & power trips. Not to mention uneducated decisions. - Very little relevant experience in the the Management and Executive teams. - Important company decisions are made on who you know and NOT your experience. In fact experience counts for very little in this place. - Have made over 100 ppl redundant in...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      My advice is for the potential new owners of this company-: - Read every review on this page carefully, i think you will find a pattern, rather than a bunch of disgruntled employees. - Get rid of the entire Executive Management team and start again. Not one them are qualified to be in their current roles and some MAY have lied on their Resume'. - Take an in depth look at SC's lending practices, they are irresponsible...

      Show More
      Silver Chef2019-06-06
    • "Current Employee Review of Silver Chef"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Silver Chef full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I have worked at Silver Chef for just over 7-months in a full-time position. As my first office job, Silver Chef continues provide opportunities to learn and expand my skills. The staff are treated very well and there is an amazing office atmosphere. I was recently offered an opportunity that requires me to travel for multiple months over the summer. I was planning on putting in my two-weeks notice and would re-apply...

      Show More

      Cons

      As a fairly new company some procedures are still be adjusted and altered to find the most efficient method.

      Silver Chef2019-04-12
    • "What more can be said"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Silver Chef full-time

      Pros

      Good people, high ideals, good perks

      Cons

      Inexperienced management believed their own marketing, lost shareholders a bunch of money and needed to fire a lot of loyal staff. Happens in business but was inconsistent with internal messaging. A real shame.

      Advice to Management

      Pack it in

      Silver Chef2019-04-17
    • "False expectations"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Silver Chef

      Pros

      Great coworkers , good concept. It’s a happy atmosphere because of the people that are working in the office

      Cons

      High expectations of the team, don’t have a structure to follow keep changing their policies so that they don’t have to pay bonuses to their employees When you join they make it look like the best place to work but as you start your training, you realize that everyone is working with no structure and hanging a small piece of thread They don’t want to adapt to the culture around them. And they don’t encourage diversity

      Advice to Management

      Stop throwing your subordinates under the bus for lack of training and for expectations that are not achievable. And learn to work with the skills that they bring to the table

      Silver Chef2019-04-03
    • "From good to the bad to the ugly"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Silver Chef full-time

      Pros

      Worked with some very talented people Supporting of a good work\life balance When I first worked for Silver Chef it was a great place. I used to love coming to work. However, they grew to fast and did not listen to the advice provided by staff, despite asking for it all the time - basically lip service.

      Cons

      Exec team do not listen to the people they employee to provide advice - this has caused the share price to tumble. This could also have avoided a massive defrauding of the company and being fined by ASIC Promotion dependent on who you know, not what you know Management not always honest in their dealing with staff The core values - Team work, attitude, respect, integrity, flexibility, wellbeing and communication...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Listen to the people that you employee to provide their advice. Be more concerned with the staff that make you money, rather then trying to support Opportunity International. Going from $12 a share to $1 is not going to allow you to support anyone

      Silver Chef2019-04-03
    • Helpful (2)

      "From bad to worse"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Silver Chef full-time

      Pros

      You'll feel welcome as a newbie Friendly people

      Cons

      Doesn't live up to the core values it preaches Lacks career progression Boy club mentality Lacks diversity An obvious disconnect between management and frontline staff

      Silver Chef2019-02-19
    Found 40 reviews