Silver Chef Reviews | Glassdoor

Silver Chef Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
12%
Approve of CEO
Silver Chef CEO Damien Guivarra
Damien Guivarra
8 Ratings
  1. "From good to the bad to the ugly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Silver Chef full-time

    Pros

    Worked with some very talented people Supporting of a good work\life balance When I first worked for Silver Chef it was a great place. I used to love coming to work. However, they grew to fast and did not listen to the advice provided by staff, despite asking for it all the time - basically lip service.

    Cons

    Exec team do not listen to the people they employee to provide advice - this has caused the share price to tumble. This could also have avoided a massive defrauding of the company and being fined by ASIC Promotion dependent on who you know, not what you know Management not always honest in their dealing with staff The core values - Team work, attitude, respect, integrity, flexibility, wellbeing and communication...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people that you employee to provide their advice. Be more concerned with the staff that make you money, rather then trying to support Opportunity International. Going from $12 a share to $1 is not going to allow you to support anyone

    Silver Chef2019-04-03
  2. "False expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Silver Chef

    Pros

    Great coworkers , good concept. It’s a happy atmosphere because of the people that are working in the office

    Cons

    High expectations of the team, don’t have a structure to follow keep changing their policies so that they don’t have to pay bonuses to their employees When you join they make it look like the best place to work but as you start your training, you realize that everyone is working with no structure and hanging a small piece of thread They don’t want to adapt to the culture around them. And they don’t encourage diversity

    Advice to Management

    Stop throwing your subordinates under the bus for lack of training and for expectations that are not achievable. And learn to work with the skills that they bring to the table

    Silver Chef2019-04-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "From bad to worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Silver Chef full-time

    Pros

    You'll feel welcome as a newbie Friendly people

    Cons

    Doesn't live up to the core values it preaches Lacks career progression Boy club mentality Lacks diversity An obvious disconnect between management and frontline staff

    Silver Chef2019-02-19
  4. "Great Job, great people and great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Silver Chef full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Silver Chef will not only train you but also will coach you and give you the time to learn. - Silver Chef is a company where we try hard to live by all the core values as a company stand for. -The culture is great and the positive energy in the office is made by every single person in here. - Silver Chef will see your effort and potential and it will help you to grow personally and professionally. (but also...

    Show More

    Cons

    As any other fast growing company changes and improvements are to be made and adaptability and openness are key in any role. This company challenges you a lot for sure. (See this as part of the Pros. or as a con)

    Silver Chef2019-01-08
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Potential to be great but needs a leadership clean out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in South Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Silver Chef full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - People, the staff bond together and create an amazing culture between themselves - Opportunity to learn and develop outside your role - Easy going workplace

    Cons

    - Lack if reward or recognition for high performers. Promotions (that no longer exist) were handed to employees due to tenure and “who you know in a Current leadership position”. Performance is never considered, high performers are “rewarded by being given more work. - Leadership - Senior management are as rare as hens teeth and never around, when they are they don’t listen/accept feedback - No career progression

    Advice to Management

    There’s been big decisions previously in closing down go getta and recently considering closing the Melbourne office, however there is a lack of action when removing “dead wood” or poor performers. Poor performers in leadership roles are moved to different leadership roles, instead of being moved on and the opportunity being passed to those that have earned it.

    Silver Chef2019-01-03
  6. "Great culture terrible leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Vancouver, BC

    I worked at Silver Chef full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New leadership team is now in place

    Cons

    they lost good people due to poor management

    Silver Chef2018-10-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Run like everybody did recently"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Representative in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Silver Chef full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and great funding product!

    Cons

    Company culture is just a front! Core values are barely existant but its sound cool to attract people. They dont trust their staff and need to overlook every single thing. That type of management isn’t made for a long run with talented people on the field. There was good hopes with new leadership team but finally, not better at all.

    Advice to Management

    Let’s face it: paying attention to details and making sure the work is getting done are important but the problem with micromanagers is that they apply the same level of intensity, scrutiny and in-your-face approach to every task, whether warranted or not. Bottom line is : you need to stop! It’s harming your team’s moral and ultimately their productivity. Put your energy on marketing and brand awareness.

    Silver Chef2018-11-03
  8. "Great Culture! Awesome People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Silver Chef full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Culture and People! I’ve been with Silver Chef for almost a year and this is by far the best culture I’ve ever been a part of. They are a really values driven, and it shows in how they recruit for people. The process is long but it’s worth it because they hire the right people with the right values. The result is that you have a group of people that are fantastic work with – I enjoy seeing everybody’s faces everyday!...

    Show More

    Cons

    Of course there are things that can be improved – like sometimes the communication can be a little bit better – but they have made some really important changes in the last year or so and I see things improving every day.

    Silver Chef2018-08-21
  9. "Putting our customers first!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Silver Chef full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Silver Chef has gone through a lot of positives changes this year. The team has done a much needed investment and realignment to ensure we are all on the same level to each of our other regions and to ensure we have the same goal in sight "To achieve our customers dreams". Part of this alignment has been the large investment in our people and benefits each employee has, some of the highlights are; Four weeks annual...

    Show More

    Cons

    Silver Chef is currently going through a system overhaul and doing upgrades across the board. Currently we use systems such as Salesforce and also older systems which can at times slow daily routines down. In the coming months this this should hopefully change and make it easier for each employee. If your prepared to put in the extra mile and work hard, than this is the company for you!

    Advice to Management

    Keep all communication open to each employee, no matter how big or small.

    Silver Chef2018-08-20
  10. "Feels like I'm part of something"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Silver Chef full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growing company. A professional yet fun culture. Effort and achievement is recognised. Yaletown location and a funky office space. Amazing benefits package (new). 4 weeks annual leave. Global company. Heavy investment in leading technology software such as Salesforce.

    Cons

    Not a well-known brand outside of the hospitality industry. A lot of meetings. A lot of initiatives are set by Head Office in Australia and often not applicable or practical in the Canadian market.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more time and effort in our technology solution and core Rent-Try-Buy product and less time on peripheral product offerings and revenue streams.

    Silver Chef2018-08-16
Found 43 reviews