Silver Star Brands Reviews | Glassdoor

Silver Star Brands Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 85 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
Rob Goergen
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Team members are empowered to make decisons(in 7 reviews)

  • "Silver Star Brands has a defined set of Cultural Beliefs where all employees are encouraged to have a voice and take ownership(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "The ELT (Executive Leadership Team) that is in charge of everyone is beyond out of touch with their teams(in 8 reviews)

  • "Nonstop complaining from management and the Executive Leadership Team about sales and improving(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - DTG in Oshkosh, WI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Silver Star Brands full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Paid breaks, friendly staff, fast hiring process, free coffee/tea

      Cons

      Fast paced, sometimes lifting, sometimes there are long periods of standing

      Silver Star Brands2018-12-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Company in trouble"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Silver Star Brands full-time

      Pros

      Only thing I can think of is a paycheck

      Cons

      This company is in big trouble. They just "restructured" AGAIN and had large multiple layoffs. They continue to make the same bad decisions. Of course when you promote the bad decision-makers at the expense of the real workers, you can't really expect any different results.

      Silver Star Brands2019-04-28
    • "Wonderful people and loved my job!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Silver Star Brands full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Work-Life balance flexibility, wellness initiatives, offer multiple options for health, dental, critical and accidental care, pet insurance etc. Most co-workers are friendly and helpful.

      Cons

      Pay is lower than some other places.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work!

      Silver Star Brands2019-03-15
    • Helpful (5)

      "Downsizing isn’t the way to make money"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oshkosh, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Silver Star Brands full-time

      Pros

      Getting a paycheck and access to (expensive) healthcare

      Cons

      Company continue to cut jobs with no plans for growth. The HEART values are a joke. There is no honesty or integrity at this company.

      Advice to Management

      Quit getting rid of people who do work while SR management just “thinks”

      Silver Star Brands2019-03-26
    • Helpful (2)

      "Tries hard to be a good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Telephone Sales Representative in Oshkosh, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Silver Star Brands part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Special events like customer service week, and different fun days throughout the year

      Cons

      Trying to meet expectations and manage your metrics and call times when the average customer is elderly and either loves to talk or cuts you off so you can’t upsell

      Advice to Management

      Bring the jobs back locally instead of outsourcing. The customers get frustrated talking to the overseas reps and spend their time on the phones with us telling us that. The fact that bot the warehouse and call center were primarily local was a great asset to our commmnity. Now the Philippines takes the majority of the calls and it sucks

      Silver Star Brands2019-03-03
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Fulfillment Associate in Oshkosh, WI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Silver Star Brands full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great family, and friends, easy work, and you get a work out.

      Cons

      wear layers for the temperature.

      Silver Star Brands2018-10-21
    • "Great Flexibility"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Silver Star Brands part-time

        Pros

        Only get scheduled during your availability.

        Cons

        Basic desk monkey type job

        Silver Star Brands2018-08-05
      • Helpful (3)

        "Sad Place To Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Silver Star Brands part-time

        Pros

        None that I can think of.

        Cons

        Coworkers back stab, management throws you under the bus. They cut your hours but add more work. They cut your insurance and add more work. Terrible pay and terrible people. Way too many drink the kool aid and don't really think about what is actually wrong with the company.

        Advice to Management

        Look at your team leaders and get rid of the ones who are useless. Stop moving jobs overseas and if you keep doing that be honest about why you do it. You are nothing doing it for the customers, you are doing it to save money.

        Silver Star Brands2018-02-21
      • Helpful (2)

        "Customer Service"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Silver Star Brands part-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        Meeting really nice people and the experience.

        Cons

        Management is a joke! We had to sit and watch Barb Uecker speak about her vacation to Thailand when she should have been at the gym! Like really how did that benefit the employees who received less than 12 hrs a week! That was by far the worse experience! And let’s not forget to mention, the infamous field trip to the warehouse! Come on management get it together, hello we are adults if you haven’t noticed. I feel so...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        You capture revenue and forgot what the company was about. Stick to your damn core values!

        Silver Star Brands2017-09-28
      • Helpful (2)

        "Great place...to end a career"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Silver Star Brands full-time

        Pros

        Big on community involvement and volunteering

        Cons

        Passive aggressive thin skinned culture; Board micro manages business; Leadership has no vision for the company

        Advice to Management

        Management already knows everything

        Silver Star Brands2017-08-13
      Found 85 reviews