SilverSky Reviews | Glassdoor

SilverSky Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
62%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
SilverSky CEO Tim Harvey
Tim Harvey
27 Ratings
  1. "Corporate Accounting Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SilverSky part-time

    Pros

    Worked with a great team in a great office.

    Cons

    After the company was bought out the branch fell apart.

    SilverSky2018-07-14
  2. "Flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SilverSky full-time

    Pros

    Good work environment, flexibility on time management and working remotely.

    Cons

    Company communications and overall direction weren't always clearly conveyed.

    SilverSky2017-06-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "BAE Acquisition Nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Management in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SilverSky

    Pros

    Intellectual workforce with dedicated Customer Service & Support and Operations but Product Develolment and Sales has not had effective leadership in many years.

    Cons

    Prod Dev cannot hit a base run much less a home run. prod Dev leadership hired from McAfee and had never took a product to market. CEO in in over his head and beyond his depth. Sales has terminated leadership rice in the last 6 months. Company is disjointed since BAE acquisition. messaging security in CO has no future in this acquired business.

    Advice to Management

    Replace Prod Dev and Sales leadership...again and get it right. Get out from under BAE which is piling down with bureaucracy and trying to make their consulting sales model your product/service sales model. New CEO to bring new perspective.

    SilverSky2016-07-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Big Company, Hazy Focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Manager in Denver, CO
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SilverSky

    Pros

    Loved the people I worked with. Flexible home/work options

    Cons

    Large company after being acquired by BAE. Seemed to get forgotten as part of the overall line card.

    SilverSky2016-07-02
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Hostile work environment if you are NOT in the click."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SilverSky

    Pros

    None. You must enter at least 5 words for Pros

    Cons

    Favoritism in your face. You will gain access to the bully group if you bring Starbucks everyday. Just not a good work environment. If you are considered the "favorite" you can work from home and take days off without using your personal time off. Upper management will never know.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the low morale.

    SilverSky2016-04-05
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SilverSky

    Pros

    I was given many opportunities to take on new challenges. I was stretched and given chances to test my new exposure.

    Cons

    The customer mix was a challenge. The company acquired several other companies and this a support challenge.

    SilverSky2015-12-29
  7. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SilverSky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very nice people around. A great company with many different customer and technology. Got a lot of interesting problem during the course there.

    Cons

    Should really focus more on expand the tech stack and automate different process.

    SilverSky2015-10-08
  8. "Great Company - Complex Infrastucture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Help Desk | Tier II | Exchange Administration in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SilverSky full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive Management Progressive training program Good Benefits

    Cons

    Infrastructure Complex supporting multiple environments Need improvements to tools for Technical Staff to access environments and company info

    Advice to Management

    Invest in a more stable backend environment and provide more opportunities to customers to move into newer Exchange environments

    SilverSky2015-07-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fixed a ton of legacy problems, but will new owners bring new issues?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SilverSky

    Pros

    The amount of progress the company made over the past five years is astounding. Low performers were phased out from the top down and replaced by top players. Standout orgs are sales, product and ops teams.

    Cons

    Recently acquired by a large public company. Worried that will slow down a nimble, agile start up type culture with a deluge of bureaucracy and red tape.

    Advice to Management

    Try to keep the things that got us here working.

    SilverSky2015-03-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The overall working environment is fine. Not very good benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at SilverSky

    Pros

    Standard job, no overtime. work 40 hours a week.

    Cons

    The benefit plan is OK, including insurance, 401K. No training program, they expect you to learn in work.

    Advice to Management

    Develop training and coaching program for new hires.

    SilverSky2015-03-02
Found 49 reviews