Silverado Reviews

Updated May 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Silverado President, Chairman & CEO Loren B. Shook (no image)
Loren B. Shook
152 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Understaffing of caregivers to assist residents in a timely fashion is an issue(in 19 reviews)

  • "Administration pontificates about work-life balance yet Administration disregards their statements at every opportunity(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Community Ambassador"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Community Ambassador 

    I worked at Silverado full-time

    Pros

    Great camaraderie and passion for the industry.

    Cons

    Community Ambassador is a hard position to work and you need to be a top notch salesperson.

    Silverado2020-04-06
  2. "Love working in Hospice"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Social Worker in San Diego, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Silverado full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ability to manage your own schedule responsibly. Amazing Social Services team. Opportunity of growth.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations of number of social work visits in a week. Nursing team was overworked and burnt out, social workers had to step in to support nursing team.

    Continue reading
    Silverado2020-05-16
  3. "Good starting job."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caregiver 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Silverado full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you have no experience they are willing to train you.

    Cons

    Some residents needed more care than what Silverado had to offer.

    Continue reading
    Silverado2020-05-04
  4. "Disappointed"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Family Ambassador in Glendale, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Silverado full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible company mission but need to careabout associates just as much

    Cons

    Never felt the home office cared about individuals working for them. No appreciation was shown no support during the pandemic. They asked us to ask resident family to help. Interviewed me for a leadership position and then discharged me saying they had to consider the needs of the community no notice no severance package no health care benefit

    Continue reading
    Silverado2020-04-15
  5. "Great Company and Mission"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Hospice Liaison in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Silverado full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility Great support from home office Job Culture

    Cons

    Competitive with other hospice organizations

    Silverado2020-02-26
  6. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LVN Charge Nurse in Cedar Park, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverado full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Caring, friendly employees. Some flexibility to work schedule.

    Cons

    No PTO. Under staffed often.

    Continue reading
    Silverado2020-02-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Silverado full-time

    Pros

    Amazing clients ,caregiver staff hard working .

    Cons

    Favouritism, partial No job security

    Silverado2020-03-08
  8. "Silverado in a sentence"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Silverado part-time

    Pros

    The best staff, and the most exceptional geriatrics/memory care.

    Cons

    there are no notable cons for Silverado

    Silverado2020-02-13
  9. "Cares about the employees"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Caregiver in Bee Cave, TX
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Silverado full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team work and management

    Cons

    Helped with childcare at the facility I was employed at

    Continue reading
    Silverado2020-02-12
  10. "Run away!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Silverado full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers. There are some amazing people working there.

    Cons

    I worked at the hospice section. This company’s upper management is toxic. They work you 24/7, allow you not a minute of peace, and give you nothing but criticism and complains in return. You get so many different contradictory instructions from all different directions. No matter what you do, someone is always upset, and they have no problem embarrassing you in front of others. They smile at you when you are almost in tears, and stab you in the back when you turn away. Upper management cares about one thing only. Making themselves look good. As soon as something goes wrong, they find someone to place the blame on, and get rid of them in a second without giving them a chance to speak. An evil crew with no heart. No loyalty, no integrity, and no respect. They treat middle management like dirt. This is absolutely evident by their history of the number of mid management terminations. They don’t ever have a director that lasts over a year.

    Continue reading
    Silverado2020-02-07

    Silverado Response

    February 10, 2020Human Resources

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your employment experience with us. Our goal is to provide all of our associates with a positive, rewarding workplace, and we always welcome constructive feedback to help us improve this. Should you wish to share any additional feedback please feel free to call the Human Resources department at our home office at (949) 240-7200. Thank you.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 280 Reviews