Silverado Reviews | Glassdoor

Silverado Reviews

Updated Feb 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Silverado President, Chairman & CEO Loren B. Shook (no image)
Loren B. Shook
148 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful in the beginning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Belmont, CA

    I worked at Silverado full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Received great support from other nurses. Facility had a relaxed vibe most of the time while working. Appeared to be a breath of fresh air compared to other similar facilities.

    Cons

    Severely short staffed. Management was aware for a while of how hard it was for the nurses to work short staffed and did nothing until it becames even more unmanageable. Didnt feel supported from management. One can easily be over-worked here. On a side note, nothing related to the company itself: this is a very hard demographic to work for. It is rewarding at times, but mostly very taxing emotionally/ psychologically/ physically. Not everyone is suited to work here.

    Continue reading
    Silverado2019-03-21
  2. Helpful (2)

    "CNA/Caregiver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNA/Care Giver in Glendora, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Silverado full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I care about the elderly. I have alot of compassion, understanding, the patients all seem to like me. At Silverado the diffacult ones bonded with me & would allow me to care for them, where as they didn't always let other CNA's help them. I'm soft spoken, easy going & they pick up on that. My old boss of 14 years at City of Hope was a patient there until his passing. Jeff Chapman. He was embarrassed to see friends, so I didn't visit much.

    Cons

    The only cons I had while working there were that I liked to keep busy & workin 3-11 gave me free time in the evening. So instead of watching alot of TV I would do laundry for the overnight shift to fold. That was just me.

    Continue reading
    Silverado2019-03-15
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Money oriented only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Silverado full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None, run away, micromanagement inexperienced

    Cons

    The mileage reimbursement is poor, find a hospice that focuses on patients and staff support, promised a competative salary and then given excessive patient load, 60 hour weeks

    Continue reading
    Silverado2019-03-07
  4. "Great Company Culture/Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverado full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can bring kids and dogs to work. Opportunities for career growth.

    Cons

    Turnover, but that's standard for the healthcare industry.

    Silverado2019-03-06
  5. "Hospice nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospice Nurse in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverado part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive offic mgmt & coworkers, great work environment...I would encourage all my friends to work here...great pay too!

    Cons

    RN's get heavy work loads, often due to understaffing

    Continue reading
    Silverado2019-02-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "great company, but not too organized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Engagement Management in Berkeley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Silverado full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big company, strong base of identity, benefits, potential for great works

    Cons

    Too many long distance regional "cooks", not a realistic idea of local community population when compared to other communities, a sink or swim sense of training.

    Continue reading
    Silverado2019-02-27
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverado full-time

    Pros

    No uniform, can bring children and pets

    Cons

    Poor pay, poor benefits, poor scheduling, hard work for the lowest of wages, no retention bonus, terrible and unorganized training

    Continue reading
    Silverado2019-02-23
  8. "A great place for your love one’s for Memory Care (Silverado Memory Care)."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Alexandria, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverado full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Silverado cares about their employee (like family).Great pay and benefits.

    Cons

    There aren’t enough Silverado in each state.

    Continue reading
    Silverado2019-02-22
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Avoid the Aspen Care, SLC, Utah location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Care in Holladay, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Silverado full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people that used to work there, including the Alta therapy team, were the very best.

    Cons

    Natalie Bowen, the new building Administrator. Never have I encountered a more offensive, uncaring, unpleasant, foul-mouthed, selfish and abusive, narcissistic bully in all my life. While the former building Administrator wasn't perfect, he was a dear man who everyone loved and wanted to work for. The care he ensured patients receive was top notch. Natalie Bowen has no focus on service. She just wants people to do whatever she says when she says to do it, and without question. She'll verbally attack employees whenever she feels compelled to do so--whether in a staff meeting or in the hall. Oh yes, and problems, mistakes, etc. which are many, are NEVER Natalie's fault. Since Natalie arrived, more people have left or have been fired without cause by her, while she surrounds herself with a team of minions that follow her like lap dogs. For a company that on the surface touts team and respect, along with superior care and compassion, even the CEO of Silverado, Loren Shook, on one visit, was yelling at therapists blaming them for a poor inspection report, before he even understood the issues--he later discovered that the very people he was blaming were the only ones whose department scored well. He clearly is only interested in blaming anyone but himself or the Administrator for problems.

    Continue reading
    Silverado2019-02-10
  10. "Terrific Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse in Menomonee Falls, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverado part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    teamwork, work environment, bring children to work, bring pets to work

    Cons

    I have no cons

    Silverado2019-01-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 269 reviews