Silverchair Reviews | Glassdoor

Silverchair Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Thane Kerner
19 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work, fantastic company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great company culture, incredibly smart and friendly people. They treat their employees with respect and consideration. One of the best places I've worked from a company culture standpoint

    Cons

    Constantly changing, this can be a good thing, but sometimes feels a bit chaotic. Not a great environment for those looking for a job with a familiar routine day in and day out.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the emphasis on company culture and push back on the urge to become more corporate.

    Silverchair Response

    February 4, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you! We are so happy to hear that you are loving working here. Our culture really is one of the best things about us, I couldn't agree more. You're also right, that we move and change often - a byproduct of constantly learning and improving. I'd like to think our adaptability ...

    Show More
  2. "Silverchair culture, environment, and work flow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Analyst 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time

    Pros

    amazing PTO and benefits, also an awesome location for the office

    Cons

    traffic around the area, and parking

  3. "Not Recommended for Experienced Technical Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time

    Pros

    - Flexible Working Arrangements - Most employees in non-management roles are great to work with - Experienced Sales and Marketing Team

    Cons

    - Inexperienced and ineffective management in the software engineering organization - Poor performance management process focused on punishment instead of prevention - Poor career development, and inconsistent, untimely feedback - Hero Culture where firefighting is valued - Highly political environment with real power and influence on the business side, and technical side is treated like second class citizens - Poor...

    Show More

    Silverchair Response

    February 19, 2019Chief People Officer

    I'm sorry to hear that your experience wasn't positive. This feedback is very helpful for us continuing to grow and develop. Thank you for your contributions and for the feedback.

  4. "Cliques"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Silverchair full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Location on the Cville downtown mall is cool. One of the few pure Agile shops I've seen. Decent technology stack

    Cons

    Cliques with the power cliques dominated by people with little external experience, and those same people are really not very good at managing others in a positive way. They have the punitive techniques nailed, though. A small company (~150) that just can't seem to break the mindset needed to take the next stage in growth. They are stuck.

    Advice to Management

    Calm down, be supportive.

    Silverchair Response

    August 15, 2018Chief People Officer

    I'm sorry to hear your experience working at Silverchair was not positive. We are always trying to learn and get better - thank you for the feedback. We appreciate you helping us grow.

  5. "High Challenge / High Reward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced. Rapidly growing. Our success has led to a quickly evolving workplace where top performers rise rapidly.

    Cons

    Success brings tensions at times where the process and practices that made you successfully need to be changed because your successful. Rapid growth sometimes means that short term challenges....

    Advice to Management

    Clear transparent communication with the workforce. More Management By Walking Around... less ivory tower. Follow the three A's - Acknowledge, Align, and Assure when dealing with the temporary challenges of rapid growth.

    Silverchair Response

    August 15, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thank you for this feedback. We are growing and sometimes, as you say, growth brings challenges. Appreciate the advice of the 3 A 's. :)

  6. "Pretty great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Smart people, flexible environment, occasional telecommuting is ok, generous PTO

    Cons

    Getting acclimated is difficult and takes time, complex systems with many points of failure creates regular stress

  7. "High-Performance Environment at a Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Architect in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Incredible colleagues Great culture High-performance environment Interesting projects Opportunities for self-motivated individuals Good work/life balance Excellent employer-sponsored benefits Community involvement People-oriented company Focus on employee wellness

    Cons

    These things are improving but worth mentioning: Lack of structured leadership Little timely feedback Unclear paths for advancement Low-competitive compensation

    Advice to Management

    Continue to build on employee development programs and career growth paths. Make it clearer to individuals what opportunities exist and how to grow into role advancement. Work to be more competitive for the Charlottesville area with respect to compensation. Be more proactive and timely in delivering constructive feedback to employees.

    Silverchair Response

    August 15, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thank you for this great feedback. We are continuously working with our managers on developing career tracks and ensuring timely feedback.

  8. "Incredible People, Collaborative & Strategic Environment, Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    As many reviewers have said, the people at Silverchair are incredible. They're smart and so good at what they do, but they're also warm and friendly and supportive, which is why work and social lives can bleed together for many employees. The work is challenging and fast-paced, but management works hard to make sure everyone is heard, complaints are followed all the way through to solutions, and strategies and processes...

    Show More

    Cons

    Because of the devotion to continuous improvement (and Agile process), things are always changing: whether it's teams moving to a different physical space, processes changing frequently, team members moving to other teams, or new products/services being introduced. I can see how this could be overwhelming to people who like a predictable and more rigid environment. But if you come in with an open mind and flexibility,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Communication is always an issue with large, growing companies who juggle a variety of teams, operational priorities, and clients. I think Silverchair is doing a good job of it, but it's always good to keep that at the forefront so people feel informed and included.

    Silverchair Response

    January 15, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thank you very much! We really do have some of the best people who are fun to work and hangout with. 2017 was a great year for us and that is because of you and the rest of the team. Our pace is fast which is fun, and as you said, makes it important for us to continue to stay on ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Winning new business and maturing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Silverchair's learning culture welcomes new ideas which helps us win and deliver on business commitments. Recent client engagements stretched our products, processes and people. We continue to mature and be ready for the next big challenge!

    Cons

    Pace of organization can be stressful

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on capturing the market with a product that balances software development platform offering and custom development.

    Silverchair Response

    February 7, 2017Chief People Officer

    We are continuing to mature and grow and our clients have stretched us into being even better. We aim to keep the stress to a minimum and we can do better. Thank you for the feedback. We have a great team and appreciate everything that you do to help make us great.

  10. "Great Colleagues, Engaging Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    • Engaging, Challenging Work • Bright, Motivated Colleagues • Training, Personal & Professional Development Opportunities • Supportive Manager • Location on Downtown Mall • Lunches, Celebrations, After-Work Socials • Fast-Paced Environment = Time Flies

    Cons

    Fast-Paced Environment presents unique challenges as well. While time flies, it can really fly sometimes, and requires organization, focus, and adaptability to succeed.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to steer with the value of solving problems with empathy and creativity, and support all SC colleagues in their path to grow and develop with enthusiasm.

    Silverchair Response

    January 26, 2017Chief People Officer

    Great feedback, thank you! We really do have an awesome team. Our environment is definitely fast paced and requires work to thrive. We are committed to our people and will continue to live by our values and ensure we have an environment where people are growing.

Found 31 reviews