Silverchair Reviews | Glassdoor

Silverchair Reviews

Updated January 31, 2018
26 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Thane Kerner
16 Ratings

26 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Featured Review

    "Incredible People, Collaborative & Strategic Environment, Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    As many reviewers have said, the people at Silverchair are incredible. They're smart and so good at what they do, but they're also warm and friendly and supportive, which is why work and social lives can bleed together for many employees.

    The work is challenging and fast-paced, but management works hard to make sure everyone is heard, complaints are followed all the way through to solutions, and strategies and processes are constantly re-evaluated and optimized.

    I really appreciate Silverchair's clear devotion to being a "learning culture" and to constant improvement. I deeply admire, respect, and even LIKE my coworkers - a rarity far too often in the workplace.

    Silverchair is clearly going places, so now is an especially fun time to be working here.

    Also: the snacks are great, and there's a KEG of nitro cold brew.

    Cons

    Because of the devotion to continuous improvement (and Agile process), things are always changing: whether it's teams moving to a different physical space, processes changing frequently, team members moving to other teams, or new products/services being introduced. I can see how this could be overwhelming to people who like a predictable and more rigid environment. But if you come in with an open mind and flexibility, it's easy to see how all these adjustments contribute to making things ever better.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is always an issue with large, growing companies who juggle a variety of teams, operational priorities, and clients. I think Silverchair is doing a good job of it, but it's always good to keep that at the forefront so people feel informed and included.

    Silverchair Response

    Jan 15, 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Thank you very much! We really do have some of the best people who are fun to work and hangout with. 2017 was a great year for us and that is because of you and the rest of the team.
    Our pace is... More


  2. "High-Performance Environment at a Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Architect in Charlottesville, VA
    Current Employee - Software Architect in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Incredible colleagues
    Great culture
    High-performance environment
    Interesting projects
    Opportunities for self-motivated individuals
    Good work/life balance
    Excellent employer-sponsored benefits
    Community involvement
    People-oriented company
    Focus on employee wellness

    Cons

    These things are improving but worth mentioning:
    Lack of structured leadership
    Little timely feedback
    Unclear paths for advancement
    Low-competitive compensation

    Advice to Management

    Continue to build on employee development programs and career growth paths. Make it clearer to individuals what opportunities exist and how to grow into role advancement. Work to be more competitive for the Charlottesville area with respect to compensation. Be more proactive and timely in delivering constructive feedback to employees.

  3. "Pretty great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Charlottesville, VA
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Smart people, flexible environment, occasional telecommuting is ok, generous PTO

    Cons

    Getting acclimated is difficult and takes time, complex systems with many points of failure creates regular stress


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Winning new business and maturing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Silverchair's learning culture welcomes new ideas which helps us win and deliver on business commitments. Recent client engagements stretched our products, processes and people. We continue to mature and be ready for the next big challenge!

    Cons

    Pace of organization can be stressful

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on capturing the market with a product that balances software development platform offering and custom development.

    Silverchair Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – Chief People Officer

    We are continuing to mature and grow and our clients have stretched us into being even better. We aim to keep the stress to a minimum and we can do better. Thank you for the feedback. We have a great... More


  5. "Great Colleagues, Engaging Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlottesville, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    • Engaging, Challenging Work
    • Bright, Motivated Colleagues
    • Training, Personal & Professional Development Opportunities
    • Supportive Manager
    • Location on Downtown Mall
    • Lunches, Celebrations, After-Work Socials
    • Fast-Paced Environment = Time Flies

    Cons

    Fast-Paced Environment presents unique challenges as well. While time flies, it can really fly sometimes, and requires organization, focus, and adaptability to succeed.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to steer with the value of solving problems with empathy and creativity, and support all SC colleagues in their path to grow and develop with enthusiasm.

    Silverchair Response

    Jan 26, 2017 – Chief People Officer

    Great feedback, thank you! We really do have an awesome team. Our environment is definitely fast paced and requires work to thrive. We are committed to our people and will continue to live by our... More


  6. Helpful (5)

    "Don't Judge a Book By its Cover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlottesville, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlottesville, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Silverchair full-time

    Pros

    Location on the downtown mall.

    Cons

    The work culture appears very stimulating and supportive at the onset and it feels like a real accomplishment to make it through the lengthy interview process and be accepted into that culture. But looks can be deceiving and the environment can be cold and unfriendly if you're not in one of the cliques. People with little to no management experience are given the task of managing others and a passive/aggressive style seemed the norm. Silvercharians take themselves very seriously and it can be a pretty humorless workday. Add to that a tendency to gouge the clients and overcharge for simple fixes can make for a contentious relationship with customers. All in all, looks good from the outside, but a different story once inside. Beware!

    Silverchair Response

    Jan 25, 2017 – Chief People Officer

    I'm sorry to hear that was your experience. We try to make this a great place to work and one where people feel engaged and empowered to be their best. Thank you for the feedback. We'll take this on... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great People, Poor Work/Life Balance and No Path to Personal Success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Charlottesville, VA
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Charlottesville, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Silverchair full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great colleagues
    Engaging and Challenging work
    Evolving Customer Landscape

    Cons

    No path to promotion plan
    Low wages
    No pay raises
    Small bonus
    99% work 1% life balance
    Performance feedback missing
    Inexperienced/under experienced supervisors
    Expensive health insurance
    Unable to execute on long term business growth strategies for customers

    Advice to Management

    Spend time building clear career paths with employees, if there are none, be honest
    Provide feedback often
    Hold senior leadership accountable for responding to platform customer queries

    Silverchair Response

    Dec 7, 2016 – Chief People Officer

    Thank you for the feedback. Our environment is challenging, with great people, and our customers are continuing to evolve, which makes this a fun place to be.
    Ensuring colleagues get timely feedback... More

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Complicated and difficult to succeed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Silverchair full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good people and teammates; strong customer focus

    Cons

    Difficulty in understanding goals and success measures

    Silverchair Response

    Dec 7, 2016 – Chief People Officer

    Thank you. We think we have great teammates! As a learning organization we know we can always do better. Thanks for the feedback on goals and success measures.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Unprofessionally run company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Experience Designer in Charlottesville, VA
    Former Employee - Lead Experience Designer in Charlottesville, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Silverchair full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Most of the people are great. Smart, motivated, fun. I got on great with my immediate manager. The problems I got to work on were mostly interesting.

    Cons

    Unprofessionally managed. The stress level of employees went unrecognized and unaddressed. Too many hallway arguments. Pay scale was deliberately opaque, and when I found I was underpaid I had no way to address it. So I went elsewhere.

    Silverchair Response

    Aug 22, 2016 – Chief People Officer

    I'm sorry to hear this was your experience. Our people are really important and we try our best to acknowledge and appreciate all the hard work people put in. We are constantly learning and... More


  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silverchair full-time

    Pros

    I've enjoyed working here, they really try hard to hire the right people that fit with the culture. The work is challenging and rewarding. The company is also very flexible if you need to work from home a day or two to take care of something.

    Cons

    The open office layout is sometimes very distracting and hard to concentrate. Also, being on the downtown mall requires that you either park in a garage or take a 5 minute walk to/from work. The health insurance seems quite expensive for what you actually get.

    Advice to Management

    I'd love to have a path to promotion, things that need to be accomplished to even be considered. I feel communication around requirements for job roles is slim to none. Pay scales would be nice to have too for each position.

    Silverchair Response

    Mar 6, 2016 – Chief People Officer

    Thanks for the feedback. We strive to make SC a great place which includes hiring awesome people like you! We are working on career pathing this year so more to come on this front. If you're... More


Showing 26 of 29 reviews
Reset Filters