Simmons Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Simmons Bank Reviews

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Simmons Bank CEO George A. Makris, Jr. (no image)
George A. Makris, Jr.
47 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Simmons Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very involved in the community, treat their employees exceptionally well!

    Cons

    It’s a larger bank, so more departments. & I found it difficult to seek out someone who could help when I was on the front lines!

    Simmons Bank2019-07-25
  2. "Don't Do It!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller in Pine Bluff, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Simmons Bank part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working hours are great.

    Cons

    Too much focus on sales.

    Simmons Bank2019-10-21
  3. "Company on heavy acquisition trail which leaves employees feeling separate and disjointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Simmons Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My team was an amazing team to be a part of. The work was meaningful and you felt empowered by your team members. Our close knit relationship made for the best work environment I’ve had in my career.

    Cons

    There was so much change going on and more changes ahead for the company. It’s hard for a large company to successfully come through such extensive process changes with employee morale in tact. Additionally, the volume of acquisitions has left so many new team members to feel disconnected. I know there was a struggle for a unified team feeling for all the new groups of associates from the acquired banks.

    Advice to Management

    I believe serious work must be done to make the entire associate base feel unified before further bank acquisitions are pursued.

    Simmons Bank2019-09-24
  4. "Good place to start up in your title."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Simmons Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Place to get exposure in the position held

    Cons

    Pay, competitors paying more in field.

    Advice to Management

    For the job & goals salary needs to be increased.

    Simmons Bank2019-09-23
  5. "Busy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Simmons Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is pretty much good.

    Cons

    Too much overtime, they say it's voluntary, but they pretty much expect it

    Advice to Management

    Training was good in the beginning, but after that you're on your own.

    Simmons Bank2019-08-22
  6. "A lot of bank mergers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker in Pine Bluff, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Simmons Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Sales commission if quarterly goals are met.

    Cons

    Too many bank mergers, unclear policies and procedures, miscommunication between departments, sales goals.

    Simmons Bank2019-08-18
  7. "Terrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Simmons Bank full-time

    Pros

    Work/life balance. That's about it.

    Cons

    Upper management and HR permit discrimination, bullying, gossip which can be defamatory in nature, all to go on and they will support the perpetrator rather than the victim. There is a high ranking manager that is probably racist because he treats Latinos differently and what he does is he makes up complaints about people he doesn't like in order to get them to quit or face derogatory disciplinary action.

    Advice to Management

    Follow your own code of ethics. Learn how to to have a professional environment.

    Simmons Bank2019-09-09
  8. "Security specialists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Simmons Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Departments are small groups, you work directly with your supervisor. You have a strong team that it like family. Opportunities to transfer to other branches and departments.

    Cons

    You will never receive a decent raise. The highest available percentage is 5% however most employees only receive 1-2%. There are opportunities to move departments, however changing location with in Simmons is difficult. Supervisor usually have already selected the person they want before posting the opening.

    Advice to Management

    Simmons is a fast growing company, it is also a great place to work. However inadequate pay and raise are causing good employees to leave.

    Simmons Bank2019-08-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Simmons Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture for employees to for at, work life balance, great management, good pay.

    Cons

    None at the moment

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Simmons Bank2019-07-09
  10. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Simmons Bank

    Pros

    Simmons is very employee oriented. They offer various programs to help their employees excel.

    Cons

    There are no cons that come to mind.

    Simmons Bank2019-07-06
Found 101 reviews