Simmons Bedding Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Simmons Bedding Company Reviews

Updated Mar 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 100 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
27%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Michael Traub
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Decent pay, benefits, support from managers(in 6 reviews)

  • "Best in industry product, Great Brand Recognition, Most colleagues at Simmons are great people and professionals(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Merger with Serta / SSB has been challenging, but expected(in 7 reviews)

  • "Upper management ran the shop like a sweat shop(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Simmons Bedding Company

      Pros

      -Given real and meaningful projects -Flexibility - worked with many different people and worked on a variety of projects -10 weeks - perfect amount

      Cons

      -Does not have the availability to hire interns at the end of internship, a year out from graduation

      Advice to Management

      -Start recruitment process earlier

      Simmons Bedding Company2016-08-25
    • "Get Fired... Then open up your own Retail Store to make real Money"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Retail Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Simmons Bedding Company full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Good over all work experience that I needed to open up Mattress Stores and become a millionaire. Trying to work for idiots that do not understand how to build relationships that drive the bottom line.

      Cons

      Corporate run around... I would walk in to stores sell thousands of dollar in Mattresses and I would make the same amount of money. If you and good Cheerleader this is the place for you.

      Advice to Management

      Bottom line... making money. Not Paying off debt and paying tons on cash on interest as always been your problem. How can you give your employees cash bonuses and reinvest in the company when y'all never pay off your debt. Cheerleader salesman don't make you money.

      Simmons Bedding Company2019-03-27
    • "Senior Territory Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Simmons Bedding Company full-time

      Pros

      Great products , majority of sales team very positive.

      Cons

      Always behind in trends. There is a lot layers of management.

      Simmons Bedding Company2018-11-23
    • "Mid manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in Charlotte, NC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Simmons Bedding Company full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Being let go that sparked my career. My peers at the home office respected me. Good atmosphere for the non-achiever.

      Cons

      I felt I accomplished a lot being employed there and thought I had a promising career. Turns out I had my had in the sand and should have reacted to the warning signs the leverage buyout company owners were only in it for themselves.

      Simmons Bedding Company2018-11-20
    • "Simmons"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Simmons Bedding Company full-time

        Pros

        There are not much pros that I can share.

        Cons

        There is constant turnover at this company.

        Simmons Bedding Company2018-09-23
      • "Cashier"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Simmons Bedding Company part-time

          Pros

          Early hour shifts are the best

          Cons

          Bad management but hey who dont right

          Simmons Bedding Company2018-05-08
        • "Team member"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Team Member in Charlotte, NC

            I worked at Simmons Bedding Company full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            A very friendly environment in the second shift.

            Cons

            Lead who trained me had an attitude.

            Simmons Bedding Company2018-02-11
          • "Management in the warranty department is awful."

            StarStarStarStarStar
              Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

              I worked at Simmons Bedding Company full-time

              Pros

              They buy you a cake for your birthday and it's in a nice area.

              Cons

              micro management, set up to fail, and no chance of making it unless you kiss up to t he manager of that department even though she has no clue what she is doing.

              Advice to Management

              Watch the people you have in management and fire HR department , they are worthless

              Simmons Bedding Company2018-02-28
            • "Not much room for internal growth, show of appreciation is slim to none."

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dallas, TX
              Doesn't Recommend
              Negative Outlook
              No opinion of CEO

              I have been working at Simmons Bedding Company full-time for more than 3 years

              Pros

              Pleasant departmental coworker(s). Health benefits are good, 401k match, tuition reimbursement. No strict dress code. Overtime SOMETIMES. Employee discounts. Free water.

              Cons

              Lack of customer service department appreciation, abusers of talent, abusers of willingness to help. Yearly raise sucks. I’ve worked here over 2 years and have shown an IMMENSE amount of growth and I’ve gotten a measly .11 cent raise. Inter department abuse is far from rare. Customer service is treated like dirt and no one higher up really cares. Other departments get paid much more to do little to no work while customer...

              Show More

              Advice to Management

              Show your employees some appreciation, show them they’re not low on the totem poll. Make sure they have a VOICE.

              Simmons Bedding Company2018-02-07
            • ""Dead end and Soul draining""

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
              Doesn't Recommend
              Negative Outlook
              Disapproves of CEO

              I worked at Simmons Bedding Company full-time

              Pros

              Decent hourly pay if your not fond of retail and fast food

              Cons

              -Micromanagement -unsafe work environment -Greedy upper management -Poor business ethics -Short break times and dreaded "break bell' reminiscent to high school -Short staff high production quota -Needlessly strict policies that have no correlation to productivity

              Advice to Management

              Middle Managers:Don't gawk at associates while they do the hard labour and expect them to have morale. Be more involved with the work activities rather than sit at a cozy desk/office and tell someone how to do a job you never worked. Upper Management/shareholders: Quit being greedy profiteers and hiring worthless middle managers. Allow more seasoned associates to rise to managerial positions

              Simmons Bedding Company2017-11-23
            Found 100 reviews