Simmons University Reviews | Glassdoor

Simmons University Reviews

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 84 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Simmons University CEO Helen G. Drinan
Helen G. Drinan
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No room for advancement what so ever(in 7 reviews)

  • "There is no room for advancement and budgets and salaries are flat or cut(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Built in Mentors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Assistant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Simmons University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This position through the university provides the opportunity to work closely with both professors and students. The flexible schedule and flow of time in the lab allows for time to have conversations with the professors and learn from them about their career paths and suggestions for coursework.

    Cons

    Minimum wage pay that does not increase relative to work experience.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay relative to experience.

    Simmons University2019-10-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Soul-sucking thankless place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Simmons University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The community is really great. I enjoyed the general atmosphere of empowerment and support that I felt from colleagues. You typically get paid winter break vacation (usually something like Dec 23 - Jan 3) and people in my department would come and go as they pleased because no one was really keeping track of anyone else.

    Cons

    They will overwork you; they will expect everything and give you nothing but empty promises in return. As soon as you think things are going well, they pull the rug out from under you without any notice or consideration of how it will impact your job. It often felt like we were being punished even when we were exceeding our goals. Money is really tight; they are about to embark on major construction projects that... will disrupt workplace environments. Also, don't expect to see a merit increase or promotion any time soon - they already said there won't be any. The next 3-5 years will be very messy for Simmons and I urge anyone considering them to look elsewhere for something more stable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bringing an ice cream truck to campus once a year is not enough to boost employee morale. Even something like summer Fridays is at the discretion of department heads and not everyone gets that privilege. In fact, there's a lot of problems with preferential treatment and the good, hard-working people keep leaving while the mediocre ones who stay keep rising up the ranks because they are the only ones left standing... in the end. You just keep shooting yourself in the foot and I'm afraid there's nothing anyone can do to help you.

    Show More
    Simmons University2019-09-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Decent place to start, but don't stay too long."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Simmons University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Depending on your department/manager some opportunity for a flexible schedule. Faculty and students are great! The administrative staff truly care and work hard.

    Cons

    Upper Management Commute Staff Turnover Poor/low staff morale Most positions require 50-60hrs a week and/or some evening/weekend work to get the job done, but no overtime to compensate for additional work. Not a lot of room for growth or promotions.

    Simmons University2019-07-16
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Regrettable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Simmons University

    Pros

    The school's external reputation is strong.

    Cons

    The internal reality: Unbelievably horrible leadership among top and middle management. The blind leading the blind. Lack of alignment of strategic plans across the university. Super unstable employer with low paying positions, budget cuts, 403b cuts, hiring freezes, no raises, and layoffs. Student-facing departments are low resourced and desperately understaffed. Staff are overworked, and undervalued. Constant... pressure to do more with less. Its a joke. I have given everything I have to this institution for years because I love the students, but I honestly bet the school closes within the next 3-5 years due to poor management. Prospective employees beware.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Retire before the school goes under.

    Simmons University2019-06-26
  5. "Great environment to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Office Assistant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Simmons University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are understanding of needing to take time off for personal reasons, friendly environment, flexible hours

    Cons

    Unorganized at times, high pressure

    Simmons University2019-05-22
  6. "Very Hard Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant II 

    I have been working at Simmons University full-time

    Pros

    understandable with doctors appt and lost of vacation time.

    Cons

    Can be a very stressful work amount when working in adminissions.

    Simmons University2019-04-11
  7. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Service Tech in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Simmons University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gain experience Learn different fields in IT

    Cons

    Schedule Repetitive work Management and employee in same room

    Advice to Management

    Ask employee what they want to learn

    Simmons University2018-10-17
  8. "A good campus job for STEM students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Math Tutor in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Simmons University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great way to stay sharp on course material while helping other students. Flexible schedule. Demand varies a lot by tutoring topic, so a stats, chem, or bio tutor might get more appointments than say a French tutor. Appointments can be a little sporadic, but it's a good gig if you can get a few regulars (i.e. a tutee who comes once every week).

    Cons

    Appointments could be scheduled as little as 12 hours before meeting time, so you had to check the schedule regularly (or your email if you sign up for alerts).

    Simmons University2018-10-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Make an exit plan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Simmons University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to work with students, learning about new technologies and sharing them with students

    Cons

    Poor administration, lack of communication across schools

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the students and make it easier for the employees to provide for students.

    Simmons University2018-10-09
  10. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Simmons University full-time

    Pros

    Best Place to work at.

    Cons

    Traffic, commute, and lack of parking spaces.

    Simmons University2018-05-23
Found 84 reviews