Simon-Kucher & Partners Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Simon-Kucher & Partners Consultant Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
Simon-Kucher & Partners Co-CEO and Co-CEO Dr. Andreas von der Gathen and Mark Billige
Dr. Andreas von der Gathen and Mark Billige
1 Rating
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Awesome, innovative and quickly growing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Frankfurt am Main
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Steep learning and fast career opportunities - Appreciating and flat culture with great colleagues - Support of (international) rotation programmes - High acceptance of new ideas / innovations - To my experience, project leaders care about a healthy work/life balance

    Cons

    - Strong focus on pricing (you should know that you will become a specialist)

    Advice to Management

    - Nice to have: Improve HR and processes

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-03-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun, friendly and smart people doing interesting and challenging work.

    Cons

    Can be long hours

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-11-29
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great experience, Tons of Responsibility Early On"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was in the Life Sciences division at SKP NY. I was trusted from day one to make a tangible impact on my team and to take on real responsibility. I can't imagine a better place to get responsibility early on and have more client facing opportunities. The mentorship was also great and allowed me to grow tremendously. The team was supportive and the culture was nice, fair, and reasonable. Additionally, the work was challenging. I was working with smart and motivated people. Our clients were companies with interesting challenges and I always felt like I was making a real difference.

    Show More

    Cons

    The major downside, which can be expected from any consulting company in NY, were the hours. Up to 50 hours per week is pretty typical, but you aren't going to find better than that in consulting, especially at a successful company like SKP

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-11-22
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to learn, find mentorship, and accelerate your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a current consultant on the LS team out of the New York office, I've had quite a positive experience at Simon-Kucher. The company is positioned uniquely, as being on the smaller side compared to its competitors but also still prominent and large enough to work with all major, notable clients around the world. As such, the opportunity to take charge and receive ownership and responsibility on smaller, lean teams is truly unique, and I've had the opportunity to learn and grow more so than I would have at other companies. As such, people here naturally work hard and also get recognized more given the smaller team sizes. Given Simon-Kucher’s expertise in market access and revenue growth, projects deal with key pressing monetization issues in every industry, and the company acts as a thought partner in building out growth strategies and future of clients. One of my favorite aspects of the job is how international the company is. Many projects scale across multiple countries and markets, and having the chance to gain an international strategic perspective while working with Simon-Kucher employees in Asia, Europe, and South America has been cool.

    Show More

    Cons

    Intense, fast-paced environment expected out of any consulting job. Challenging, but good for people looking for growth

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-11-15
  5. "Niche field with decent culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great junior staff - Partners are always accessible - Growing business - lots of opportunity for partnership - Relaxed environment - Minimal travel

    Cons

    - Salaries are below market - Promotions to managing role (manger or above) take a long time - Office socials / company sponsored events are not in the same range of frequency as other consulting firms - Long hours during busy seasons

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-11-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "If you have other options, take the other options"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to try foreign office, good projects, some good people

    Cons

    Poor leadership, employee turnover, hierarchical, salaries low for field

    Advice to Management

    Poor leadership has hollowed out staff: a few good managers but so many leave before that stage or during it, that learning and progression is suboptimal

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-10-20
  7. "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great hours, everyone is really smart and bright, great exit opps, lots of perks like the world meeting, most rapidly growing consulting firm, pricing specialization is in high demand even from other consulting firms

    Cons

    Compensation is below industry average, rapid growth means very little beach time

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-09-19
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Looking at how long people stay and where they go after should tell you everything you need to know about SKP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are only a few upsides in the LS division but below is my fair assessment. Note that many of the items below are not specific to SKP. You can easily find that in other life science consulting companies. 1. As a known leader in pricing and market access, SKP has good recognition in this field. Consultants can develop pricing expertise by working on projects. However, there are plenty of other consulting companies work on P&MA (and many other functional areas) 2. Many of the projects have international exposure. Consultants have the opportunity to collaborate with colleagues in other countries and learn about their healthcare systems 3. Most of the colleagues at the consultant level are reasonable and friendly people. I wish the same thing can be said to most of the managers and partners

    Show More

    Cons

    Overall, there are serious management issue in the LS US division. Consultants are overworked and underappreciated. I echo another review below citing that he/she honestly didn’t know anyone who is truly happy at SKP. 1. Alarmingly high turnover rate: - While the consulting industry has a high turnover rate, the rate of people leaving at SKP is alarmingly high. It is very rare for people to stay much longer than 2 years. Some people stayed because they don’t have a choice (e.g., on work visa). In my time of ~2 years at SKP, about 70% of the people who joined on or before my time have left - Be ready for the frequent “purges”. Competent consultants are laid-off with no warning and no explanation. People chat about the lay-offs in the office but the partners pretend nothing has happened - Most of the people who left the company have joined other consulting companies. This should be a good indicator of SKP’s culture relative to its competitors - Frequent turnover results in a loss of knowledge. There are only a handful of people that stayed long enough to help answering questions and transferring knowledge 2. No transparency and self-centered management: - Promotion is based on favoritism over meritocracy. Some people are on a “fast-track” because they manage up well. If you are not a partner’s favorite, be ready to accept limited opportunity - There is a clear culture of covering up. In addition to people being laid off with no explanation or acknowledgement, management actively discourage employee from writing critical reviews of the company. I specifically recalled a director telling consultants not to write negative reviews on Vault during a company meeting - As mentioned by other reviews, most partners don’t have any interest in the wellbeing of the consultants. The relationship is highly transactional. They only care about whether you have done all the work on time 3. Some LS partners have serious communication issues - Some partners cannot communicate their thoughts clearly. Once, a partner was unsatisfied the direction where the team was going but could not offer any specific guidance when asked by the team. Another time, a partner discredited an analysis done by the team without offer any explanation - Partners are also not always on the same page. There was a famous incident where partners were yelling at one another in office in one evening over the work culture and consultant’s stress at company. Judging by the number of people who left after the incident, it is unfortunate that the status quo side has prevailed 4. Difficult work-life balance from time to time - Work-life balance are sometimes manageable but do expect frequent late-night and weekend work, depending on your projects. I frequently had to work late at night and once worked in the office until 1:30 am on a Sunday - Project staffing has some serious issues. Although consultants are expected to be staffed on two projects at a time, people are frequently staffed on more than two projects because of the lack of availability. In addition to project work, consultants are also expected to help with proposals, which are frequently urgent and given on a short notice. Sure, you can say you don’t have time but good luck with becoming a favorite of a partner - The worst part of this is your effort is not proportional to the recognition you received. You are expected to overwork and may be questioned if you raise any concerns. I was staffed on three projects at a time, all took a substantial amount of my time. When I raised my concern to the partner, the response I received was: “So what’s the problem? Don’t you have teammates?” 5. No emphasis of professional development - The initial one week STEP training is very superficial. Some of the topics covered were useful but the majority was irrelevant. A more proper training on the healthcare systems and industry-specific knowledge would have been helpful but it was glossed very briefly - Although the company provides additional training modules as part of consultant’s professional development, very little emphasis is placed on these trainings. I was signed on to take some mandatory trainings but every time right before the training, the partner of my project would just take me off the trainings, saying my time is needed for the project. Therefore, my trainings kept being postponed and I ended up never taking those trainings 6. Mediocre exit opportunity - Because of the nature of SKP projects, you rarely have exposure with clients and hence, you have limited exit opportunities. This applies to the project managers as well. At best, the team members are onsite for the kick-off and final, and are on the weekly call with the client contact. This simply is not enough opportunity for you to get to know client and vice versa. Unlike other companies where transitioning into industry is simple because of the client exposure, you will have to make your own case when you are looking for exit opportunities from SKP - Because of the brand name of SKP, you are also confined to the pricing and market access functions. It is great if this is the career you want but if not, you will have to create your own opportunities

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is no point giving advice to the senior management because they will not change. Senior management keeps a blind eye on issues and is unwilling to acknowledge there are problems.

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-09-07
  9. "Interesting work, gain experience quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Associate Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners for less than a year

    Pros

    They give you a lot of responsibility if you ask for it. Office culture is friendly and fairly casual.

    Cons

    Long hours depending on the project. High turnover.

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-07-23
  10. "Consultant, I’ve worked for Simon Kucher just over 2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time

    Pros

    - International opportunities - Strategy-related projects - Quick learning environment

    Cons

    - Lower compensation - Rigid company structure - Internal advancement opportunities depend on direct senior management

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-06-26
Found 87 reviews