Simon-Kucher & Partners Reviews | Glassdoor

Simon-Kucher & Partners Reviews

Updated Mar 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Simon-Kucher & Partners Co-CEO and Co-CEO Dr. Andreas von der Gathen and Mark Billige
Dr. Andreas von der Gathen and Mark Billige
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Perfect time to join"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Company has been enjoying above-market success and growth for decades, with recent years being particularly strong. This means it is on a strong growth trajectory with a bright future, creating a real optimistic buzz in the office given the constant wins - Work is fascinating and niche providing a unique opportunity to excel beyond other areas in consulting - Despite pricing focus, all the typical consulting toolkit skills are picked up along with a strong development plan - Strategy, marketing and sales are ever-present and growing products - People are great, with a fairly flat culture and positive atmosphere - Perks are great (healthcare including dental, 6-month rotations to other offices, generous expense allowances, international training, etc)

    Cons

    - The pay is good but could be better. It is more along the lines of Big4 than top consultancy firms - Bonuses are quite low but this should be changing in the future as the company continues its success

    Continue reading
    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-02-02
  2. Helpful (10)

    "The Pay Sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get really good at Excel and Powerpoint

    Cons

    The pay is ridiculous There are ZERO women in leadership positions in most offices Sexism is rife - people are unfriendly and rude Bro culture to the max

    Continue reading
    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-01-28
  3. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Milan
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment were to work and nice people

    Cons

    Too small office and business in Italy

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-01-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to have a first job from school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners for more than a year

    Pros

    Rapid learning environment, early opportunity, excellent people

    Cons

    Work life balance is something you have to be willing to give up

    Continue reading
    Simon-Kucher & Partners2018-12-19
  5. Helpful (22)

    "Would advise to stay away from SKP LS in Boston"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My overall suggestion is to look elsewhere. But for fairness sake: 1) Clearly established as the No 1 pricing expert. With that comes optimized/standardized methodologies and ton of internal knowledge/experience to reference 2) Collegiality among consultants/below partner level which makes day-to-day pains slightly less painful (see cons) 3) Global project scope: whether you like it or not, you will become familiar with global health systems/market access/pricing

    Cons

    Many cons, and it all comes down to this: SKP US treats its people extremely poorly, and at the end of the day all of the pros are definitely not worth the stress/frustration/hours of work, also provided that there are many other quality LS consulting firms in the US who hire similar caliber of talent. Few salient examples: firing people (whether it be new-ish hires with less than a year with the firm or firing consultants who were recently promoted without proper explanations), annual raise less than inflation rate when the firm is supposedly growing rapidly (while globally SKP may be growing, there are signs that SKP US LS may not be performing and laying people off which might explain some of those firings) On top of that, layer in the thick air in the office of many consultants being overworked, under-recognized, underappreciated, and being underpaid even at director level. I honestly don't know a single person who is truly happy at SKP.

    Continue reading
    Simon-Kucher & Partners2018-11-13
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers and managers who care

    Cons

    Poor work-life balance and relative compensation

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2018-10-30
  7. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial spirit, flat hierarchy, young teams

    Cons

    Life balance, limited mentoring program

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2018-10-16
  8. "Good consultancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Barcelona
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance better than in other firms

    Cons

    Remuneration is worst than in other forms

    Continue reading
    Simon-Kucher & Partners2018-09-28
  9. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, bright and dedicated employees, opportunity for responsibility early, opportunity to specialize in pricing and packgaing

    Cons

    compensation, engagements with compressed timelines, lack of employees with lots of experience at company

    Continue reading
    Simon-Kucher & Partners2018-09-10
  10. Helpful (13)

    "My worst work experience in a multi-decade career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really smart people and true expertise in pricing. Great spirit among people at the peer level at communal events. Great exposure to clients at high levels in their organizations. Consultants get lots of face time with partners. Good snacks in the kitchen. Travel is much less than at other similar firms. Some truly top-tier clients. Can get long-term international (mostly European) assignments. The firm is truly respected for its expertise.

    Cons

    Staffing is a major issue: - High turnover rates. I was surprised how much recruiting happened in the U.S. for the size of the firm. There’s a burst of hiring at the end of each academic year as almost all new hires come straight from college (undergrad and masters/PhD programs). I was told that it was due to growth, but I later came to realize that rather it’s because turnover is incredibly high. When people leave before the next annual wave of hires come in, projects can be quite short staffed. And it’s really hard to maintain institutional knowledge when so much of it leaves each year. - This leads to >90% utilization rates at times -- and some partners forcing routine weekend work, all-nighters, missed holidays and vacation, etc. - I had been assigned to projects with no subject matter expert available, which led to poor outcomes. - I missed a red flag when I interviewed: I asked to speak with people who had experience outside the firm and was only put in touch with a recent MBA grad. People with outside experience don’t stay long. Partners are highly variable. Some treat their teams well and with reasonable expectations, and others are brutal. - One partner questioned my intelligence when I asked for help finding resources to learn new subject matter. - Some partners are standoffish. Some won’t spend much time helping staff that they haven’t worked with before, even on projects they are managing. It felt like a trust issue. Instead of developing staff, they have contempt for those who they feel aren’t as smart. - Some partners rely on favorite managers who can be quite immature who have not worked anywhere other than Simon-Kucher and not learned reasonable working norms. For example, one superior refused to talk to me during a project then gave me poor scores through the feedback system. They would not directly address their concerns with me when I scheduled a time to ask for feedback. -Partners are god-like. One partner made a mistake in presenting some info to a client. The team scrambled to find data to support the incorrect view. And it wasn’t even a big mistake. Work-life balance and office conditions: - One colleague was hospitalized due to exhaustion after several weeks of long hours and weekend work. The underlying issues were not addressed. - A recruiting video highlights a consultant whose wife was about to give birth to his first child. When he told the partner, the partner tells him he didn’t have to travel when the final presentation was a week before his wife was due. And the consultant thought this was such an unexpected surprise. To me, this didn't seem like something to brag about. (If you look on YouTube, you can find the video.) - When I had a legitimate medical issue that required me to get attention during the middle of a project, a partner glared at me like I was trying to sabotage the work. - Heating/cooling is a long-term issue in the Cambridge office. Temperatures regularly exceeded 85 degrees in offices and meeting rooms. After hours, HVAC sometimes turns off altogether, despite people frequently being in the office late. Personal development: - Very minimal personal development opportunities, aside from corporate trainings 1x/year at the world meeting, and not all staff is eligible even for those trainings. - The review process is not connected to reality. Scores are arbitrary. I always scored high until I ended up on a project that went sideways, and my past performance was no longer a factor. It’s entirely possible I wasn’t performing well because, despite my past high scores, partners do not want to show scores that are too low for internal political reasons. - Mandatory 8-day training (including weekends) for new hires at HQ in Germany. Topics were rudimentary for some and advanced for others, showing the little attention paid to personal needs. For most people attending training, it was a big party with late nights. One peer missed a couple of days of training with rumors that they were buying/using drugs at clubs; leadership made excuses when they found out - despite big talk otherwise. - Salaries are below market for firms Simon-Kucher wishes to compete with, which likely leads to departures.

    Continue reading
    Simon-Kucher & Partners2018-08-09
Found 178 reviews