Simon-Kucher & Partners "pricing" Reviews | Glassdoor

Simon-Kucher & Partners Employee Reviews about "pricing"

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Simon-Kucher & Partners CEO Dr. Georg Tacke
Dr. Georg Tacke
84 Ratings
Pros
  • "Most people who leave here know more about pricing strategy than your average(in 48 reviews)

  • "Super work life Balance und Gehalt(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-life balance can vary depending on what sector / partner you are working with(in 32 reviews)

  • "One colleague was hospitalized due to exhaustion after several weeks of long hours and weekend work(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "pricing"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to start a career and be part of very fast growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time

    Pros

    I've worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners for several years. It's more than doubled in the last ~5 or so and the team here is definitely a huge part of that growth. There are many opportunities to take on a lot of responsibility early and get a huge amount of exposure both to internal leadership at the company as well as client leadership (e.g. speaking with and presenting to C-suite). It's also a great way to... become an "expert" in something early on. Most people who leave here know more about pricing strategy than your average pricing manager in industry. The projects themselves are challenging but really interesting and with a variety of cool companies (consumer goods, tech giants, etc.). The vast majority of projects are on the "sunny" side of consulting, a.k.a. we don't do projects related to cost cutting (firing, downsizing, etc.)

    Show More

    Cons

    Due to the company's fast growth, the team can certainly feel some of the growing pains associated with it. Those being that the busy season can be very busy and utilization can be very high for a long time followed by a short period of being on the "beach". There's definitely a steep learning curve here, but for most that's a mix of being a pro/con because it also leads to a lot of experience early on in your... career.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people to align with growth Pay more attention to the "little" things that can make a big difference in every day working life

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-04-12
  2. "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great hours, everyone is really smart and bright, great exit opps, lots of perks like the world meeting, most rapidly growing consulting firm, pricing specialization is in high demand even from other consulting firms

    Cons

    Compensation is below industry average, rapid growth means very little beach time

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-09-19
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Looking at how long people stay and where they go after should tell you everything you need to know about SKP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are only a few upsides in the LS division but below is my fair assessment. Note that many of the items below are not specific to SKP. You can easily find that in other life science consulting companies. 1. As a known leader in pricing and market access, SKP has good recognition in this field. Consultants can develop pricing expertise by working on projects. However, there are plenty of other consulting... companies work on P&MA (and many other functional areas) 2. Many of the projects have international exposure. Consultants have the opportunity to collaborate with colleagues in other countries and learn about their healthcare systems 3. Most of the colleagues at the consultant level are reasonable and friendly people. I wish the same thing can be said to most of the managers and partners

    Show More

    Cons

    Overall, there are serious management issue in the LS US division. Consultants are overworked and underappreciated. I echo another review below citing that he/she honestly didn’t know anyone who is truly happy at SKP. 1. Alarmingly high turnover rate: - While the consulting industry has a high turnover rate, the rate of people leaving at SKP is alarmingly high. It is very rare for people to stay much longer... than 2 years. Some people stayed because they don’t have a choice (e.g., on work visa). In my time of ~2 years at SKP, about 70% of the people who joined on or before my time have left - Be ready for the frequent “purges”. Competent consultants are laid-off with no warning and no explanation. People chat about the lay-offs in the office but the partners pretend nothing has happened - Most of the people who left the company have joined other consulting companies. This should be a good indicator of SKP’s culture relative to its competitors - Frequent turnover results in a loss of knowledge. There are only a handful of people that stayed long enough to help answering questions and transferring knowledge 2. No transparency and self-centered management: - Promotion is based on favoritism over meritocracy. Some people are on a “fast-track” because they manage up well. If you are not a partner’s favorite, be ready to accept limited opportunity - There is a clear culture of covering up. In addition to people being laid off with no explanation or acknowledgement, management actively discourage employee from writing critical reviews of the company. I specifically recalled a director telling consultants not to write negative reviews on Vault during a company meeting - As mentioned by other reviews, most partners don’t have any interest in the wellbeing of the consultants. The relationship is highly transactional. They only care about whether you have done all the work on time 3. Some LS partners have serious communication issues - Some partners cannot communicate their thoughts clearly. Once, a partner was unsatisfied the direction where the team was going but could not offer any specific guidance when asked by the team. Another time, a partner discredited an analysis done by the team without offer any explanation - Partners are also not always on the same page. There was a famous incident where partners were yelling at one another in office in one evening over the work culture and consultant’s stress at company. Judging by the number of people who left after the incident, it is unfortunate that the status quo side has prevailed 4. Difficult work-life balance from time to time - Work-life balance are sometimes manageable but do expect frequent late-night and weekend work, depending on your projects. I frequently had to work late at night and once worked in the office until 1:30 am on a Sunday - Project staffing has some serious issues. Although consultants are expected to be staffed on two projects at a time, people are frequently staffed on more than two projects because of the lack of availability. In addition to project work, consultants are also expected to help with proposals, which are frequently urgent and given on a short notice. Sure, you can say you don’t have time but good luck with becoming a favorite of a partner - The worst part of this is your effort is not proportional to the recognition you received. You are expected to overwork and may be questioned if you raise any concerns. I was staffed on three projects at a time, all took a substantial amount of my time. When I raised my concern to the partner, the response I received was: “So what’s the problem? Don’t you have teammates?” 5. No emphasis of professional development - The initial one week STEP training is very superficial. Some of the topics covered were useful but the majority was irrelevant. A more proper training on the healthcare systems and industry-specific knowledge would have been helpful but it was glossed very briefly - Although the company provides additional training modules as part of consultant’s professional development, very little emphasis is placed on these trainings. I was signed on to take some mandatory trainings but every time right before the training, the partner of my project would just take me off the trainings, saying my time is needed for the project. Therefore, my trainings kept being postponed and I ended up never taking those trainings 6. Mediocre exit opportunity - Because of the nature of SKP projects, you rarely have exposure with clients and hence, you have limited exit opportunities. This applies to the project managers as well. At best, the team members are onsite for the kick-off and final, and are on the weekly call with the client contact. This simply is not enough opportunity for you to get to know client and vice versa. Unlike other companies where transitioning into industry is simple because of the client exposure, you will have to make your own case when you are looking for exit opportunities from SKP - Because of the brand name of SKP, you are also confined to the pricing and market access functions. It is great if this is the career you want but if not, you will have to create your own opportunities

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is no point giving advice to the senior management because they will not change. Senior management keeps a blind eye on issues and is unwilling to acknowledge there are problems.

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-09-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Solid firm to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of pricing expertise. Focused on pricing

    Cons

    Does not have the brand reputation

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-05-09
  5. Helpful (22)

    "Would advise to stay away from SKP LS in Boston"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My overall suggestion is to look elsewhere. But for fairness sake: 1) Clearly established as the No 1 pricing expert. With that comes optimized/standardized methodologies and ton of internal knowledge/experience to reference 2) Collegiality among consultants/below partner level which makes day-to-day pains slightly less painful (see cons) 3) Global project scope: whether you like it or not, you will become... familiar with global health systems/market access/pricing

    Show More

    Cons

    Many cons, and it all comes down to this: SKP US treats its people extremely poorly, and at the end of the day all of the pros are definitely not worth the stress/frustration/hours of work, also provided that there are many other quality LS consulting firms in the US who hire similar caliber of talent. Few salient examples: firing people (whether it be new-ish hires with less than a year with the firm or firing... consultants who were recently promoted without proper explanations), annual raise less than inflation rate when the firm is supposedly growing rapidly (while globally SKP may be growing, there are signs that SKP US LS may not be performing and laying people off which might explain some of those firings) On top of that, layer in the thick air in the office of many consultants being overworked, under-recognized, underappreciated, and being underpaid even at director level. I honestly don't know a single person who is truly happy at SKP.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I feel it's too late and evidently despite losing many competent consultants in the last year or so, often times to competitors, SKP doesn't seem interested in correcting its course. I'd advise consultants to look elsewhere at this point.

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2018-11-13
  6. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, bright and dedicated employees, opportunity for responsibility early, opportunity to specialize in pricing and packgaing

    Cons

    compensation, engagements with compressed timelines, lack of employees with lots of experience at company

    Advice to Management

    Do what it takes to retain talent - comp, longer projects etc.

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2018-09-10
  7. Helpful (13)

    "My worst work experience in a multi-decade career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really smart people and true expertise in pricing. Great spirit among people at the peer level at communal events. Great exposure to clients at high levels in their organizations. Consultants get lots of face time with partners. Good snacks in the kitchen. Travel is much less than at other similar firms. Some truly top-tier clients. Can get long-term international (mostly European) assignments. The firm is truly... respected for its expertise.

    Show More

    Cons

    Staffing is a major issue: - High turnover rates. I was surprised how much recruiting happened in the U.S. for the size of the firm. There’s a burst of hiring at the end of each academic year as almost all new hires come straight from college (undergrad and masters/PhD programs). I was told that it was due to growth, but I later came to realize that rather it’s because turnover is incredibly high. When people... leave before the next annual wave of hires come in, projects can be quite short staffed. And it’s really hard to maintain institutional knowledge when so much of it leaves each year. - This leads to >90% utilization rates at times -- and some partners forcing routine weekend work, all-nighters, missed holidays and vacation, etc. - I had been assigned to projects with no subject matter expert available, which led to poor outcomes. - I missed a red flag when I interviewed: I asked to speak with people who had experience outside the firm and was only put in touch with a recent MBA grad. People with outside experience don’t stay long. Partners are highly variable. Some treat their teams well and with reasonable expectations, and others are brutal. - One partner questioned my intelligence when I asked for help finding resources to learn new subject matter. - Some partners are standoffish. Some won’t spend much time helping staff that they haven’t worked with before, even on projects they are managing. It felt like a trust issue. Instead of developing staff, they have contempt for those who they feel aren’t as smart. - Some partners rely on favorite managers who can be quite immature who have not worked anywhere other than Simon-Kucher and not learned reasonable working norms. For example, one superior refused to talk to me during a project then gave me poor scores through the feedback system. They would not directly address their concerns with me when I scheduled a time to ask for feedback. -Partners are god-like. One partner made a mistake in presenting some info to a client. The team scrambled to find data to support the incorrect view. And it wasn’t even a big mistake. Work-life balance and office conditions: - One colleague was hospitalized due to exhaustion after several weeks of long hours and weekend work. The underlying issues were not addressed. - A recruiting video highlights a consultant whose wife was about to give birth to his first child. When he told the partner, the partner tells him he didn’t have to travel when the final presentation was a week before his wife was due. And the consultant thought this was such an unexpected surprise. To me, this didn't seem like something to brag about. (If you look on YouTube, you can find the video.) - When I had a legitimate medical issue that required me to get attention during the middle of a project, a partner glared at me like I was trying to sabotage the work. - Heating/cooling is a long-term issue in the Cambridge office. Temperatures regularly exceeded 85 degrees in offices and meeting rooms. After hours, HVAC sometimes turns off altogether, despite people frequently being in the office late. Personal development: - Very minimal personal development opportunities, aside from corporate trainings 1x/year at the world meeting, and not all staff is eligible even for those trainings. - The review process is not connected to reality. Scores are arbitrary. I always scored high until I ended up on a project that went sideways, and my past performance was no longer a factor. It’s entirely possible I wasn’t performing well because, despite my past high scores, partners do not want to show scores that are too low for internal political reasons. - Mandatory 8-day training (including weekends) for new hires at HQ in Germany. Topics were rudimentary for some and advanced for others, showing the little attention paid to personal needs. For most people attending training, it was a big party with late nights. One peer missed a couple of days of training with rumors that they were buying/using drugs at clubs; leadership made excuses when they found out - despite big talk otherwise. - Salaries are below market for firms Simon-Kucher wishes to compete with, which likely leads to departures.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advice will fall on deaf ears, so I'm not sure it's worth the effort.

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2018-08-09
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Unsuccessful leadership and no interest in personal development of employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sometimes relatively acceptable work-life balance; Ability to become somewhat of a pricing expert; Nice people; low travel requirements; some interesting projects

    Cons

    - leadership unable to attract/retain clients - partners uninterested in personal/professional development of employees - lack of training opportunities - low pay - intransparent promotions - partners disloyal to employees

    Advice to Management

    - let unsuccessful partners go - incentivize development of newly appointed partners and employees - increase pay - remove division barriers for younger consultants and restructure consultant pool to allow cross-sourcing from all divisions

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2018-03-01
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Once a great company...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time

    Pros

    Simon-Kucher is well known for pricing and especially in the life sciences industry. During my tenure, there was a great culture among the staff who often hung out together and were collaborative.

    Cons

    Over time there cracks in the organization began to form. One of my biggest concerns is that the partners are now completely removed from the organization. They rarely attend events and, if you would like to speak with them, it is very hard to get time with them. Partners own the company and each of them thinks they are the king which creates a lot of conflict and tension. This also means that much of what the... partners say is not true any more. For example, they say it is a flat organization which is supportive of individual growth but the partners are not accessible and they have been running as "up or out" for the last three years. These two trends show a clear disconnect between speaking points and the actual practice. Given how far down they are on revenue, they will probably have another round of dismissals at the end of the year (2017).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your people are your most important asset, if you treat them poorly you're giving up on your future.

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2017-09-25
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, impactful work, high growth; pay and HR could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time

    Pros

    I am in the Life Sciences Division It is a joy coming into work every day because the people at this company are incredibly friendly, bright, and driven. The hours can be long (as in all consulting), but having an office full of great people can help take the edge off of especially difficult days. That said, I know for a fact that my hours and work-life balance are better than my colleagues in the big generalists... consulting firms and the larger life sciences consulting firms. I find our work to be incredibly important to our clients: whether we provide advice for pharmaceutical launch prices, medical device sales force optimization, sales organizational alignment, or something completely different. The willingness across all of our global offices to share knowledge enables me to draw from many experiences and industries that may not seem to apply at first glance (automotive and energy are two industries I pulled relevant insights for a recent project). Lastly, Simon-Kucher is a company that is growing at an incredible rate and has really begun to expand beyond the niche of pricing. Being in this intense growth period has afforded me opportunities to learn a great deal.

    Show More

    Cons

    Base pay is currently below industry standard, which sends the wrong message to potential and current employees. I know the partners care about the younger members of the team, but I think unless base pay is increased, churn will continue at a rate faster than it needs to. Churn is normal with consulting, but its hard to justify turning down opportunities. HR could be improved. Trainings operated by HR tend to be... disjointed due difficulty wrangling multiple offices, which is in stark contrast to the trainings operated by consultants. Recruitment also could be smoother with more input from local office teams.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Base pay needs to be improved as an investment in younger team members and ensuring that people who value the culture of the company continue to rise up the ranks. HR also would benefit from more contact and exchange with consultants rather than operating as a black box.

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2017-01-19
Found 36 reviews