Simon Roofing Reviews | Glassdoor

Simon Roofing Reviews

Updated Sep 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Simon Roofing CEO Stephen J. Manser  (no image)
Stephen J. Manser
17 Ratings
  1. "A great place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Department in Boardman, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Simon Roofing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Its nice to work for a family owned company that is still involved from the ground up and not some huge corporation where you are just a number. There are upward mobility opportunities.

    Cons

    No paid holidays for hourly employees.

    Simon Roofing2019-06-04
  2. "Regional Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Simon Roofing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Set your own schedule remote

    Cons

    No support from upper management

    Simon Roofing2019-09-27
  3. "Family atmosphere!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service 

    I worked at Simon Roofing full-time

    Pros

    Very inclusive environment and work/life balance.

    Cons

    Could extend the training period a little more.

    Simon Roofing2019-07-02
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Not a good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Simon Roofing

    Pros

    Good benefits, nice car allowance

    Cons

    Extreme micromanaging, no training, no consistency

    Simon Roofing2019-08-02
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Best place to work if you want to be emotionally beat down every day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Simon Roofing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Insurance benefits are very good.

    Cons

    Micro managed to the point of not being able to speak one word on your own. Management has no respect for anyone outside of the immediate family.

    Advice to Management

    Look up the definition of a fool. Look in the mirror and read it aloud. When you realize what you just read doesn't apply to you, you will really know who you are.

    Simon Roofing2019-07-31
  6. "Good Company to work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Call Center in Boardman, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Simon Roofing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good family company, will always work with you if there is an issue.

    Cons

    Have to work some holidays.

    Simon Roofing2019-05-31
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Simon Roofing full-time

    Pros

    You get a paycheck once a week.

    Cons

    So many chiefs in the TeePee. Micromanaged hardcore. Felt like a telemarketing machine. It's sales, and you're expected to pick up the phone a dial, but wow! They planned on growing more sales people but can't finish or keep up with work orders, and it's just a revolving door x's 2! If your last name is Simon, you get to be upper management right out of college.

    Advice to Management

    Tone in down a lot! Higher more service people to help with national and local sales reps.

    Simon Roofing2018-12-04

    Simon Roofing Response

    December 10, 2018Human Resources Director

    Thanks for your feedback and letting us know about your concerns. We currently have 33 open positions for service and the recruiting team is working to get those filled as quickly as possible. We are always looking for ways to improve the employee experience. Thanks again for being part of that process.

    Show Less
  8. "New Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Simon Roofing full-time

    Pros

    Travel benefits,good medical and dental, raise after first 60 days, $35 a day per dium(food) good place to gain experience

    Cons

    None at the very moment

    Advice to Management

    none

    Simon Roofing2018-11-21

    Simon Roofing Response

    November 26, 2018Human Resources Director

    Thanks for taking the time to complete a review. We are always looking to ways to improve the employee experience and to earn that five-star rating. If you have any suggestions feel free to reach out to me at rseger@simonroofing.com.

  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Simon Roofing full-time

    Pros

    Friendly people Great medical, dental, and vision benefits Fair wages

    Cons

    They definitely need to update the PTO benefits.

    Simon Roofing2018-11-08
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Money to be made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Simon Roofing full-time

    Pros

    Mostly stable environment and a great place to get some tenure built up on your resume. They have decent benefits and stable schedule at the corporate office

    Cons

    Place is the gold standard for what nepotism looks like. Imaginary positions with superfluous suffixes like Sr and VP are dolled out to the Vross and Simon families children and family friends. Turnover is pretty bad company wide. Roofers with experience quit because Simon's methods are questionable i.e. their totally bogus FPQ's People lose their jobs to personality conflicts with one of the many imaginary... VP's

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None, you aren't going to fire your grossly under qualified family and friends.

    Simon Roofing2018-10-29

    Simon Roofing Response

    November 1, 2018Human Resources Director

    I want to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I’m sorry that your experience at Simon Roofing did not match our intentions of being one of the best places to work. We take all feedback seriously and will be looking at ways to address some of your concerns. If you would like to share more about your experience, please contact me by emailing rseger@simonroofing.com so that we can set up a time to talk. Thanks again for the feedback it helps us make Simon Roofing a better place to work and best of luck in your future endeavors.

    Show Less
Found 47 reviews