SimpleTense Education Reviews

Updated Apr 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
SimpleTense Education Executive Officer Daniel Zhao (no image)
Daniel Zhao
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "They really support writers to grow(in 9 reviews)

  • "The staff support is unbelievable for a freelancing company(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work at SimpleTense can be very fast paced(in 5 reviews)

  • "They have very strict policies regarding plagiarism, so never ever try to commit it(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

      An excellent place to work!

      Jan 3, 2021 - Freelance Writer in Pasadena, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working for Simple Tense and can't believe I didn't find it sooner. It's an excellent way to make a little extra money on your own time. You only have to take assignments that you feel qualified to work on, and only when your schedule permits. I really feel like I enjoy doing the work because I take assignments that I am interested in, and I learn while doing them. In addition, it is great knowing that we are helping out students.

      Cons

      I really have no complaints!

      1 person found this review helpful

      SimpleTense Education Response

      Director of Recruiting and Human Resources

      Thank you for your positive feedback. Flexibility and the pleasure of helping others are core to what we offer, we'll stay focused on that. Thanks again! -Jacob

    2. 2.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      Worst freelance company I have ever worked for as a writer

      Apr 7, 2021 - Freelance Writer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work is remote and can be completed at your own pace

      Cons

      The payouts are not worth your time at all if you have an advanced degree. You will receive approximately ~$10/page for a dissertation, thesis, or other complex proposals that require extensive research. This is insulting for someone with a graduate degree who produces quality work.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      SimpleTense Education Response

      Director of Recruiting and Human Resources

      Hi there, thank you for your feedback about the company! It's clear that you are unsatisfied with your work on this platform, so I want to go through your points one by one. Regarding pay, our goal is transparency. I respect that not everyone has the same writing speed and comfort level as well, we created a 90-minute assessment so that applicants could understand the pace required to make this work a successful fit. That's why ST elects to show the payout, due time, and instruction before any job begins. So if there is a dissertation, thesis, or other complex proposal you don't want to take on, you have the right to ignore it. Another issue you address that I would like to discuss is the amount of kindness (or lack thereof as you put it) and leaning towards the client shown by the admin team. For me, respect has to be at the heart of how we operate. If we have failed to review revisions fairly or seemed overbearing, I apologize. Please contact me directly at 626-491-8812 so we could discuss the issue in more detail and find a path forward. Text or call is fine. Thank you, Jacob

    3. 5.0
      Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

      Fantastic Opportunity for Freelancers

      Dec 30, 2020 - Freelance Writer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Freelancing for SimpleTense is perfect for people who want independence and flexibility in their work, but also want a sense of stability. In my experience, plenty of work has been available during the academic seasons. I haven't had to worry about not finding enough work, because during these periods, there's no shortage of tasks to claim. This stands out as a huge positive, especially in the current climate, when so many people are experiencing instability with their jobs. The work itself is really enjoyable. I've been able to work on a wide variety of tasks in several different disciplines, which keeps the work interesting and engaging. Because you get to select your own tasks, you have the opportunity to stick with fields you're comfortable with, but you can also branch out and become knowledgeable about other subjects. I've done both, and it's been great. The diversity of the work available through SimpleTense is definitely a strong point. The admins and task managers have been wonderful to work with. They're highly communicative, answer any and all questions, provide extra guidance and resources when needed, and make the entire process far more efficient. I've had several instances this past season in which the admins have gone above and beyond to find solutions to any problems that came up, which is something I greatly appreciate. Overall, all of my experiences with the staff at SimpleTense have been positive.

      Cons

      There aren't any cons that come to mind. My experience has been great so far.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SimpleTense Education Response

      Director of Recruiting and Human Resources

      Hi, thank you for your feedback! We're glad you enjoy the platform and will stay focused on meeting your work expectations.

    4. 1.0
      Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

      Horrible Employee Communication, Horrible Values

      Mar 16, 2021 - Freelance Writer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Choose your own work hours / projects

      Cons

      AWFUL communication with employees. I had an account on their website as a freelance writer for a total of five days before my account was deleted with no warning or definitive reasoning. I assume it was because earlier in the day I submitted something close to a deadline, but I know for a fact I submitted it well within the two hour window I had to revise the project. Either way, trying to get in touch with anyone to contest my situation is impossible - none of their "contact us" links on their employee portal work, and neither of the phone numbers listed on their client page are active. Aside from this, the morals of what this company does are entirely wrong. During the interview and application process, they make it seem like you'll be actively helping international students improve their English writing abilities by helping them write / edit academic and professional work, when in almost all cases you're just being paid to do the work for them. If you want an employer who respects you - or if you have any respect for yourself - don't consider SimpleTense as an employment option.

      2 people found this review helpful

      SimpleTense Education Response

      Director of Recruiting and Human Resources

      Hi, some of these claims are patently false. I can verify that because we do onboarding calls for every onboarding freelancer. If something as terrible as this happened, my number would be available to address and resolve any issues because I called you directly. Regardless, it's indicative of your comfort level with the company to make this kind of claim on Glassdoor, and I apologize for the poor experience you had on SimpleTense. We are working each and every day to make a better experience for the people that use our site, especially in communication. We will stay focused on that through transparency with our freelancers (that's why we have onboarding calls) so that everyone knows how the site operates before they join us and what our expectations are. If you'd like to discuss the matter further, my email is hr@simpletense.com Thank you for your feedback and best wishes to you! -Jacob

    5. 1.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Unethical, Mismanaged, Low paying...otherwise fine

      Mar 16, 2021 - Freelance Writer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's an easy job to get.

      Cons

      If it's not yet clear, this company hires writers to compose U.S. college entry essays for Chinese applicants and the actual pay, on average, is 3 cents per word (rather than a misleading hourly figure). If this is what you want to do with your talent, you can quit reading. My ethical/legal objections: It's cheating. It's also fraud. If the essay is mailed anywhere in the states, it's mail fraud. My practical objections: The last two doctors I've seen (in the U.S.) did not speak enough English to make themselves understood, despite graduating from U.S. medical schools. Do I want to contribute to this? If so, do I want to contribute to this on a pay scale at or below minimum wage, with wildly unpredictable work availability? My professional objections: I refuse to accept the notion that this is the best I can do with my skill set and education. FYI - The five star reviews on here are written by people like me, paid for by this company.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      SimpleTense Education Response

      Director of Recruiting and Human Resources

      Hello, thanks for your organized feedback. SimpleTense helps Chinese students get into the school of their dreams, excel while they are there, and exit into the workforce following graduation. This isn't illegal at all, and we're proud of our work. That's why we've been doing it for so long (since 2013). For practical objections, I'm sorry you had a bad experience with your doctor. I don't think it's logically accurate to equate your medical encounter with the services offered by SimpleTense, but this is a public forum for comments. We don't control who gets into medical school at all. Regarding the idea that we buy reviews, please note that the glassdoor policy makes the standards clear. It's prohibited, and we don't pay people to write 5-star reviews. For pay, I'm always transparent during onboarding calls regarding what you can expect. I've already referenced that in some of the other 1 star reviews ST received all at once in the month of March 2021. Regardless or how or why these 1-star reviews are happening all at the same time, I plan to maintain the ST commitment to transparency, and I'm sorry this didn't work out for you in particular. Best wishes for successful work outcomes in the future. Sincerely, -Jacob

    6. 1.0
      Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

      Stay away

      Mar 18, 2021 - Freelance Writer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can set your own hours.

      Cons

      Terminated my account all of a sudden one day. No reason or explanation why. If you enjoy writing papers for college kids who don't want to do it themselves then this is the job for you. Half the time the instructions barely make sense. The reviewers take until right before a deadline to tell you if you need to make changes. They advertise that you can make 3-5,000 dollars a month but they limit the amount of work you can do. There is no way you can make that kind of money. They also don't take out any taxes from your pay so you will be responsible for paying all that come tax time.

      2 people found this review helpful

      SimpleTense Education Response

      Director of Recruiting and Human Resources

      Hi there, I appreciate your letting me know about this experience. It reads like SimpleTense abruptly closed your account. This will happen when there are repeated requests for adjustment that are unmet. Some examples of that would be to improve formatting, follow specific details of instructions better, and proofread content before submission. If that gets ignored, we will close the account. Regarding taxes, this is 1099 work, which is standard fare for the freelance experience-Uber or otherwise. As far as the advertisement to make $3K-$5K monthly, this is not advertised on our site at all and would only be reflective of the top 1% of earners on the platform. We have had 5 freelancers make over $2K this month, April 2021, it's very feasible and there is plenty of work. So hopefully that gives some realistic context concerning earnings possibilities. If you could let me know where you've seen those numbers, I'd be happy to adjust them as transparency is important to us. You can reach me directly via hr@simpletense.com Thank you, Jacob

    7. 1.0
      Former Freelancer, more than 1 year

      Extremely Disappointed

      Mar 4, 2021 - Writer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sometimes there are orders. But it’s not just seasonally. It’s nowhere near as busy as other companies during hot season.

      Cons

      The reviews are false, I know because I was paid to write one by the HR department. Ironically after I wrote that positive review I never saw another order on the platform. My account was deactivated- although I’m not quite sure why. The human resources department gave me a good review in December (when I wrote my original review).

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      SimpleTense Education Response

      Director of Recruiting and Human Resources

      Hi there, Jacob here. Thanks for your feedback about your experience on SimpleTense. I'm sorry things didn't work out, and I remain grateful for the work you did on the platform. I hope for better times in your career. I'm not sure why you wrote no other orders on the platform after December since I never received a message about it until after the account was closed. If this is the person I think it is, the account was closed due to fluctuations in quality. Feel free to email hr@simpletense.com and I can clarify further. Regarding fair working conditions, we've implemented a feedback system this year (2021) so that every freelancer could know where they stand with the company. We give simple, easy to understand feedback so you could easily take action. Regarding the reviews you've written, glassdoor allows for one review per year. 5-star review or 1-star review, we have no way to control what people write. Best wishes in your future work pursuits. -Jacob

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent Company to Work For

      Jun 18, 2020 - Writer in Missoula, MT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was new to this type of freelance writing but was lucky enough to get hired for this company. They have nurtured me as a person and writer even though I have made plenty of mistakes. As long as you work hard and are polite, you will do well here! It can be important to be careful to not take on too much work at one time during the busy seasons in case life stuff happens. The CEO. HR, Admin Team, and Customer Support staff are all wonderful people who care about their clients. The CEO even helped out employees who needed their paychecks early during the peak of COVID-19 in the spring. I cannot recommend SimpleTense enough. You can work flexible hours in the comfort of your home.

      Cons

      There does not appear to be a way to know your writing tier except for how many tasks you are allowed to take at one time. Depending on your tier, due times for tasks may appear different on your dashboard from the one the writer initially accepted. This due time shift can be surprising, especially for urgent tasks. This is a small issue that only affects those who have gone down in tier because of poor quality writing, missed due times, or too many cancelled tasks.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SimpleTense Education Response

      Director of Recruiting and Human Resources

      Hey, thanks for this feedback and the positives. We care about our freelancers. Let's dive into the cons you mentioned. Writing tiers are performance based, but they shouldn't affect at all the way due times display. You can set your account to display all due times in your local time zone. This will allow for no-surprise claims that wouldn't negatively impact your work planning. But you're right that tiers do impact how many tasks you are allowed to take at one time. That's the main impact of tiers. We want to make sure freelancers take on the quantity of work that they have proven themselves capable of processing. Every day is day 1 around here, and our customers demand that. All that said, if you're seeing a due time shift that seems like a system bug, please contact me at hr@simpletense.com so I can get the issue fixed. Thanks again for your feedback! -Jacob

    9. 5.0
      Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

      Finally! Consistent Freelance Work/Income

      Jun 18, 2020 - Writer in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work is steady almost year-round because the clientele is international, so the lulls between semesters that may exist with other companies are much shorter with this one. The pay is great and comes on-time every two weeks like clockwork. There are never any issues or excuses about why a writer cannot be paid, which if you have ever freelanced, you know is unheard of. The admins are great about answering questions, tracking down information from clients and just being supportive, especially in the busy season. Seems like there is ample room for growth here as well, which is always a plus.

      Cons

      Like any position centered on customer service, sometimes your best may not seem like enough for some clients and you have to just do whatever it takes to make the client happy in the end. Sometimes this means revising something because they neglected to mention it or include pertinent information. These are few and far between, however, and is just the nature of the beast.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SimpleTense Education Response

      Director of Recruiting and Human Resources

      Revisions are the most important element of this work that no one seems to talk about. Our benchmark for a revision is to compare it with the client's original instructions. If ST didn't follow it, we revise free of charge. If we did, the client receives an invoice for the changes. Thanks for all the detailed comments here, I'm grateful for your feedback 🙏 -Jacob

    10. 4.0
      Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

      Relaxed for a Writer

      Jan 1, 2021 - Editor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can anywhere you want and pick up assignments as needed, very flexible. For a gig job, it's relaxed if you know how to write efficiently.

      Cons

      Directions for assignments lack clarity at times, and figuring them out or doing inordinate amounts of research often makes your hourly pay suffer. Pay in general can be a bit underwhelming.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SimpleTense Education Response

      Director of Recruiting and Human Resources

      Hi there, I really appreciate this constructive criticism. We have implemented a team in place to review orders as they come in. This allows us to avoid ambiguous instructions and ensure smooth processing. For efficient writing, I recommend Scihub and Library Genesis to complete research efficiently. Thank you again for the feedback! -Jacob

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 53 Reviews

    Popular Careers with SimpleTense Education Job Seekers

    Freelance Writer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at SimpleTense Education? Share Your Experiences

    SimpleTense Education logo
    or