SimpliVity "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

SimpliVity Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 14, 2015

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
SimpliVity CEO Meg Whitman
Meg Whitman
1 Rating
Pros
  • "Exciting technology in a fast paced development environment(in 9 reviews)

  • "The management team is the best I've work with(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "The company is growing at an astounding rate which means there is a lot to be done(in 6 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is a bit of a struggle as is often the case as smaller/start-up'esc companies(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great startup!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Westborough, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SimpliVity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good product, great management team, really good engineers, good work-life balance, good compensation and great technology.

    Cons

    Fast paced. Running out of Cubicles and conference rooms due to the fast growth which is a good thing in a way.

    Continue reading
    SimpliVity2015-11-04
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work in Central Mass"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Performance Engineer in Westborough, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SimpliVity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not only does SImplivity pay well, but they bring in a free catered lunch every day at the main office. The benefits are some of the best I've had in the industry and they believe in a fairly flat corporate hierarchy where anyone can speak to anyone and everyone is accountable.

    Cons

    While they believe in positive work/life balance, the company does still function in start up mode a little and the hours can be long at release time.

    Continue reading
    SimpliVity2015-11-02
  3. "Great choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SimpliVity

    Pros

    SimpliVity has been the perfect choice for me as to where I wanted to work. I spent time at a large hardware vendor and also the lead virtualization company out there both with great company cultures. Thus far SimpliVity blows those companies away with its work life balance attitude and great technology.

    Cons

    None i have come across so far.

    Continue reading
    SimpliVity2015-11-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The "rocketship""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Westborough, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SimpliVity

    Pros

    I love SimpliVity for countless reasons. Some of the most important ones are: 1. I can move the needle. Every day I wake up jazzed to come to work because I know I can solve challenging problems and make an tangible impact. 2. I work with a bunch of rock stars. Working at a smaller company means we've been able to hire the best and the brightest. There's nothing like being surround by motivated, intelligent and extremely hard working people. 3. The technology is SO cool. Actually, I take that back, "cool" doesn't do it justice. The Omnistack is a disruptive technology that is revolutionizing the IT landscape. I truly feel I'm helping engineer a historic product! 4. Career opportunities are plentiful. As company continues to add significant headcount, there is significant room to make progress in your career, whether you are junior, or further along in your career. Net-Net, this is NOT a job I come to just for a paycheck. I love what we're building, the people I work with and how much ownership I feel in the success of the company. Hands down, the best place I've ever worked.

    Cons

    As with any small company, work life balance can be a challenge. For me, this isn't an issue. I have seen other people who are challenged by the intensity level and hours required here. That said, I often say that people put in long hours here, not because they feel they have to, but rather because they want to. Many of us feel that every single hour we put in, brings the company that much closer to success.

    SimpliVity2015-10-29
  5. "Stressful but professionally rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellingham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SimpliVity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professionally rewarding; lots of hardworking team members who share the passion and drive to succeed; great benefits. Hot company in central MA with seriously awesome products! It's hard to find companies in growth mode in this area.

    Cons

    The catered food. It's tasty but as someone else mentioned...it's hard not to over-indulge! Zero work/life balance due to the start-up atmosphere and the drive to succeed.

    Continue reading
    SimpliVity2015-11-14
  6. "Good company, bright future, great technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Team Member in Westborough, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SimpliVity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - SimpliVity has a a very solid, distruptive technology - The management team is also very strong, and lays out a clear vision along with a mission statement that makes sense and aligns with the solutions that we offer. - There are a ton of career opportunities here as the company is growing incredibly fast due to rapidly growing sales and use case applications. - Pay is very fair for my particular position. The benefits are also very strong although in place of a matching 401k, the company offers shares of stock (pre-IPO of course). - In Westborough, the company provides lunch daily (generally a main course as well as a salad bar daily) - Individual contributors have a very strong ability to influence decision making even if they don't own a tachnical or strategic decision; their voice is heard and counts

    Cons

    - Work life balance is a bit of a struggle as is often the case as smaller/start-up'esc companies. Sometimes, individuals push themselves because of their personalities, in other instances, folks feel obligated to work well beyond what would be considered well balanced due to the volume of work assigned to them. - Culture is getting watered down a bit as the company grows and the talent pool thins out in the local area

    Continue reading
    SimpliVity2015-10-20
  7. "Great potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Westborough, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SimpliVity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a company that has a lot of potential and a management team that is focused on the goal. They are doing a great job of hiring top talent and have a process for effectively bringing them on-board. While there is desire for extreme dedication to the mission the company is evolving to a work place with good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Product management and business development is struggling to keep up with the pace of the company. Simplivity would be well advised to over-invest in these critical areas.

    Continue reading
    SimpliVity2015-11-02
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Well-run, well-managed technology venture with a leading-edge portfolio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Writer in Westborough, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SimpliVity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to work on leading-edge hyper-convergence solutions. Well thought-out and clearly-communicated business strategy to which everyone adheres. No confusion about what to do or when to do it. This includes managing the rapid change in this business. Unique career development/reward and recognition strategy. One of the very few places that I have worked where they did what was right and good for me (and in the long term, right for the company) even though it made life more difficult for my manager in the short term. Highly skilled and carefully-selected people and managers, in general. Every place has dead wood, but the process at SimpliVity keeps them to a minimum, brings them into line, or gets rid of them. The company makes a genuine attempt at work-life balance, even when the pace is frenetic. Good team-mates and managers who help, support, and appreciate your efforts, right up to the CEO. A good salary and benefits package is great, but regularly being told that you do a good job is highly motivating and rewarding. Autonomy and responsibility devolved to the team and the individual. I had the opportunity to propose, design and implement solutions. The company has an excellent process for extracting learning from things that go wrong, making things right, and then improving the process. This does not involve beatings or fault-finding. Consequently, it encourages you to take risks, make mistakes and be genuinely creative without worrying about the consequences of failure. I took some big risks here, and probably did some of the best work in my 30-year career. Good HR team - communicative and effective. "OK", you ask, "if SimpliVity is such a good gig, why did you leave"? A wise man once said, "some people are no longer suitable for the mission". I constantly evaluate my performance, work-life balance, personal life goals, and my responsibilities to the people I love. There were things that I put off for many years working in high-pressure jobs. I could not attend to these and give full attention to my job. SimpliVity bent over backwards to accommodate me and I was very impressed and gratified that they tried to make it work. We parted with mutual respect, and I remain a shareholder and a strong supporter. I'm confident in their success and therefore have no problem strongly recommending SimpliVity as an employer.

    Cons

    Not much. There are few better places to work in my 30-year experience. Although SimpliVity is a rapidly-growing corporation, it is still a VC funded enterprise in start-up mode. It competes in a rapidly-evolving and dynamic business sector. Therefore, the work pace is fast, hours can be long, and there are very high expectations of you. No-compete agreement. Like most MA startups, they require a very broad no-compete. Because SimpliVity is a convergence solution, their business is, in fact, very broad. It encompasses technologies that include storage, computing, networking, deduplication, compression, WAN optimization. As a technical writer, this does not affect me as much - I can find work in industry or pharma. However, I am opposed to non-competes because I believe that they have a net negative affect on the economy and on innovation. Most of what they strive to achieve can be accomplished in a less restrictive non-disclosure agreement.

    Continue reading
    SimpliVity2015-06-26
  9. Helpful (5)

    "This company is focused and going places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westborough, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SimpliVity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exciting technology in a space that has true potential to disrupt legacy and status quo systems. The company is focused on building the right product not just selling something. Large number of engineers who are focused on building building world class technology. Everyone seems very passionate about the product and believes in the CEO. Family and work life balance are highly valued.

    Cons

    Still too early too tell. Its a very fast paced environment in a technology space that continues to change quickly.

    Continue reading
    SimpliVity2014-01-11
  10. "Great people + Great culture = Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SimpliVity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible pace of growth and execution excellence. Great place to learn a lot in a very short amount of time. Working with highly motivated and skilled people is a joy. The leadership team truly values the feedback they receive from their employees and make changes when necessary.

    Cons

    Work life balance can sometimes be an issue because of the fast paced growth and the expectations. You need to adapt otherwise you will not be successful.

    Continue reading
    SimpliVity2015-11-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews