Cover image for Simplify3D
Logo

Simplify3D

Engaged Employer

Simplify3D

Add a Review

Simplify3D Reviews

Updated May 25, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 14 of over 14 reviews
2.6
40% Recommend to a Friend
Simplify3D CEO Clayton Webster
50% Approve of CEO

Found 14 of over 14 reviews

2.6
40%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Simplify3D CEO Clayton Webster
Clayton Webster
2 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

497

70 Comments

Tech

455.2K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Simplify3D~1187369
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
    There are no pros to display at this time.
Cons
  • "It is typical to hear the CEO and COO openly argue in the office.(in 4 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A great place to work

    Apr 26, 2019 - Web Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A relatively small company but you have the awareness that you're working on a product that makes a large impact across the industry and world. Probably the best part of working here is the fact that you are working alongside a very talented and qualified staff. Throughout the interview process I could tell that they were very selective and the reasoning behind this shows. A relaxed environment, flexible work schedule, vibrant office design, free quality snacks (!), and you are treated and trusted as a professional. Monthly company outings are a great component to working here, it may be cliche, but they really do contribute to building a better team. Personally, I relocated from out of state to work here and I have no regrets. I enjoy living in this area, and I'm very glad I made the decision.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons at the moment. The worst thing that has happened thus far is that they ran out of my favorite snack mix for a week :)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Employee for three years. Great place to work with fantastic people.

    Oct 13, 2020 - 3D Printing Engineer in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Every day is something different and exciting. I do not get bored. - The employees here are insanely smart and driven but we still have a good time at work. I look forward to coming in every day. - The company has made a noticeable effort to support me and further my education and skills. - They have been attentive to my wants and needs and have done everything in there power to make sure I am where I want to be in my career and personal life. - There have been major improvements to the hierarchy and workflow here since I came on three years ago and I see this continuously getting better. - I feel the company is on an upward trajectory and I am excited to be a part of that!

    Cons

    - Due to the small size of the company some benefits associated with larger corporations are not possible.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Simplify3D team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Some companies never change...

    May 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Somehow this business manages to hire amazing people, so my coworkers were great. I stayed as long as I did because I liked the people I worked with. The work-life balance was ok in that you almost never have to work overtime or on the weekends, but as I will mention below, there is a strict no-remote-work policy, which keeps it from being a great work-life experience, especially during a pandemic.

    Cons

    -Everything you have read in all the other comments. -No work from home policy under any circumstance despite the fact that we all worked from laptops in the office anyway. -Lack of cultural and gender diversity. -Micromanagement causes bottlenecks that lock up projects and delay deadlines.

    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Smart people, terrible people management

    Mar 31, 2021 - C++ Software Engineer in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employees are super smart and great to work with. Very competitive compensation as compared to the market rates

    Cons

    People management is terirble No work from home policy for Software developers even in a pandemic CEO is the bottleneck in getting most things done. Customers are kept in the dark about upcoming releases and software policies

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    How does this happen

    Mar 9, 2021 - Marketing in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting work that has potential to be amazing.

    Cons

    If you've read the other reviews, nothing has changed.

    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Squandered Potential

    Feb 10, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - 3D Printing - Small team so lots of potential

    Cons

    - 2 Headed management team; one hands off, while the other extremely micromanages - Software company that completely goes against industry standard development lifecycle - CEO is the sole viewer of product source code; employees are given tasks which are written completely from scratch and are standalone. Owner than extrapolates whatever information needed from project - Zero source control imposed or used by employees as projects have little to no collaboration. Unsure whether actual company product software uses source control - Zero bug/issue tracker used by employees, unsure whether actual company product software uses issue/bug trackers. Issues/bugs brought to attention of employees by customers/outside sources are given to CEO and whether or not they'll be fixed are up to his/her discretion - Since actual company software product is developed by a single individual, new changes/updates/features are a 'surprise' and only known about when a new release has been coded and ready for testing. This also seems to cause a lot of strain on the single developer. It is not uncommon to hear the developer said he/she went 14-18 hours straight writing/rewriting/fixing/tracking something down. Could easily be prevented if the development team was given more involvement. - Company information pretty much completely private and not shared with employees. Startup with less of a startup feel. No customer metrics, SEO, revenue, insight, etc are known by anyone but management.

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Terrible Culture

    Apr 4, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Blue Ash, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    3D Printing is a fascinating new industry. It was a lot of fun learning a skill that not a lot of people have. The office is in a convenient location within walking distance of restaurants and coffee.

    Cons

    The office culture is rigid, condescending and controlled. There is no flexibility, no engagement, no transparency. Everything is top secret, only the CEO and COO are in the know on any subject, which leads to employees distrusting management. On a scale from 1-10, 10 being the highest, the level of micromanagement is a 9.9. Management is unable to delegate tasks. Management speaks of Driving Deliverables as being one of their core values, sadly they can't get anything done because they can't get along. It is typical to hear the CEO and COO openly argue in the office. The CEO and COO are a son/mother team, which they do not disclose during the interview process.

    Continue reading
    24 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Much to learn...

    Feb 13, 2017 - Developer in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -3D Printers were cool - Had some interesting projects - Worked with good people

    Cons

    This was by far the most secretive, mismanaged and frustrating company I ever worked for. There were no planning phases for any development projects, or even general scopes. There were no procedures or protocols for writing software and they were shot down quickly when suggestions / ideas were brought up. They have one person who does all the development on the main software and this leads to everyone else having no idea what the company is doing or what is coming in the future. Projects were usually just brought to you with an idea and then left with no management or general idea of what the leadership team would actually like to see. Projects were often forgot about or just totally shut down with no reason given. Developers and marketers are given no insight into number of customers and are not given access to any typical environments that would help to accomplish the typical jobs that a developer is given. The management team was often seen fighting and disagreeing and this lead to a toxic work environment. Turnover is extremely high due to many of the issues above plus a plethora of other issues.

    Continue reading
    18 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    3D Printing Engineer with Simplify3D for about a year, and have enjoyed being part of the team.

    Sep 18, 2018 - 3D Printing Engineer in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Research and development projects are exciting and offer plenty of opportunities to learn and apply concepts learned in school -CEO is technically very competent and his guidance on most projects is quite helpful -Workplace culture is very cordial and all employees know/interact with each other -Talented coworkers means that help is always around the corner when needed -A flat hierarchy helps in maintaining a humble and congenial environment -CEO and COO are willing to work with employees in the face of any personal issues -Management and HR offer a lot of help during relocation for out of state hirees.

    Cons

    -More opportunities for growth such as participation in workshops, conferences or invited guest lectures would be nice.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Much to be desired

    Jul 12, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Interesting Industry - Decent Salary/Benefits - Talented coworkers

    Cons

    - The COO and CEO are a Mother/Son team, which they do not disclose during the interview process (including the COO using her maiden name instead of her legal married name in all external communications.) They can be found to both argue openly in the office and are constantly passive aggressive towards each other, making things awkward for all of the other employees. The CEO and COO regularly try to go over each other's heads, making it difficult to know whose direction to follow on a project. - The PTO pool includes both vacation and sick days which leads you being afraid to take vacation days in case you get sick in the future and need the time off (including medical emergencies!) - Upper management seems more concerned about artificially making the business seem bigger than it is in (including unnecessary office renovations/expansions) order to inflate their ego, rather than focusing on what the employees/company really need. - Employee retention is very low, with most employees leaving after less than a year which makes it challenging to collaborate across departments. - Upper management has the mentality of a large corporation instead of a startup in regards to workflow, which means they are behind in a lot of aspects compared to their more agile competitors.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Simplify3D Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Simplify3D? Share Your Experiences

Simplify3D logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

  • 3D Printing Engineer(2)

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Glassdoor has 14 Simplify3D reviews submitted anonymously by Simplify3D employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Simplify3D is right for you.