KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Simply Self Storage

Is this your company?

Simply Self Storage

Add a Review

Simply Self Storage Employee Reviews about "district manager"

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 109 reviews

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Simply Self Storage CEO Kyle Schmutzler (no image)
Kyle Schmutzler
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "The hours are good, you basically are your own boss, some of the customers are great customers, if you have a strong district then you in the good(in 6 reviews)

  • "You work alone most of the time(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "You have to go to your district manager for literally everything, and it takes him like weeks to get back to you(in 11 reviews)

  • "working sundays you only get 4 hours which shorts you from getting 40 hours each week, low pay, many responsibilities for what they actually pay(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "district manager"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Could be better, could be worse

      Sep 5, 2019 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule. "Bankers Hours." I guess that is it.

      Cons

      Some of the lowest wages in the industry. Little, if any annual raises. Too many hoops to jump through to qualify for bonus, and bonuses were fairly light if you did qualify. Assistant Managers can be promoted to Store Managers, but Store Managers never get promoted to District Managers. Negative culture overall, with very low morale, leading to high turnover.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Upper management fails

      Aug 13, 2018 - Property Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Day hours, alone most of the time

      Cons

      At first I thought this was a great company. Then I noticed that assistants make the same money as property managers. Your property manager title means nothing. You have no permissions to do anything, simply doesn't trust it's employees to make decisions for customers or anything else. You have to go to your district manager for literally everything, and it takes him like weeks to get back to you. So you have continuous issues that are rarely solved. There is rate hikes all the time and you have to deal with angry customers. Your bonus is contingent on you getting Google reviews and a certain amount of rentals. Nearly unattainable. The sales pitches are a joke, no one talks like that to people. You are forced to work 6 days a week, sometimes you don't get a day off for 14 days in a row. The pay is low for everything they expect you to do. Property managers should make around 20 a hour for all the things they are required to do. If your property has a apartment attached they charge outrageous prices on rent. It isn't a perk to live on the property. The apartments are unaffordable for what they pay. The benefits are really exspensive for what you get paid as well. I wouldnt mind making 12 a hour if I got the apartment as a benefit. But you charge over 1000 a month... who can afford that on those wages?

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Look for work elsewhere.

      Aug 11, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Stillwater, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Most customers were good people. * Watch out for fake positive employment reviews job boards. This company is struggling to fill positions with responsible adults, so the district trainers who post job openings also post fake positive reviews (like fake customer reviews). * Some folks do stay working here for a while. They are comfortable with extremely toxic environment.

      Cons

      * You are expected to screw over customers. This company's customer service motto is "If they don't like it, let them walk". * Some district managers have no customer service experience. * Some district trainers get their positions through lies. They will lie about you if you will appear to be a threat to their position or your IQ is above 2 digits. * Employees are expected to write fake customer reviews because this company believes it will make them come up on top of search results. * No accountability, only random blame and chaos.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good pay, corporate doesnt care

      Jun 22, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You work alone. Good pay, great tenants. My district manager was awesome.

      Cons

      No backing from corporate, policy changes with no knowledge. Insurance is extemly high. They do not care about tenants. Senior district manager sets you up to fail.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Absolutely the worst place to work

      Mar 8, 2017 - Property Manager in Ardmore, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Customer, nothing else is a pro for this company

      Cons

      District managers don't care, they don't care about the customers, this company is all about the all Mighty Dollar. Every employee is replaceable and they treat you as such.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      not for me

      Jan 11, 2017 - Manager in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      day time hours,worked with a few good people, able to take care of personel stuff while at work

      Cons

      low pay stess level high, in district managers own words corporate office is paranoid,lot of back biting district does not let you manage property allows favorite employees to break policy, you can do what is right for the store and she will step in and do the opposite then when money and customer is lost blame you

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Too Many Locations Assigned

      Sep 1, 2016 - District Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed dress code. Great property managers. Good software platforms for running all aspects of position. Good equipment provided: laptop, cell phone, etc.

      Cons

      Executive and home office staff create policy changes without thoroughly testing and implement at properties and then have to cancel them. Spread very thin: each district manager carries the weight of two employees.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Applying for a position

      Jul 5, 2016 - Property Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great location, atmosphere, clean, on site mgr knows the facts but needs customer service skills improved

      Cons

      I applied for a position with this company a month ago. i have over a year of on site property management experience and also have the same in the software this company uses so there really isn't any training that needs to be done. I was sent out to "secret shop" at the location. This was performed and I called the district manager back to let her know how things went but as usual I had to leave a message and never heard back which I'm not surprised because when calling I am always having to leave a message and as usual, never getting a call back. They must not really need anyone

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Dissatisfied

      Sep 28, 2014 - Manager in Dayton, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I learned how much stress I can take.

      Cons

      no support,lot of gossip,other employees will throw you under the bus,District Manager ignores problems,customers very unhappy with condition of property,Company motto is giving back to community saw none of this.Glad I found another job.Saw employees who did their job lose their job because of lies told by other employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Hated It

      Jan 19, 2011 - Associate Manager in Dayton, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed working with the Manager at the location I was at, He showed many ways to do things ,unlike in training everything was difficult,He always split the work up fairly.He has a lot of experience and knowledge why he stays with this company i do not know.

      Cons

      1-Training was a joke Trainer spent most of the time talking about her past sexual experiences,addiction to pills or leaving to go home or run personnel errands,District Manager acted like I did not exist,The location I worked at the Manager was always decent to me treated me good,never just gave me the grunt work,he always split the work up fairly,I was there for a year I saw him go out of his way to take care of things,other employees acted like I did not matter,constant backbiting or lying,This job was not for me you deal with people who are in bad life situations and are very angry and emotional,I do not know how the Manager dealt with it,he always said you have to deal with what life gives you and most of the time it comes down to personnel responsibility,I never understood how he could deal with Management coming in make changes or do one of their many rent increases and come down on him for vacates or a customer going to another place for storage because of price when the customers always respected him and many stayed because of him,I finally left because I felt the other employees had zero respect and I felt that backbiting and lies came before doing your job.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Simply Self Storage Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Simply Self Storage? Share Your Experiences

    Simply Self Storage logo
    or