KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Simply Self Storage

Is this your company?

Simply Self Storage

Add a Review

Simply Self Storage Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Jan 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 109 reviews

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Simply Self Storage CEO Kyle Schmutzler (no image)
Kyle Schmutzler
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "The hours are good, you basically are your own boss, some of the customers are great customers, if you have a strong district then you in the good(in 6 reviews)

  • "You work alone most of the time(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "You have to go to your district manager for literally everything, and it takes him like weeks to get back to you(in 11 reviews)

  • "working sundays you only get 4 hours which shorts you from getting 40 hours each week, low pay, many responsibilities for what they actually pay(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "low pay"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Relaxed Environment

      Jan 16, 2021 - Property Manager in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Chill job, not too strenuous

      Cons

      working sundays you only get 4 hours which shorts you from getting 40 hours each week, low pay, many responsibilities for what they actually pay

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Simply Self Storage Response

      HR Director

      Thank you for your response and feedback. As for our benefits offerings, we strive to review our offerings on a regular basis to ensure that we are competitive with other employers. Our benefits offerings are price competitive for our employees. Coverage levels do vary upon the plan selected along with the individual's requirements. We encourage you to contact HR if you have any questions regarding plan selection and how you can select a different plan during open enrollment that works better for you.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Nothing but lies and lies

      Aug 5, 2020 - Assistant Manager in Wyoming, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you consider low pay and 35 hours a week as full time then these are definitely pros

      Cons

      Lied about many things!! Not 40 hours a week, expected to use own vehicle to make bank deposits and other errands with no compensation, clock out for 30 min lunch but if customers come you must help them, was told every other weekend off which was a complete lie (1 weekend off in over 3 months, low pay for a company that makes massive profits with small overhead, pathetic “bonuses” with unrealistic goals to earn them, work alone most days, I could go on from here

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Simply Self Storage Response

      HR Director

      We regret to hear that your experience at Simply did not meet your expectations. We encourage all of our team members to contact their manager, a member of senior management or Human Resources to discuss any workplace concerns they may have. As an organization, we regularly review our compensation, job duties and benefits package to ensure that we are competitive with industry benchmarks. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    3. Talk anonymously with Real Estate professionals
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      This place sucks! The good reviews are lies from HR or that schmuck Kurt O'Brien.

      Feb 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You work alone most of the time

      Cons

      Everything! Low pay bad benefits long hours. Expected to use own vehicle with no compensation. To many chiefs and chiefs steal your ideas to pass off as own. If storage wasn't an idiot proof way to make money these guys would be out of business.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      not for me

      Jan 11, 2017 - Manager in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      day time hours,worked with a few good people, able to take care of personel stuff while at work

      Cons

      low pay stess level high, in district managers own words corporate office is paranoid,lot of back biting district does not let you manage property allows favorite employees to break policy, you can do what is right for the store and she will step in and do the opposite then when money and customer is lost blame you

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Upper management fails

      Aug 13, 2018 - Property Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Day hours, alone most of the time

      Cons

      At first I thought this was a great company. Then I noticed that assistants make the same money as property managers. Your property manager title means nothing. You have no permissions to do anything, simply doesn't trust it's employees to make decisions for customers or anything else. You have to go to your district manager for literally everything, and it takes him like weeks to get back to you. So you have continuous issues that are rarely solved. There is rate hikes all the time and you have to deal with angry customers. Your bonus is contingent on you getting Google reviews and a certain amount of rentals. Nearly unattainable. The sales pitches are a joke, no one talks like that to people. You are forced to work 6 days a week, sometimes you don't get a day off for 14 days in a row. The pay is low for everything they expect you to do. Property managers should make around 20 a hour for all the things they are required to do. If your property has a apartment attached they charge outrageous prices on rent. It isn't a perk to live on the property. The apartments are unaffordable for what they pay. The benefits are really exspensive for what you get paid as well. I wouldnt mind making 12 a hour if I got the apartment as a benefit. But you charge over 1000 a month... who can afford that on those wages?

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      former emplyee

      Apr 10, 2013 - Assistant Manager in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Job-Terrible Company.,got to meet a lot of good people

      Cons

      Heavy workload,low pay,lot of backbiting,I saw this company first as a customer,then after i was laid off i applied for a job,Company runs on a shoe string budget,rvp is oblivious to real problems,If you are liked you get what ever you want ,a lot of favoritism,I had to work different stores saw some Managers treated very well others treated badly because someone told Senior Management something lot of gossiping,,if you complain you are called out wrote up,This company out sources their Human Resources so if you have a complaint it falls on deaf ears,Luckily a customer told me about an opening with another company and I was able to leave.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      It pays the bills and is a good job to have while going to school or looking for another job.

      Sep 12, 2010 - Property Manager in Warren, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The tenants are friendly, certain times of the month are slow and relaxed. Good mix of physical work and office work.

      Cons

      Low pay, poor benefits. High stress during certain times of the month.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Hard Work, very small rewards

      Nov 14, 2012 - Property Manager in Matteson, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Keep very busy. Work with Customers working out account problems. Keep very busy with tasks at one of the larger area Chicago Suburbs location

      Cons

      Very Low pay. Most times only one manager working. almost no help. sometimes a second manager, not that often. Poor training or lack of.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      manager

      Oct 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      you don't take work home with you. you don't have a boss look over your shoulder every 5 mins. you work alone most day.

      Cons

      pay is low. no sick days. work alone most days.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    11. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Get out while you can

      Dec 14, 2010 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The place is horrible. The pay is horrible and manage is a joke

      Cons

      Low pay crappy benefits !

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Simply Self Storage Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Simply Self Storage? Share Your Experiences

    Simply Self Storage logo
    or