KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Simply Self Storage

Is this your company?

Simply Self Storage

Add a Review

Simply Self Storage Employee Reviews about "work alone"

Updated Oct 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 109 reviews

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Simply Self Storage CEO Kyle Schmutzler (no image)
Kyle Schmutzler
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "The hours are good, you basically are your own boss, some of the customers are great customers, if you have a strong district then you in the good(in 6 reviews)

  • "You work alone most of the time(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "You have to go to your district manager for literally everything, and it takes him like weeks to get back to you(in 11 reviews)

  • "working sundays you only get 4 hours which shorts you from getting 40 hours each week, low pay, many responsibilities for what they actually pay(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "work alone"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good, steady job

      Oct 9, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Usually work alone; I get to determine my work pace throughout the day; feels like running my own small business

      Cons

      Hard to predict busy times; better for someone that wants a steady, nice pace but not interested in moving up

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Okay Job But Not The Greatest

      Oct 2, 2020 - Store Manager in Memphis, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Basically no direct supervision the majority of the time - Can be pretty laid back during the middle of the month

      Cons

      - You work alone most of the time, so if you need to call out sick, it's difficult - You have to deal with rent increases and how customers feel about it - Overtime was basically required, and you didn't get two days off in one week except in rare occasions

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Simply Self Storage Response

      HR Director

      Thank you for your valuable feedback. Like most businesses, our staffing levels are determined at each location based upon the business volume. Full-time team members are regularly scheduled five days a week, with two days off to maintain a work-life balance. There may be an opportunity for team members to work overtime, if the hours are available and the employee is willing to work the hours. We do encourage all team members to work with their manager if any scheduling concerns arise. Thank you again for your feedback!

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Nothing but lies and lies

      Aug 5, 2020 - Assistant Manager in Wyoming, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you consider low pay and 35 hours a week as full time then these are definitely pros

      Cons

      Lied about many things!! Not 40 hours a week, expected to use own vehicle to make bank deposits and other errands with no compensation, clock out for 30 min lunch but if customers come you must help them, was told every other weekend off which was a complete lie (1 weekend off in over 3 months, low pay for a company that makes massive profits with small overhead, pathetic “bonuses” with unrealistic goals to earn them, work alone most days, I could go on from here

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Simply Self Storage Response

      HR Director

      We regret to hear that your experience at Simply did not meet your expectations. We encourage all of our team members to contact their manager, a member of senior management or Human Resources to discuss any workplace concerns they may have. As an organization, we regularly review our compensation, job duties and benefits package to ensure that we are competitive with industry benchmarks. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      This place sucks! The good reviews are lies from HR or that schmuck Kurt O'Brien.

      Feb 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You work alone most of the time

      Cons

      Everything! Low pay bad benefits long hours. Expected to use own vehicle with no compensation. To many chiefs and chiefs steal your ideas to pass off as own. If storage wasn't an idiot proof way to make money these guys would be out of business.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good pay, corporate doesnt care

      Jun 22, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You work alone. Good pay, great tenants. My district manager was awesome.

      Cons

      No backing from corporate, policy changes with no knowledge. Insurance is extemly high. They do not care about tenants. Senior district manager sets you up to fail.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      former employee

      Feb 2, 2015 - Property Manager in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      hours are good,got to meet different kind of people

      Cons

      high stress at times,bonus plan is a joke,company has money to take executives on cruises but cannot give raises,district will play employees against each other tell you one thing then tell another employee something different,budgets are tight no money for repairs,you usually work alone ,then when something is not done you are called out.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      manager

      Oct 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      you don't take work home with you. you don't have a boss look over your shoulder every 5 mins. you work alone most day.

      Cons

      pay is low. no sick days. work alone most days.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Simply Self Storage Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Simply Self Storage? Share Your Experiences

    Simply Self Storage logo
    or