Simpson Thacher Reviews | Glassdoor

Simpson Thacher Reviews

Updated 22 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
57%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Simpson Thacher CEO William R. Dougherty
William R. Dougherty
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Simpson is a strong law firm that works with the biggest banks and private equity firms(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great management, good work environment and exciting work(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and not a lot of appreciation from senior partners(in 16 reviews)

  • "Definitely be prepared to spend a lot of time in the office - not much of a work/life balance(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Complex and rewarding work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate in New York, NY

    I worked at Simpson Thacher full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Extensive range of experiences

    Cons

    Hours can be challenging at times

    Simpson Thacher2019-10-19
  2. "Good Company Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Securtiy Officer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Simpson Thacher full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    International Law firm with a good reputation around the World.

    Cons

    No job advancement, poor management who like to micro manage, admin staff not appreciated and not well paid.

    Advice to Management

    Do better and trust your staff more.

    Simpson Thacher2019-10-22
  3. "SQL DBA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - SQL Database Administrator 

    I worked at Simpson Thacher full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very good environment to grow

    Cons

    I like to help people.

    Simpson Thacher2019-06-29
  4. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Simpson Thacher

    Pros

    easy work, simple, good work life balance

    Cons

    bit dull, boring, no room for growth

    Simpson Thacher2018-09-25
  5. "Big law"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Simpson Thacher

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, and collegial work environment

    Cons

    Hours, unpredictability of working, training

    Simpson Thacher2018-08-17
  6. "Run!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Simpson Thacher full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits! Good medical when I worked there.

    Cons

    You'll need all your health benefits...

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue...quickly

    Simpson Thacher2018-09-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Simpson Thacher full-time

    Pros

    Simpson is a strong law firm that works with the biggest banks and private equity firms. The people are generally considerate and vacations are respected.

    Cons

    Simpson staffs leanly so the hours are long and clients are demanding. The company is big and you can get lost in the hierarchy.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people and staff more to deals. Teach everyone management skills. Most employees are good at performing their own roles but are not efficient managers.

    Simpson Thacher2018-08-22
  8. "Best in Big Law"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Attorney in New York, NY
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Simpson Thacher full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing and friendly people; subsidized cafeteria

    Cons

    The hours and lack of control over schedule

    Simpson Thacher2018-07-27
  9. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Simpson Thacher full-time

    Pros

    Training, reputation, collegiality, great way to start your career.

    Cons

    Demanding, typical big firm experience.

    Simpson Thacher2018-07-24
  10. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Simpson Thacher full-time

    Pros

    Very smart lawyers in a professional and collegial environment.

    Cons

    Occasional long and unpredictable hours typical of any Big Law firm.

    Simpson Thacher2018-07-17
Found 100 reviews