Sinclair Community College Reviews | Glassdoor

Sinclair Community College Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Sinclair Community College CEO Steven L. Johnson
Steven L. Johnson
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "They are a great employers with great benefits(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Offices not close to parking, no seniority preference, no benefits for part time with no chance of advancement to full time(in 7 reviews)

  • "No benefits for part time workers(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sinclair Community College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with people who have a mission & truly want to see students succeed--but balancing that drive for the mission with a sustainable work/life balance for staff. On my first day on the job I met people who had been there for decades--unheard of at so many places. There's a reason why!

    Cons

    Pay was adequate but not spectacular.

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Sinclair Community College2019-04-25
  2. "It's OK if your doing it as a side job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Adjunct Professor in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sinclair Community College part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I like helping people pursue their career goals. I enjoyed connecting with my students.

    Cons

    Adjuncts get little pay, have low priority in class assignments so you never know how many classes you will get, and there is little hope for advancement.

    Sinclair Community College2019-08-14
  3. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sinclair Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice environment and management treat you well

    Cons

    no benefits if not full time

    Advice to Management

    give opportunities to part timers

    Sinclair Community College2019-07-24
  4. "Excellent work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sinclair Community College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The staff is very helpful and supporting.

    Cons

    I see none to mention for cons.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for all the support.

    Sinclair Community College2019-02-27
  5. "Take position at your own risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative II in Dayton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sinclair Community College part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Location, parking,access to mass transportation ,Starbucks on site, safe(on campus security),plenty of opportunity to meet new and interesting people

    Cons

    Offices not close to parking, no seniority preference, no benefits for part time with no chance of advancement to full time. No cafeteria services available for staff between semesters. No easy access to restrooms. To many office politics and high supervisor turnover rate. Notorious for firing staff at holiday season without notice.

    Advice to Management

    Keep employees informed nothing is worse than not knowing. Be aware of supervisor's attendance. Less politics and more attention the actual experience of your personal and not age, younger is not always better just because you may get more time from them.

    Sinclair Community College2019-01-01
  6. "Writing another review after two weeks to restore my account access"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sinclair Community College part-time

    Pros

    Fast-paced, Engaging, Welcoming, Training process is very effective and stream-lined

    Cons

    Patrons can be a lot to handle, Switched to hiring through a temp service

    Sinclair Community College2018-11-26
  7. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sinclair Community College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, great vacation/sick time, management is pretty easy going so long as you do your job.

    Cons

    Hard to get promoted even when its due.

    Sinclair Community College2018-10-01
  8. "Administrative Asssitant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sinclair Community College part-time

    Pros

    There used to be a lot of good until upper management became more involved.

    Cons

    I think David Sinclair would be EMBARRASSED by the lack of care for employees. Find the need and the endeavor to meet it. Yeah whatever. I can't figure out what the motivation is. I really had nothing bad to say about working here until the higher ups and VPs decided to ELIMINATE positions with no explanation as they are building a new student services center. My colleagues and I were able to apply for the new... positions, but many did not get an interview. I believe the college is taking a turn for the worst in the student services and enrollment arena. It seems as though they want robots with no personalities who will not question anything that upper management does.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    be more transparent and be loyal for crying out loud. employees have dedicated their lives to this place and you will be terminating them in January with no explanation. It's obnoxious and unprofessional. This is supposed to be a safe place and an EDUCATIONAL CENTER. Not a business.

    Sinclair Community College2018-09-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Adjunct"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Lecturer (Level II) in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sinclair Community College part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A fantastic employer at least as far as my department goes, as I can speak for all departments.

    Cons

    The students often expect to be spoon-fed information and lack critical thinking skills.

    Sinclair Community College2018-07-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Aide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dayton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sinclair Community College part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My coworkers are awesome and the best part of working at Sinclair

    Cons

    no benefits for PT employees, hiring for fulltime positions is NOT merit based, but based on who you know period. Current layoffs are occurring that are being kept very hush hush. Older employees and veterans are being let go Very unethical employment practices. Loyal, long term, part time employees are treated horribly. More concern about enrollment numbers than graduation rates.

    Advice to Management

    Start appreciating the people you have working for you. Get rid of top heavy management and department heads.Maybe President Johnson could take a pay cut.

    Sinclair Community College2018-06-25
Found 72 reviews