Singapore Armed Forces Reviews | Glassdoor

Singapore Armed Forces Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 366 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Singapore Armed Forces CEO Melvyn Ong
Melvyn Ong
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long working hours, systems are inflexible at times(in 16 reviews)

  • "Pay could be better and there is a fair amount of red tape(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "NSF soldier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Corporal 

      I worked at Singapore Armed Forces full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      great organisation. spent two years as an NSF and made great friends

      Cons

      No cons, my service was great and i loved my time.

      Singapore Armed Forces2019-02-08
    • "Platoon Sergeant (Sea Soldier)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Singapore Armed Forces full-time

        Pros

        Easy going, not much to do.

        Cons

        Can get really boring at times and its 7 days in 7 days out which could be both a good and bad thing

        Singapore Armed Forces2018-05-15
      • "soldier"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Singapore Armed Forces full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        good management for the time there

        Cons

        none that I can think of

        Singapore Armed Forces2018-04-17
      • "Best place to be at"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Singapore Armed Forces full-time (Less than a year)

          Pros

          Passionate, safety-focused, great people to work with

          Cons

          Focus on conscripted servicemen over regulars

          Singapore Armed Forces2018-03-29
        • "Curriculum Quality Assistant"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Singapore Armed Forces full-time

          Pros

          Ability to work on individual projects from time to time Military setting provides a certain level of structure

          Cons

          Highly regimented office life Superiors give little freedom on ways to complete a task

          Singapore Armed Forces2018-03-30
        • "Ord lo"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at Singapore Armed Forces full-time

            Pros

            Get fit and bound with batchmates

            Cons

            Two years spent, sometimes confusing instructions

            Singapore Armed Forces2017-11-24
          • "Review"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at Singapore Armed Forces

            Pros

            Great training and overseas exercises are interesting

            Cons

            hierarchical, huge variance in quality of leaders

            Singapore Armed Forces2017-10-18
          • "National Service"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Doesn't Recommend
            Neutral Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at Singapore Armed Forces full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Meet New People Learned New Things

            Cons

            Required for citizenship Decent payment Takes away two years

            Singapore Armed Forces2017-06-01
          • "Alright"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Doesn't Recommend
            Negative Outlook
            Disapproves of CEO

            I worked at Singapore Armed Forces full-time

            Pros

            Free food, free accomodations. It's not like any singaporean has a choice. It did give me a sense of responsibility though.

            Cons

            All Singaporeans are forced into the army. The work environment is pretty strict. After awhile, it gets better. Stay clear.

            Advice to Management

            Please value your soldiers more to make them feel more special. If you do, more singaporeans will be willing to help out.

            Singapore Armed Forces2017-01-12
          • Helpful (1)

            "Lieutenant"

            StarStarStarStarStar
              Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
              Recommends
              Neutral Outlook
              Approves of CEO

              I worked at Singapore Armed Forces full-time

              Pros

              - Great chance to interact with people from different backgrounds - Gain valuable experience in people management and operations planning - Chances for overseas deployment

              Cons

              - The work might be repetitive after working for a period of time in the company - Depending on department, one might not get a lot of autonomy or flexibility in making decisions

              Advice to Management

              - Top-down relationships between superiors and junior staff can be improved - Allow for greater flexibility when implementing activities or events

              Singapore Armed Forces2016-11-17
            Found 366 reviews