Singapore Institute of Management Pte Reviews | Glassdoor

Singapore Institute of Management Pte Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Officer in Singapore
    Recommends

    I have been working at Singapore Institute of Management Pte full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of staff benefit

    Cons

    none have. All provided ok

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Singapore Institute of Management Pte2019-08-19
  2. "Not a bad place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Executive in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Singapore Institute of Management Pte full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Organisation is stable and offers an average base employment benefits package to employees.

    Cons

    While employees have opportunities to take up workshops to expand their skill repertoire, promotion within the department is slow and work offers very little learning opportunity outside of following regulations.

    Singapore Institute of Management Pte2019-07-03
  3. "Programme Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Singapore Institute of Management Pte full-time

    Pros

    Good benefit, work life balance

    Cons

    Office Politics, creativity is never encouraged

    Singapore Institute of Management Pte2019-05-27
  4. "Messed up management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Singapore Institute of Management Pte full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hardly any worth mentioning at all.

    Cons

    Management team is messed up - Directors only interested in playing politics against one another. No foresight; not dynamic.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the existing directors, especially unethical and political ones.

    Singapore Institute of Management Pte2019-06-01
  5. Helpful (6)

    "An institution of rigidity, hierarchy and convention"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SIM Global Education in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Singapore Institute of Management Pte full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    SIM provided quite a friendly environment with good staff benefits such as annual leave, family leave and training credits. Apart from a few awesome colleagues, the buddy system in place had introduced me to a fellow colleague turned good friend whom I remained very thankful for. In my role, I was given some level of autonomy and a range of portfolio to shape me into a more all-rounded performer.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, there is a high proportion of unmotivated staff who are highly resistant to change and unreceptive of open communication as a result of long-stemmed culture vested in conflicting self-interests, rigid bureaucracy and outdated conventions. Due to a lack of synergy and alignment of business objectives set by leaders, departments tend to work in silos fulfilling their own agenda instead of collaborating...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Align on business objectives and set a culture of collaboration between and within departments. Drive a truly performance-driven culture by retaining, hiring and rewarding the good performers while doing away with the bad ones. Provide the right departments with required resources in order for them to deliver, expecting more while giving less does not serve any purpose.

    Singapore Institute of Management Pte2018-10-12
  6. "Programme Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Singapore Institute of Management Pte full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexi Benefits - Bonus - 9-5pm

    Cons

    - top down approach - rigid structure - too much office politics - no progression - does not recognise effort and "favouritism"

    Singapore Institute of Management Pte2018-09-14
  7. "progression is slow, but good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Executive in Clementi New Town, West
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Singapore Institute of Management Pte full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    benefits are good. felexi benefit 400 a year . 2 days extra family leave on top of your annual leave. Chinese new year and Christmas eve the company will shut down

    Cons

    progression is very slow .from officer lvl to executive lvl need director’s approval maybe a good learning ground for fresh grad

    Singapore Institute of Management Pte2018-09-03
  8. "Worked there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Singapore Institute of Management Pte part-time

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Bad management, no care for workers.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to communicate with people working for you better and listen.

    Singapore Institute of Management Pte2018-08-13
  9. "Interned at SIMGE Career Development Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Singapore Institute of Management Pte

    Pros

    Good opportunity for a student to ease into office working environment, and to explore career interests. Staff are there to support interns in event planning and giving career advice. A great way to make full use of time after classes, since working schedule caters to students who are currently studying. Interns have opportunities to be event committee ICs, and promotions occur quarterly.

    Cons

    Events may occur back to back, can be stressful if student intern is managing assignments at the same time

    Singapore Institute of Management Pte2018-05-03
  10. "Good college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Singapore Institute of Management Pte full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The college has a good environment

    Cons

    Need better staff for few subjects

    Singapore Institute of Management Pte2018-05-02
Found 29 reviews