Singapore Polytechnic Reviews | Glassdoor

Singapore Polytechnic Reviews

Updated Jan 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Singapore Polytechnic Principal and CEO  Tan Hang Cheong  (no image)
Tan Hang Cheong
16 Ratings
  1. "Nice Staff, Horrible Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Singapore Polytechnic full-time

    Pros

    Working level staff are nice and there is respect for each other

    Cons

    Management seems clueless on the kind of culture to promote. They do not walk the talk at all. Staff are either confused or demoralised due to policies set in an ivory tower. And let’s not get started on the CE.

    Singapore Polytechnic2019-07-26
  2. "PT Lecturer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Singapore Polytechnic part-time

    Pros

    Supportive full-time staff that are passionate about teaching

    Cons

    No cons that stand out

    Singapore Polytechnic2019-07-05
  3. "Great school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Singapore Polytechnic full-time

    Pros

    Good food courts Mostly good teachers

    Cons

    Large school, it may be difficult to navigate

    Singapore Polytechnic2019-06-04
  4. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Singapore Polytechnic full-time

    Pros

    Great culture like family culture.

    Cons

    Need to find a good balance in between teaching and committee works.

    Singapore Polytechnic2019-05-16
  5. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Singapore Polytechnic full-time

    Pros

    Proximity to MRT Nice students

    Cons

    Career progression is very minimum

    Singapore Polytechnic2019-06-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Those who teach must now do (more)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lecturer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Singapore Polytechnic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Full fledged benefits of working for a stat board/ government body

    Cons

    The student numbers are dropping (low birth rate and international students are less welcomed) and now, lecturers no longer teach. We become SMEs outsourced business consultants; we take on low to no budget projects and convince students to work on them for free (while taking school fees from them); And we have to ensure that we are as competitive as the industry practitioners by signing up to be seconded to partners as interns.

    Show More
    Singapore Polytechnic2019-05-01
  7. "School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Singapore Polytechnic full-time

    Pros

    Good school to study in. Many CCA

    Cons

    Some of the facilities are very old.

    Singapore Polytechnic2019-04-18
  8. "Adjunct Lecturer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Singapore Polytechnic part-time

    Pros

    Supportive management, well designed classes, great environment.

    Cons

    Great environment to work and get pay, perhaps pay for part time communications and humanities teacher is a bit low

    Singapore Polytechnic2019-03-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Career Progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Singapore Polytechnic full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Helpful colleagues, depending on school/ department.

    Cons

    Many inadequate management staff who mismanage reporting staff.

    Advice to Management

    Yes men are preferred rather than staff who are capable. Select management staff based more on what their reporting staff say about them, rather than who fthey report to say about them. SP cannot progress if staff are encouraged to lick boots.

    Singapore Polytechnic2019-03-08
  10. "Corporate Communications Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Singapore Polytechnic full-time

    Pros

    Ground level staff from other academic schools are good collaborators to drive SP to excellence l.

    Cons

    Reactive Management to issues. Lack of Trust in Staff.

    Singapore Polytechnic2019-03-04
Found 58 reviews