Sir Robert McAlpine Reviews | Glassdoor

Sir Robert McAlpine Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Sir Robert McAlpine CEO Paul Hamer
Paul Hamer
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, great projects and great working conditions(in 7 reviews)

  • "Very good benefits while working at the company such as driving scheme and subsistence payments(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and stress - indicative of the industry(in 7 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is not really considered but this is the case for most construction firms in London(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Sir Robert McAlpine

    Pros

    Learnt a lot about the industry and working environment.

    Cons

    Not there long enough to find any.

    Sir Robert McAlpine2019-03-18
  2. "This company deserve all the good things in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sir Robert McAlpine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Respect Performance Training Rewards Secure Family recognized

    Cons

    Hi. I'm pleased to let you know that I'm working with McAlpine from almost 6 years and I've been very happy to offer all my energy and knowledge when was required to support my team. I've been part of the Scotland and London Regions and I can confirm that the people’s professionalism and performance are well presented and appreciate and recognized in the same time. I can let you know that I learn that this...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you do the best in your job you will receive much more in exchange

    Sir Robert McAlpine2019-08-07
  3. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sir Robert McAlpine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for on Icon construction projects,

    Cons

    IT systems are slightly dated but still relevant to deliver projects

    Advice to Management

    Invest in new IT systems

    Sir Robert McAlpine2019-07-01
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Construction Manager 

    I have been working at Sir Robert McAlpine full-time

    Pros

    Large company, great benefits, lot of opportunity to learn

    Cons

    None really, just weigh up want you want big vs small company

    Sir Robert McAlpine2019-06-25
  5. "Careful of the dinosaurs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sir Robert McAlpine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Majority of people on a personal level are great to work with. Good benefits The new management is more a corporate feel which doesnt suit everyone but alot of plodders need this wake up call

    Cons

    The old guard/dinosaurs/lifers have far to much control. Its like having a spoilt child that runs to mum and daddy when they do not get their own way. The Family 'buddies' is far outdated. Largely the same people are on inflated salaries and managers do not batter a eyelid at their work output The same people have far to much control over areas that they are not experts in. This leads projects down the wrong paths and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop listening based on length of service and pay attention to staff based on skill Stop having the family dictate who is classed as untouchable

    Sir Robert McAlpine2019-06-26
  6. "Proud to work for SRM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sir Robert McAlpine full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Supportive approach, with good benefits and opportunities for development.

    Cons

    Recent shift from the classic family structure to a more ‘corporate’ feel.

    Sir Robert McAlpine2019-06-05
  7. "Changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sir Robert McAlpine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great portfolio, reputation and aspiration

    Cons

    Communication is poor, lots of change

    Sir Robert McAlpine2019-05-30
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sir Robert McAlpine full-time

    Pros

    Good pay scale, great open attitude to problems

    Cons

    Limited advancement opportunities, a lot of lifers

    Advice to Management

    More regional positions

    Sir Robert McAlpine2019-04-13
  9. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sir Robert McAlpine full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family run and therefore heavily promotes health and safety as well as ethics All my McAlpine co-workers we’re friendly and approachable

    Cons

    Long hours and stress - indicative of the industry

    Advice to Management

    Strive to improve work life-balance if possible.

    Sir Robert McAlpine2019-04-05
  10. "Family owned and run business where people count"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woking, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sir Robert McAlpine full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, family feel, friendly staff, great benefits, good pay, collaborative and secure.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind right now.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Sir Robert McAlpine2019-03-26
Found 57 reviews