KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

SiriusXM

Is this your company?

SiriusXM

Add a Review

SiriusXM Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Oct 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 769 reviews

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
SiriusXM CEO Jennifer Witz
Jennifer Witz
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment, people are friendly(in 33 reviews)

  • "Great people and good opportunity(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "terrible upper management, terrible schedule(in 22 reviews)

  • "No benefits if you're part time but that's most companies(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about SiriusXM

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of SiriusXM and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "part time"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      WORTH IT!

      Oct 6, 2020 - Associate Producer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get the best quality studio work and get to have a lot of fun experiences working in radio

      Cons

      Part Time pay means that the paychecks ae not as big as you would want it to be. Also, long journey to Full Time status

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Great first internship

      Mar 23, 2020 - Intern Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers are extremely welcoming, fun, and make a summer internship enjoyable. Due to the nature of a part-time internship, it's hard to get very involved in the day-to-day functions, but I got to contribute to interesting projects and overall had a great experience.

      Cons

      Since all of the interns are spread out in different departments, and work part-time so are there on different days of the week, it's hard to form connections with other people in the internship program.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Intern

      --

      Jul 10, 2020 - Software Engineer(Internship) in Irving, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall good learning and nice work environment

      Cons

      Part time internship only and pay was less

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for!

      Feb 6, 2020 - Sports Play-By-Play Board Operator in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a fun work environment. Very friendly people.

      Cons

      No benefits if you're part time but that's most companies.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Intern, less than 1 year

      Great place to pick up experience

      Sep 17, 2019 - Sirius XM 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful people who help grow your skills in your field

      Cons

      Only part time opportunities offered

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Little opportunity to move ahead

      Mar 13, 2019 - Sports Play By Play Board Operator in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Listening to sports. Easy commute if you live in the metro area.

      Cons

      I worked as a part time play by play board operator in the sports department for several years. While I was there I never received a raised. There were very few opportunities to advance from my current position. Never received feedback on the quality of my work. Never offered Professional Development opportunities. Worked many odd hours to broadcast foreign sports feeds. "Clocked in - Clock out" sort of position.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Music Programming Internship

      Dec 19, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great name to have on your resume. 90% of the time as an intern, you will be treated like an employee and not asked to do menial tasks like fetching coffee. As a programming intern, you will learn their editing systems, how to create show logs and assistant produce a show. Celebrity sightings are an every day luxury.

      Cons

      UNPAID. It is also extremely difficult to get a part time job w the company after your internship. The hours I worked were scattered because of my class schedule, so I often worked late hours, including weekends. When I wasn't in the studio, I was mostly working alone and had little interaction with other interns. I often felt very unappreciated by the team I was associated with. I was complimented by people working on other channels for my diligent work ethic and was poached by one channel to intern with them the following semester, but it was frustrating that my own boss failed to notice my hard work. Everyone seemed anxious and frazzled daily. The vibe I generally got from the paid employees was, that they were overworked and underpaid - which was a huge red flag.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Over-worked and Underappreciated

      May 30, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cool building and location. A recognized brand, great for resume. Fun employees and friendly environment, including management. Free Starbucks coffee machine and snacks.

      Cons

      In my experience the overall morale of the employees is extremely low, which is unfortunate because there are a lot of exceptional people working there at all levels. Outdated marketing structure. Cares more about big names and networks than quality of product. Most of the employees doing the real work are underpaid and work long hours, going above and beyond. There is very little opportunity for advancement and constant deception about promotions and raises, which never actually happen. Equipment is old and outdated and employees have to share workspaces, mostly cubicles, and computers in rotation. HR is inefficient and disconnected with management so this seems to be the main cause for lack of long-term career options. Part-Time employees are over-worked and don't see opportunities for advancement, and unfortunately are not trained adequately.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good on the Resume

      Dec 11, 2015 - Associate Producer in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked for Sirius for about two years now and it really is a great experience. You'll have a hard time finding a better opportunity in regards to getting experience producing a national radio show. It's also great to build relationships with co-workers as well as experts and analysts in your genre.

      Cons

      Very little opportunity to move up even if your performing at a high level. In my experience I have been Part Time for two year even though I have excelled at the tasks entrusted to me. It can be frustrating at times to see others be brought in ahead of you after putting in years of hard work and knowing you or other already within the company are fully capable of excelling in that position.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      SiriusXM has a great work environment with friendly people.

      Dec 4, 2011 - Intern - Music Programming in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are very open and willing to talk about career development. Interns do actual work, not just busy work or food running. I have had the liberty of choosing areas that I would like to focus on. My mentors have been open to my interests and have let me work in specific areas and departments based on my interests. Though there is a strict 20hr per week requirement, they have been flexible when necessary.

      Cons

      There are more part time opportunities than full time opportunities.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

    Popular Careers with SiriusXM Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at SiriusXM? Share Your Experiences

    or