SirsiDynix Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
88%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
SirsiDynix CEO Bill Davison
Bill Davison
100 Ratings
Pros
  • "Relaxed, professional atmosphere; Great work/life balance; My manager has a fantastic, progressive management style(in 13 reviews)

  • "Flexible work environment with growth opportunity(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "High deductible health insurance , but SD does match HSA contributions(in 7 reviews)

  • "Very high deductible plans, next to zero matching contributions for the HSAs that are supposed to help offset the costs(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Rewarding Career at SirsiDynix"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Business Development Management in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SirsiDynix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    * Opportunity to make a difference, working with libraries to support their users. * Purpose driven culture, connecting communities * Encouraged engagement with the executive team, everyone has a voice. * Experienced employees celebrating 10, 20, and 30 year anniversaries.

    Cons

    * Not enough time to do everything that could be done.

    Continue reading
    SirsiDynix2020-02-15
  2. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great, heard working coworkers, work-home life balance, working on something that actually matters and is making a difference

    Cons

    Short staffed = extra workload

    Continue reading
    SirsiDynix2020-04-30
  3. "Great Work Life Balance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great compnay to work for. They care about their employees and want to make sure that work and home is balanced. They support new and creative ideas to help drive the business. Management is very open when it comes to communicating.

    Cons

    Not enough staff due to budget constraints. There are so many projects and ideas and not enough people to bring them to flourishen.

    Continue reading
    SirsiDynix2020-04-08
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Year 6 - time for another review"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Sirsi has an amazing life/work balance culture. Taking time off, working from home when needed, leaving a bit early and making up time later are things you almost don't even need to ask for as long as the work gets done. Middle management sincerely cares about their team members. The culture here is to try and do everything you can to help employees succeed rather than getting rid of any employee that isn't performing perfectly. This approach has drawbacks too as you can see in other reviews. Some departments offer full time remote positions allowing you to relocate just about anywhere if needed. I have to disagree quite strongly with the previous reviewer who was trying to place the blame for the slow development time of some products on 'remote workers'. I actually work on the team that makes the product that the reviewer mentions and remote workers have nothing to do with the release time (the team has a single remote employee), nor does it have anything to do with under performing engineers. I do share that reviewer's concerns about the end result however and I'll mention that in the cons below.

    Cons

    One of ongoing issues we have at Sirsi is that we sell a couple of very old products based on outdated technology that take a very long time to roll out to customers each release. Sales really likes to try and push the limits of those products and promises the world to the customers to win business and as such, the dev teams have to constantly add new features to these old products rather than working on new, more modern applications and technologies. Combine that with the very long time it takes to get our customers to update to the new technology and you end up with a never ending stream of 'must have' features that keep getting added to the end of a release cycle...which results in the 2 year long issues the previous reviewer mentioned. This can be insanely frustrating when you just want to get bugs fixed and features added and pushed out to customers quickly. It is important to note that there are only a few apps that we produce that are like that; we have a full suite of apps that are cloud based apps that have releases every two months, hence the 'agile development' label. These cloud apps make up about 90% of development staff as well. Sirsi is privately owned by investors and I don't know how else to say this - our current owners are horrific. They have no idea how tech companies work and they are pushing as hard as they can to cut any expenses to push up our 'revenue' to make us attractive to sell so they can get their money and get out. This is incredibly painful as they've cut off nearly all funds for replacing employees that leave, allowing raises and promotions, training employees, research and development, and several other critical items needed for a healthy company. Sirsi's culture of trying to save and improve employees rather than letting them go when there are performance issues has some drawbacks - you end up with several dead weight employees who are just at the edge of getting fired for several years. Eventually these employees do indeed get let go but it can take years. We also end up with lots of mediocre employees who aren't bad enough to be fired. The pay here is pretty low for the tech sector in the area. Sirsi has a hard time keeping up with the pay increase in the tech sector simply because of their customer base - there are only so many libraries out there and those libraries have a very limited budget. It isn't really an excuse, but this sector has razor thin margins. You won't be paid at top rate here, ever. You won't be totally underpaid either, the pay isn't horrible, but isn't good either. Advancement opportunities are a bit limited depending on your department and the current owners, . The health benefits are very mediocre, hovering on terrible. High deductible only plans with an HSA and a fairly small match.

    Continue reading
    SirsiDynix2020-01-23
  5. "Good Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Analyst, Associate 

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good People work here, trying their best with what they have.

    Cons

    Being owned by board of investors can be frustrating.

    SirsiDynix2020-01-23
  6. "a great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scrum Master in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The work-life balance is wonderfully flexible. Management is easy to talk to and want to solve problems.

    Cons

    The pay is lower than other software companies.

    SirsiDynix2019-12-04
  7. "Stop cutting costs at every opportunity. Sometimes you just need to spend money to make money."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Librarians are the greatest people in the world.

    Cons

    Every year the private equity company that owns SirsiDynix cuts back saying"things will go back to normal next year". And after they see that people can make things sort of work well enough they don't ever raise things back to normal. People aren't being fairly compensated; when people quit, their positions aren't being filled; and development moves at a snail-like pace. Meanwhile, the qualified people who care about doing a job are getting better jobs elsewhere and the remaining employees and customers suffer.

    Continue reading
    SirsiDynix2019-12-05
  8. "Thoughts on SirsiDynix"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Software Developer 

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance. The employees get to own and contribute to the products.

    Cons

    Pay isn't the highest. But they do have several company parties throughout the year

    SirsiDynix2019-04-24
  9. "Great Job for Entry"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Hours, Fair Pay, Quarterly Bonuses

    Cons

    Communication between departments, Case Load

    SirsiDynix2019-03-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Best Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Business Development in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have been with the company for almost 10 years and work with many who have been here longer! Everyone is united in providing the best library user experience for our customers. Professionalism, dedication, and teamwork best describes the daily experience.

    Cons

    Too many great ideas and opportunities to act upon.

    Continue reading
    SirsiDynix2019-01-18
Found 138 reviews