SirsiDynix Reviews | Glassdoor

SirsiDynix Reviews

Updated August 1, 2017
90 reviews

Filter

Filter

Current Employees

90 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Relaxed, professional atmosphere; Great work/life balance; My manager has a fantastic, progressive management style (in 11 reviews)

  • The work environment fosters growth and opportunity as the teams work together to accomplish their goals (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • The Health Insurance is kind of pricy (in 7 reviews)

  • They seem too focused on releasing new products to realize their important products are failing (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (3)

    "Best colleagues in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Lehi, UT
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I have seen over the past few years a renewed commitment to customer satisfaction. Especially for our Horizon customer base. The people I work with are dedicated at producing the best products and providing legendary customer service. Time and time again I see my colleagues work above and beyond to help libraries. The Executive Team understands the needs of the library industry. I Hope to be with SirsiDynix for many years to come.

    Cons

    High deductible health insurance , but SD does match HSA contributions.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to provide the leadership for us and the ILS industry

    SirsiDynix Response

    Mar 10, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, and for your valuable contributions to our Customer Support team. There's no doubt that our customer support analysts and engineers are the best in our industry (and... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Billing Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Coordinator in Lehi, UT
    Current Employee - Billing Coordinator in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The people have the most amazing, sincere attitude that you feel like you are with your family and friends.

    Cons

    Only 1 Ping-Pong table? well, I can't complain about that now can I? especially when they encourage you to work hard and also play hard.

    Advice to Management

    Please, please, keep doing what your doing, it is obvious that you care about your co-workers and have a deep desire for the company and the customers' well-being.

    SirsiDynix Response

    Apr 8, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! It is great to hear that you are having such an awesome experience.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent entry level position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Tons to learn in terms of testing and its processes. Also, there is much exposure to a variety of in-demand tools. Lots of back-end experience, which is desirable.

    Cons

    Pay is below market value
    Automation is still not a standard, but that's in the process of changing
    Not much else to say

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    SirsiDynix Response

    Mar 10, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for leaving this review. Automation has been a much bigger focus lately, and our executive leadership team is dedicated to moving that to the forefront of our efforts.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    atmosphere, team, manager, growth & potential, fellow employees willingness to help and teach, HR team, fun activities, YIMees

    Cons

    health insurance with high deductible, feels like voice isn't always heard, more recognition from VP or Execs would be nice

    SirsiDynix Response

    Mar 10, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for the feedback, and we are glad to see that there are so many things that you appreciate!

    It can seem like VPs and executives don't see and appreciate work at all levels of the company... More


  5. "Outstanding company with visionary leadership team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Improvement Manager in Lehi, UT
    Current Employee - Process Improvement Manager in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I really enjoy working at SirsiDynix -- the executive team gets development and what the library industry needs to remain relevant in their community. The culture within Engineering is very supportive to my professional development and what I need in my personal life. I feel like I am listened to and have influence on the decisions around me.

    Cons

    Just like any other software development company, this is a fast paced company. If you expect an office that sits on its butt as the market passes it by, you should move on to another company.

    Advice to Management

    The management team wants to meet the needs of the market and the company. The level of visibility into the strategic direction of the company is helpful and should continue.

    SirsiDynix Response

    Apr 1, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for the review, and for your contributions to our software development efforts.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Best Coworkers Ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Considerate, professional employees; comfortable atmosphere; Zen room; Reading Room; innovative development; helping libraries!

    Cons

    Overwhelming amount of information to learn (training resources are optimal; it's just a LOT to take in at first).

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work because you're obviously doing something right!

    SirsiDynix Response

    Mar 10, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for your comments!


  7. "Pretty good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SirsiDynix (More than a year)

    Pros

    You can work whenever you want or just play hearthstone all day. They have an excellent break room. They have tournaments and clubs. Mike Russell will do you right. Almost everyone is nice.

    Cons

    Upper management isn't aware of what development is doing
    They jump from new idea to new idea without committing resources
    The pay

    Advice to Management

    Do whatever you want. I'm only writing this because I have a twenty word minimum.

    SirsiDynix Response

    Apr 1, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for your comments. Of course we know you, one of our hardworking software engineers, is not playing Hearthstone all day. It is a laid-back environment, provided the necessary work is done... More

  8. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time

    Pros

    The people are amazing. The products are cutting edge. Plus... we are helping libraries.

    Cons

    For my specific position, the workload fluctuates greatly, and there is no way to predict when things will be busier or calmer.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing exactly what you've been doing.

    SirsiDynix Response

    Mar 10, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for the review. I hope your workload stabilizes - if not, at least it'll keep you on your toes!


  9. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SirsiDynix (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    it's an awesome place to work , dedicated people and very flexible

    Cons

    at this point no cons , the company can always do better but no real cons

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you're doing

    SirsiDynix Response

    Mar 10, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for the review. We are always looking for ways to do better, so please don't hesitate to make suggestions!


  10. "A great company doing great things for the library industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SirsiDynix full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    SirsiDynix is honest, fair, and constantly looking for ways to improve in the eyes of both customers and employees. I have worked at SD for more than 4 years and the growth I have seen is phenomenal. Interdepartmental communication has boomed, as well as communication with our customer base in the form of feedback to enhance our product offering. The result is a product that simply cannot be compared to any of our competition and customers that are happy to be working with us. Don't get me wrong, there are plenty of improvements still to be made to truly incorporate the best technology out there. But at the end of the day it's clear that SD is looking to be the BEST there is... not just the best in the library industry (which is frankly pretty poor in a lot of ways).

    There is lots of potential for moving up, since the library industry is small and experience in the industry carries a lot of weight. Lots of chances to try new things and to grow into bigger and better positions.

    Management listens to all employees and takes advice/new ideas seriously. Time and time again I've had the opportunity to spin off into uncharted waters to try something I thought would make a difference. Very fulfilling and exciting.

    Cons

    Not the best pay. They offer a fair wage, but I definitely think my work is worth more than they are paying me. For this reason good people keep getting drawn away into better paying positions. Actually lots of the people who get drawn away end up coming back, another testament to how much employees love it here, but wouldn't it make sense to consider industry experience more seriously and pay to keep good people?

    Upper Management is often overbooked, and therefore unavailable for feedback during crucial projects. It seems like one or two of them are stretched too thin, and therefore hold their teams back.

    Advice to Management

    As the number of employees grows shouldn't management grow as well? I've been very impressed with all levels of management at SD, I just wish my team could get feedback on a more consistent basis from upper management.

    SirsiDynix Response

    Apr 1, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for the review. You make great points in your Cons comments. It is true that great people get drawn away, but that is a reality for most companies in this area, regardless of how much they... More


Showing 90 of 119 reviews
Reset Filters