Sittercity Reviews | Glassdoor

Sittercity Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Sittercity CEO Elizabeth Harz (no image)
Elizabeth Harz
14 Ratings
  1. "Baby sitter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Babysitter in Valley Stream, NY

    I have been working at Sittercity part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Does not require much but love and attention to kids with minimal house work

    Cons

    Kids can be hard to handle at times

    Continue reading
    Sittercity2019-12-05
  2. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sitter in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sittercity part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are a lot of families on this site.

    Cons

    It is difficult to actually connect with and book families.

    Sittercity2019-11-05
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Easily find close babysitting gigs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sittercity part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I got to meet new people and work with a family I love.

    Cons

    No cons at all honestly.

    Sittercity2019-09-26
  5. "Found employment through sitter city, and I was a nanny for a great family for about 3 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Nanny 

    I worked at Sittercity part-time

    Pros

    A lot of families to choose from, good compensation if you choose the right family, and the app is easy to use

    Cons

    if you do not live near a city the app will be useless

    Sittercity2019-06-05
  6. "Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in Stoughton, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sittercity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rewarding,love teaching infants and children,it's what I want to continue to always do.

    Cons

    Just getting emails solely from sixty miles away and the job post would fit like a glove in A closer location

    Continue reading
    Sittercity2019-02-08
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Don't bank on a career here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager & Executive Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sittercity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is full of incredibly talented and kind people. It made it easy to feel part of the team immediately after starting. A lot of the departments are led by great managers, who truly care about their employees and want to see them succeed. Unlimited PTO is nice and quarterly happy hours were a fun way to socialize with your coworkers.

    Cons

    Within a few weeks at Sittercity, I was made aware of the toxic nature of the position I held. Working for the CEO was a stressful and an unpleasant work environment was set from the start. I was quickly informed that I was not the first to hold this position in a short period of time - it is essentially a revolving door. With that fact, I was not given the tools or respect to succeed. Attempts to be open about my experiences with HR were ignored. Feedback regarding my feelings and how I felt the role needed restructuring was also ignored. Furthermore, hiring someone with zero executive assistant experience, when the position has been so difficult, was offensive - I felt set up to fail. When I received an extremely unprofessional email by the CEO threatening my job, I was then strung along for a couple of months, only to be fired days before Christmas. There was no leadership, no guidance and no resources. I felt used in those last two months. Simply a means to organize the job for the next person and then purposefully fired before the holidays. I cannot speak for other departments because I know there are great people on the team, but for someone in the Office Manager/Executive Assistant role, don’t expect to be there long. It’s pretty awful to join a company you think is fantastic, to only be told shortly into it that I shouldn’t bank on a long-lasting career there.

    Continue reading
    Sittercity2019-01-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Best job I have ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sittercity full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, great work/life balance, and a real opportunity to grow by working on new and interesting things. Agile shop that practices TDD and has a real commitment to writing solid, supportable software. A true polyglot shop. Tech picks the best tool for the job and this allows for a lot of personal growth There are clear technology plans for the future and real, demonstrable progress on improving our tech stack. I am excited about the future as far as technology goes. I know that some previous reviews have talked negatively about the new leadership and I understand their frustration. But the honest truth is that the previous leadership put this company in a really bad place. Mismanagement and poor strategic planning resulted in a deficit in terms of budget. Without radical change we would not have survived. The new leadership has vision, guts, and the belief that rapid growth is possible. This is the best leadership team (marketing, product, finance, operations, tech) that I have ever seen over the years I have worked here. Undoing the mistakes of the past is painful, yes, but they are necessary. The future is very, very bright with the current leadership group at the helm.

    Cons

    The tech stack still needs love but overall we are moving in the right direction. We've learned what works and what doesn't and are poised to really explode in growth based on those learnings. Tech leadership is top-notch and fosters an incredible atmosphere. Safety is a prime concern...we are encouraged to push the envelope knowing that our management has our back. Mistakes are not punished but rather used as a learning opportunity. It's a great environment for learning and growth that at the same time allows for rapid iteration. The stack itself (ruby, golang, typescript, etc) is also very nice, allowing for rapid deployment via CI infrastructure. Sittercity tech performs rapid and continuous deploys to production. There's a lot of work still to be done but Sittercity is at the front of the community in terms of rapid and continuous deployment.

    Continue reading
    Sittercity2018-12-04
  9. "Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Sittercity full-time

    Pros

    Sittercity offers a lot of opportunity. As a developer, I work with modern technology to solve interesting problems in a business space I can be proud to work in. The people I work with are all intelligent, passionate and supportive, which is very motivating. In my time with Sittercity, I've leveled up as a developer and with process. I've had the opportunity to contribute as an individual to projects as well as the engineering team, and company.

    Cons

    We have some ambitious plans for our product which require time and resources. Management is mindful of the time people are dedicating and do what they can to limit long days, but with ambition comes a lot of fast-paced, hard-work.

    Sittercity2018-11-06
  10. "New team on the upswing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sittercity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Social good mission; interesting work; Great, wicked-smart new team; Diverse talent, female leadership; team that knows how to work hard / play hard. Free lunch every Wednesday, fully stocked fridge, table tennis, fusbol.

    Cons

    Office is a bit dated, lots of meetings

    Sittercity2018-11-05
  11. "Child care taker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Babysitter in Santa Clarita, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sittercity part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to find jobs, the site shows how much they pay per hour and the age of the kid or kids.

    Cons

    There is no clear confirmation if you got the job or not.

    Continue reading
    Sittercity2018-05-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 41 reviews