Sizmek "rocket fuel" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sizmek Employee Reviews about "rocket fuel"

Updated Apr 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
26%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
Sizmek CEO Mark Grether
Mark Grether
73 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management was not transparent in the slightest(in 14 reviews)

  • "Sizmek / Rocket Fuel Integration has not gone smoothly(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "rocket fuel"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Employees and a Promising Outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sizmek full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Intelligent and kind employees - everyone here is professional, polite and outgoing - Strong pay and bonus plans - Benefits (cheapest health insurance I've ever had, matching 401k with immediate 100% vest, ample snacks, unlimited PTO) - Work/life balance - Culture. The lovely people here make it a great place to come in every day - Employee resources: you have a dedicated HR Rep to help with everything from career development, benefits, internal issues, etc.

    Cons

    - Previous attrition from merger of Rocket Fuel and Sizmek has caused staffing issues, but this has since been corrected for the most part and attrition has remained low since I started in mid-2018 - Leadership could be more proactive around communicating organizational shifts, like the re-arrangement of certain teams/pods

    Continue reading
    Sizmek2019-02-08

    Sizmek Response

    February 12, 2019Chief People Officer

    I want to thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. It’s wonderful to read about all the positive ways you feel Sizmek drives the employee experience, and I also appreciate all the suggestions you have to ensure our organization continues to be a great place to work! Communication and transparency are always top-of-mind for both myself and the rest of our leadership team, and we will continue to drive our efforts around this throughout 2019. Thank you again for providing your feedback, and please always feel free to reach out to me directly if you have any additional thoughts that you’d like to share.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Zero love shown in the end from leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Desk Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sizmek full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Started out a great place to work with lots of perks: Great PTO/Maternity/Paternity policy, incredible co-workers (some still remain), opportunity/encouragement to expand knowledge, nice solid domain infrastructure with working tools that one might take for granted like Office 365. I felt valued in the beginning and was building my skills. I absolutely loved it!

    Cons

    Once Rocket Fuel was acquired we received new management which immediately wanted to remove computers from the domain and get rid of DCs. They got rid of Exchange/Office365 Online Exchange and moved to G-Suite and got rid of the Office Suite for much of the company including IT. Feedback and opinions from those not from legacy RF not really regarded and not welcomed much. I had a strong sense that nothing we did mattered. C-Level management was also not very transparent. News reports came out that Sizmek was in financial trouble and was going to have to find a buyer. Town halls meetings were held to dispute this and then came the ugliest April fools joke ever... on March 31st they filed for Chapter 11 and we learned that they couldn't pay us because a lender had taken control of the bank accounts. This caused a delay that lasted over a week in the end I was shown how much I mattered when I got a request to join a call with HR and notified that I along with several others was terminated as a result of the Chapter 11 issues and that I was to get no severence pay, that I needed to say my good byes and that I would lose my access shortly. I never got any well wishes from my boss which really stung but not as much as being blind sided by this and the pain associated with having to find a job after being discarded in such a manner without notice.

    Continue reading
    Sizmek2019-04-24
  3. "Solid place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sizmek full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Very competitive pay -Great in-office perks - fully stocked kitchen with snacks and drinks -Solid benefits offering -Unlimited PTO -Easy to work from home/flexibility -Really smart (and not to mention fun!) employees

    Cons

    -Still sorting through a few growing pains from the Rocket Fuel and Sizmek merge that happened in late 2017, but seems we are beyond the worst!

    Continue reading
    Sizmek2019-01-28

    Sizmek Response

    February 4, 2019Sizmek People Team

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We really appreciate the positive feedback, and are happy to see that you feel Sizmek is a great place to work. If you have any additional feedback in the future, always feel free to reach out to us!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Ad-Tech Innovators Focused on Client Success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sizmek

    Pros

    Great core technology, leadership excited about finding new ways to grow.

    Cons

    Bit disorganized since Sizmek takeover of Rocket Fuel and some things failing the expectations of former Rocket Fuel employees

    Sizmek2018-11-02

    Sizmek Response

    November 13, 2018Sizmek People Team

    Thank you for your feedback — it’s great to hear that you felt confident about both our leadership and product offering. We’re sorry that you didn’t feel Sizmek was ultimately the right place for you to continue your career, and we wish you the best in wherever your path takes you next!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (14)

    "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sizmek full-time

    Pros

    Sizmek still has some smart people to work with and learn from, though who knows how long they will stick around.

    Cons

    The merger of Sizmek and Rocket Fuel was not handled well. It has left people confused on the state of the company without transparent management, good employees feeling undervalued, and over all instability. Until management make some major changes (and for the better), I don't anticipate this company going anywhere and continue to go downhill.

    Sizmek2018-07-30

    Sizmek Response

    August 9, 2018Sizmek People Team

    Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your feedback, and wish you the best in your next endeavor.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Clash of egos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sizmek full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - The two businesses are still running and we haven't seen any major loss of customers (even if our employees are leaving) - Benefits are great - There is a high tolerance for work from home - The middle management group is aware that the first set of decisions aren't necessarily the right ones and are working towards fixing the initial integration decisions

    Cons

    - Both legacy Rocket Fuel and Sizmek have extremely different views of the MarTech space - which come in conflict with each other often - The teams that build and manage the product are almost all new to the different products (on both sides) - There is no clear communication on the future vision for the company - The different regions, globally, all seem to be on different pages about where the company is going and what we are doing - The push to sunset old brands was fast and maybe not completely thought out causing confusion and missed expectations internally and externally - Internal training is all over the place across all regions and not the same per region

    Continue reading
    Sizmek2018-02-22
  7. "Headed in the right direction!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sizmek full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Awesome, really smart, people that are really smart and committed to the challenge at hand - New leadership in place that seems to get stuff done - Flexible work environment without micro-managers

    Cons

    -Post-acquisition of Rocket Fuel communication could have been much better -NYC gets lots of love, don't forget about the hundreds of employees not in NYC

    Continue reading
    Sizmek2018-03-02

    Sizmek Response

    March 28, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We’re so happy to hear that you enjoy working with your colleagues and that you’ve seen a positive impact from our new leadership team so far. Now that we have gotten past the main integrations of our Rocket Fuel acquisition, we are committed to providing better communication and engagement to our employees. If you’ve checked out our social media channels lately, as well as some of our internal efforts such as our Sizmek Inspires campaign, we’ve made sure to recognize and highlight many of our offices, not just NYC. We also couldn’t agree more that the post acquisition dust has settled, and we are already executing a variety of strategies to help drive our success! Thanks again for your review!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (31)

    "The Mark Show"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sizmek full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - The company provides a very interesting product stack for marketers and brands and has exponential potential to grow into the much needed alternative to Google's offerings. - There are some incredibly smart people that are joys to work with and learn from.

    Cons

    - It does not seem like the integration planning was well thought out. There are significant learning gaps between legacy teams and the talent with legacy knowledge are leaving in droves. - Senior management does not seem to understand the complexity of the tech that came with the Rocket Fuel acquisition and is not taking any measures to retain the historical talent that built and understands it. - It has become "The Mark Show" and a lot of his communication is positioned as if he is the shining star of the company. The hard work, effort and energy that every employee (a lot of which have been with Sizmek or Rocket Fuel for years) is being stripped away. It is just assumed that when escalating an issue to Mark, you will not receive a truthful answer and are going to feel defeated, so people are no longer asking questions. - It seems like no one in senior management actually talks to each other because there are enormous gaps the information being disseminated by the sales vs service sides of the house. - Serious cost cutting measures has been introduced that not only inhibit the ability to comfortably function and contribute, but cannot be helping attract top talent to join the growing number of open heads that are becoming available.

    Continue reading
    Sizmek2018-01-31

    Sizmek Response

    February 13, 2018VP HR

    We appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously. It's imperative to us that we are building the right culture for all our employees and are taking steps to address any concerns you may have. Over the past few months as we were working to get our senior leadership team up to speed (as a result of new hires and the integration of two teams), you may have seen Mark be more front and center, while the rest of senior management spent more time working through the new integration and learning the new organization. We recognize that this wasn't ideal as it's important to hear from all teams, and now that they are fully up to speed and our organizations are integrated, we are taking steps to address this. We with a Fireside chat that featured individuals from our product and engineering teams, as well as our head of EMEA. Employees will also start to hear from other members of the senior leadership team more regularly. Starting next week, you'll see weekly office hours hosted by each member of the senior management team. Additionally future town halls will feature other individuals, starting with a town hall at the end of February led by our Chief People Office solely dedicated to culture and people. A key focus for our organization is strengthening our culture and that's why your feedback is so important to us to enable us do better.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Too little, way too late."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sizmek full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PTO Lunch There are still smart people left trying to make a difference.

    Cons

    Sizmek / Rocket Fuel Integration has not gone smoothly Multiple rounds of layoffs No established company values Executive team is out of touch with employees reality Revenue decline

    Continue reading
    Sizmek2018-02-23
  10. Helpful (17)

    "Something's Gotta Give"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sizmek full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Generous WFH/PTO policy (as much as you want) - Free lunch Mon-Thurs - Very smart people at mid and lower ranks, a traditionally hard working group that gets along in and outside of the office - Relatively strong technology, specifically the AI-powered DSP, and best-in-class yet largely ignored DMP - Generally good salaries and benefits

    Cons

    - Leadership. The CEO and other executives are operating on a different planet than the rest of the organization. Transparency and communication are feigned, but they are not genuine or informative in any manner whatsoever. There's a general lack of top-down respect, and the majority of the employees feel undervalued and unheard. The environment that leadership has created is probably best characterized as poisonous. - Trust: There is hardly any at this company. Employees openly mock positive Glassdoor reviews and assume that they are written at the behest of senior management. Given the lack of information shared about career growth, company vision, sales quotas, etc., there is no reason for employees to trust senior management anymore. Trust has also been eroded by questionable management decisions, like hiring a Chief People Officer based in Australia (instead of a US office where the majority of people and revenue are based), and installing a "Chief Visionary" who seems to be primarily concerned with self-promotion as opposed to company vision. A recent employee survey was given, and although results were supposed to be shared, they have not been, and management has only glossed over some of the positive results ("Most of you know who your manager is." was a noted positive outcome of the survey). - Attrition: It seems like each week, a handful of employees leave the company from various offices and departments. There has been limited backfill, and the resulting work has been dumped on those that are left behind. Employees continue to ask management what can be done to stem the tide of people leaving, and there has been no sufficient answer. It's difficult to attract new talent when current employees can't honestly recommend Sizmek as a good place to work. As a result, product, sales, and service teams are all suffering, and our clients are beginning to take note. - No vision. Partly due to the lack of top-down communication, the tsunami of attrition has hamstrung the organization. Perhaps if people knew what their path looked like in 3, 6, and 12 months, there'd be more reason for optimism. But a CEO who only talks about himself and his own accomplishments at Xaxis provides the rank and file with limited hope, and no future vision for what the company should strive to be. The focus is entirely on Sizmek and the one person that represents it outwardly right now, and not on our clients and the sophisticated marketing solutions we provide. - Poor transition management. The acquisition of Rocket Fuel by Sizmek has been horrendous. Employees feel utterly lost and disrespected. Career growth that was previously more clearly defined has been stunted by the seemingly haphazard placement of individuals onto teams that lack true leadership and growth potential. HR and some managers are trying to boost morale with happy hours, office events, and the like, but the gains are temporary and insufficient. - Open dissent. The negativity at the company has bred a venomous environment where employees are openly discussing interviews, other job opportunities, and a general lack of will to continue to work at Sizmek. This absolutely sways more employees that may be on the fence about how they're feeling into the "negative" camp, and only leads to more internal confusion and disruption. The stunning thing about this is that, in New York at least, this is happening mere feet outside the offices of the C-Suite, clearly highlighting a total disconnect between executive management and those same employees.

    Continue reading
    Sizmek2018-03-07

    Sizmek Response

    March 29, 2018Chief Growth Officer

    Thank you for providing your constructive input here - your interest in making Sizmek successful is very apparent. In the past few weeks, I’ve been meeting with every seller across the Americas to listen to their feedback and discuss how we can further drive our growth together. If we have not already met, we will be meeting soon to further discuss your concerns. My door is always open and any employee is welcome to stop by anytime.

    Continue reading
Found 10 reviews