Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom Employee Reviews about "support staff"

Updated Oct 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom Executive Partner Eric Friedman (no image)
Eric Friedman
104 Ratings
Pros
  • "Collegial environment and kind support staff, very encouraging of pro bono work(in 18 reviews)

  • "Great people that I worked with(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There are long hours and billables(in 55 reviews)

  • "Difficult to maintain work-life balance(in 29 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "support staff"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great firm for legal training

      Apr 30, 2020 - Attorney in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Collegial environment and kind support staff, very encouraging of pro bono work

      Cons

      Difficult to maintain work-life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Black Lives do not matter at Skadden

      Oct 24, 2020 - Support Staff in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great name recognition and resume builder. Work life balance was good in my role (support staff).

      Cons

      Minorities, specifically black employees, are treated as second-class employees and deemed more expendable than their counterparts, and are not paid their fair market value. Skadden is full of performative support, but not actual support. Context: I am African American. I was in a support staff role. TL;DR: Despite above-average performance as dictated by annual performance review and verbal praise my management, I was denied a higher raise to bring me to my true market value. I determined my true market value by getting a hard offer from another firm and Skadden declined to even counter-offer. I know of non-minorities who went through this process and received multiple raises. For *some* reason I was the exception. Also, the HR team is the physical embodiment of the glass ceiling for minorities. I joined the firm below the market value for my level of expertise and experience with the understanding from management that if I perform at a high level my pay would be raised accordingly. Nearly a year passes and I receive the highest marks on my performance review for all 27 categories and I was given a 5% raise (and therefore my salary still well below my market value) and was expected to be grateful as they said the typical raise is 2-3%. (Unsure how they keep any top-talent employees if they are barely raising their salary above inflation). My managers give me all the verbal praise in the world about my value and my skills. I voice my concerns to my managers that I am being paid below market value and I am then told by one of them that I am "worth every penny we pay you *and more*" (direct quote). I ask them/HR to run an analysis of my salary - which they then come back and say I am paid exactly where I should be (i.e. the average/median, despite my above average performance review). When I voiced my concerns to HR, my managers praise and support for me disappears. During my "negotiations" with HR, I repeatedly brought up how I should be being paid more than the median or the average employee (which is how they based their analysis to justify not raising my salary more) because my performance reviews dictated that I am a well-above average employee. Her response to this was that I was being "defensive." It is hard enough moving up in the corporate world as an African American, let alone when a high level HR employee belittles you referencing your merit/achievements as simply being "defensive." My interactions with her left me with one impression: she is the physical embodiment of the glass ceiling for minorities. Then, I received a hard offer from another firm for over 10k+ my salary, plus equity, plus much better benefits. I informed my managers and stated I would like them to match or provide a counter offer. Despite my performance and my relationship with them and the hard offer solidifying my market value, they still contended that I was being paid at a fair rate and decided not to even provide a counter-offer. Obviously, I left the firm. This was all during the height of the Black Lives Matter movement when corporations were the most sensitive to these issues and yet I was still treated as an easily expendable employee not worthy of my fair market value. If they are comfortable doing this during a period of heightened sensitivity to equality, then image how they typically operate. To be clear, I do not want to receive preferential treatment or more money for my skin color, I just want to not be deprived of my fair market value because of my skin color. I know other non-minority employees who have went through this process and received multiple raises. For *some* reason, I was the exception. You can draw your own conclusions as to why. I am sure I am not alone in my experience. Do not work here as a minority. If you do, use it as a resume builder for a year or so but do not expect equal treatment to your Caucasian counter-parts.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Poor Office and Secretarial Management; Discrimination

      Mar 21, 2019 - Support Staff in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good health benefits and vacation time

      Cons

      The morale at the firm is overall extremely low. There is no work, secretaries sit anxiously wondering when the next cut will happen even though they're told there won't be any. Support staff is under-appreciated and their input on improvements are not considered. Despite bragging about how many billions are brought in each year, it does not affect support staff raises which appear to still be affected by the recession, and bonuses remain 1-1/2%. There are supervisors and managers in place who have no business being in charge of anything or anyone. There are an excessive amount of managers. It's a toxic environment, with blatant breaches of confidentiality and displays of favoritism. The focus at this firm is to follow blindly. They push staff for innovative ideas (thereby doing management's job) and do not follow through. The firm changed for the worst since the current NYO leader took over. It's interesting how 99% of terminated employees are non-caucasian.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Friendly staff/attorneys, stale management

      Apr 19, 2019 - Office Services Assistant in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Support staff and attorneys are (mostly) nice. Generous PTO, good benefits.

      Cons

      Long hours are expected, and if you refuse to stay you are looked down upon. No work/life balance. Most of the managers are always in a bad mood, really negative to be around and bring the energy down.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Firm to Work For

      Mar 18, 2019 - Legal Secretary in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great health benefits, vacation time, salary. Skadden fosters lenient dress code and employee recognition program.

      Cons

      Minimal opportunities for growth and flexible work schedule for support staff.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Legal Assistant Specialist

      May 16, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Challenging, great coworkers, flexibility, opportunity to learn new skills, opportunities for growth, very diverse work environment.

      Cons

      Micromanaging the support staff a bit too much.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to work, not much room for promotions

      Dec 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Guaranteed bonuses and raises yearly. Partners and staff are friendly. We have access to tons of resources.

      Cons

      Room for growth is not really there for support staff. Bonus amounts don't go beyond 4%. Not necessarily based on merit.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      long hours

      Mar 3, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      the support staff is nice

      Cons

      hours are unpredictable, no work life balance

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Intern

      A Lot of Work But Rewarding

      Sep 19, 2018 - Anonymous Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay. Support staff are very kind and will always be willing to help out. Good to get a sense of what the big law environment is.

      Cons

      People are generally hard to approach. Can be suffocating if you're placed in a department with a heavy workload.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Overrated

      Dec 29, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The salary, you learn new topics and it looks good on your resume.

      Cons

      Everything else of importance is a con especially the time off which is stingy for support staff and the people in my department are worse. Most pretend to be nice but are snarky for no reason and some think it's ok to make disrespectful comments based on your ethnicity or treat you differently based on this, including department heads. Too many don't understand that mutual respect is important and you aren't entitled to it based on your position. They expect you to suck up no matter what especially if you're new. Too much of the support staff tries to throw their weight around. The attorneys can be difficult (as expected) and it can get very busy but the support staff causes more unnecessary stress. The firm is too bureaucratic. Staff puts attorneys on a pedestal and act as though non-legal employees don't deserve much importance. The technology is mediocre as well. I've worked at other firms and still trying to figure out why people think it's so great.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 32 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom Job Seekers

    Legal Assistant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom? Share Your Experiences

    Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom logo
    or