Skanska USA Reviews

Updated May 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
80%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Skanska USA President and CEO Richard Kennedy
Richard Kennedy
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Room for advancement and good benefits(in 29 reviews)

  • "Great company culture that makes you feel part of the team(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "While I don’t consider this as a con for Skanska, some that have weak work ethic would blame Skanska for not providing a good work/life balance(in 21 reviews)

  • "Long hours, long commutes, many repetitive tasks(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Welcome to the NFL of Contractors!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EHS Professional 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skanska USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you want to work alongside the best in the construction industry this is THE company to join! The best and the brightest work here! Opportunity abounds.

    Cons

    Working at Skanska is NOT for the faint of heart...a strong work ethic is a mandatory ingredient. While I don’t consider this as a con for Skanska, some that have weak work ethic would blame Skanska for not providing a good work/life balance. IMHO, work life balance is the employees responsibility. I have seen amazing Skanska support for employee work life balance...work from home...days off when needed...genuine Care for Life!

    Continue reading
    Skanska USA2020-01-12
  2. "Great Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Blue Bell, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Skanska USA full-time

    Pros

    Awesome teams that made the work feel entrepreneurial in a sense. Superior training. I was lucky to work with the guys I did, but the company as a whole take training seriously. I really liked working there.

    Cons

    Same as any company, but I would recomend to anyone looking to get in to Project Management, Pre-Con, ect... These guys are pro's.

    Skanska USA2020-05-19
  3. "Used To Be A Great Place To Work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skanska USA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Job security. Not a lot of turnover, so they give employees plenty of opportunities to succeed or fail. - Good intentions. The company wants to do well by their employees, customers, communities they work in, and the environment. - Benefits. Very good benefit package for employees. Pay is slightly below market average, but still competitive.

    Cons

    - Management. Does not take input or feedback from employees seriously, usually resulting in large financial hits and a lot of unnecessary work to make up for poor decisions. Also, a very top-heavy setup, with way too many managers, VPs, etc. - Culture. The company is caught between old-school and more progressive approaches, resulting in little or no change to how things are done. Can be very frustrating. - Morale. Definitely not a ‘fun’ company. You come in, do your job, go home. That’s it. There is little done to liven things up or even encourage social interaction during or after work. There is nothing done to encourage bonding or team-building. Morale has been low for a few years now and shows no signs of improving. - Job security. There are a lot of people who have been around a long time and just collect paychecks to provide very little. There is an underlying sense of resentment, as a result of this. - Training. Nothing formal. It’s pretty much a ‘learn-as-you-go’ environment, The people in charge of training development have job security (see above) and have been working on ‘something’ for years, without anything serious to show for it.

    Continue reading
    Skanska USA2020-05-12
  4. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Skanska USA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance made a big difference for me!

    Cons

    none, had a great experience during my time at the company.

    Skanska USA2020-04-26
  5. "Project Controls"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Controls in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skanska USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful coworkers and working environment.

    Cons

    Demanding hours but overall fair treatment of employees

    Skanska USA2020-04-22
  6. "Skanska"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Innovation and VDC 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Skanska USA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    compensation and benefits great depending on level

    Cons

    difficult to advance and sometimes political

    Skanska USA2020-04-14
  7. "Fast Growth for Long Hours"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skanska USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Quickly move up the ladder if you work hard -Competitive pay in industry

    Cons

    -Long hours but so is all other General Contractors -Expected to perform work out of pay grade before promotion -Drastic pay gap between Field/Site Superintendents and Office

    Continue reading
    Skanska USA2020-03-25
  8. "Good company, good work, long hours for salaried employees"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skanska USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work, no big scandals, not killing the planet

    Cons

    High expectations and you must figure out what youre suposed to be doing without anyone really telling you

    Skanska USA2020-02-17
  9. "Large Construction"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skanska USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can work all different places due to having multiple offices/projects and work on some really cool/big projects.

    Cons

    Lost in the shuffle sometimes, bad at promoting from within, do not hire enough people for the jobs.

    Continue reading
    Skanska USA2020-02-28
  10. "Field Engineer"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Field Engineer 

    I have been working at Skanska USA full-time

    Pros

    Lots of learning. Lots of tracking, decision making, coordination, and opportunities to network

    Cons

    Long hours, long commutes, many repetitive tasks

    Skanska USA2020-02-09
Found 314 reviews