Skechers U.S.A. Sales Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Skechers U.S.A. Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated Nov 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
62%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Skechers U.S.A. Chairman and CEO Robert Greenberg
Robert Greenberg
1 Rating
  1. "It was fine I didn't love it and I couldn't stay for much longer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Sales Manager in Cabazon, CA

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    coworkers were great, easy to obtain employment

    Cons

    Stressful; Often made calls about work even if I had days off; unorganized; selfish company

    Skechers U.S.A.2019-11-09
  2. "Good place for part time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good place to work part time, good comission, and can make a good living off working there and studying at university

    Cons

    Bad managment, especially upper management, felt very management vs staff

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent, and communicate to employees better

    Skechers U.S.A.2019-08-01
  3. "Ive worked here for 2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, Commission too which helps a lot, Good work environment and great team members and managers

    Cons

    Commission is very varied, sometimes if put on stockroom wont get as much commission as those permanently on shop floor

    Advice to Management

    Rotate workers more frequently between shop floor and stockroom to allow for equal commission

    Skechers U.S.A.2019-04-15
  4. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great place to work with good management

    Cons

    no room for promotion /lack of opportunities

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-11-15
  5. "Good, but definitely room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casual Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great discounts on shoes and other brands apart of the Accent Group (Platypus, Vans, etc) - Great people to work with - Incentives for selling products, store performance

    Cons

    - Poor upper management - not a lot of communication, can be rude to managers as well as team members - Unstable store management - I believe I went through six store managers in two years - Little room for progression - Can be a little too competitive, as rosters are done based on performance regardless of external factors - Pay is standard, and sometimes was incorrect

    Advice to Management

    To company management, it would be beneficial to treat every store differently based on location, demographic and employees. Visits can oftentimes be rude and extremely critical instead of encouraging change. Store management should appreciate and encourage the casuals they have, instead of hiring new people to filter out old staff. This resulted in my choice to leave the company.

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-11-18
  6. "Please stay away, even if you're desperate."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casual Sales Assistant in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team vibe, casuals are nice, minimum wage

    Cons

    Horrible upper management / expensive as hell work shoes (they cost $70++ per pair on the average even after staff discount, and when your shoes get sent out of your store you HAVE to get new ones) / shifts and hours are given not based on performance but favourism / high turnover managers/2IC (worked there for almost 2 years and went through more than 10 manager changes not even kidding) / they dont pay you for opening and closing the store which can take up to 20-30mins / you get a pathetic 30mins break for working an 8 hour shift / your fault if the store doesnt make budget

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    get your act together, actually start communicating with your staff and don't put so much pressure on the casuals to run the store/make budgets. also please, allow your staff to have a longer break because 30mins for the entire day in retail is seriously not enough. and pay them the extra time for opening and closing the store.

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-10-22
  7. "Sketchers Ireland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Blanchardstown
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You getting free shoes then you starting

    Cons

    I applied for full-time, was getting every week 25+ hours only. Minimum salary. Every step is being watched by manager. Can't even talk with other staff members. They give daily targets to make sales, but even i was doing double that, didn't get any extra hours or bonus. Then left, was waiting 1 month after i quit my holiday money. Advice is to stay away from this place!

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff with respect, not like we are some rubbish.

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-08-17
  8. "Left in 2014"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Ashford, Kent, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good Hours - Good people to work with

    Cons

    - Very little communication from Head Office

    Advice to Management

    It was several years ago now

    Skechers U.S.A.2017-06-12
Found 8 reviews