Skechers U.S.A. "discount on shoes" Reviews | Glassdoor

Skechers U.S.A. Employee Reviews about "discount on shoes"

Updated Oct 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Skechers U.S.A. Chairman and CEO Robert Greenberg
Robert Greenberg
295 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Seems to have poor communication between upper management and store management(in 56 reviews)

  • "Super low pay makes it hard to stay here due to LA getting more expensive every year(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "discount on shoes"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love getting the discount on shoes!!

    Cons

    No cons from me because I lived by the store

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great job

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-11-02
  2. "Great Part-time job for high school and college students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Specialist 

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discounts on shoes and clothes.

    Cons

    Its retail, so the hours aren't consistent.

    Skechers U.S.A.2019-02-07
  3. Helpful (3)

    "You can find something much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free shoes every year Half off discounts on shoes per month Due to the fact everyone quits within a year, there's always an opening for more hours

    Cons

    Corporate has no regards or respect for anyone under the position of District Manager Pay raises taken away from people who aren't keyholders Workers are underpaid for the sometimes unrealistic expectations of corporate Being forced to use outdated technology or programs that barely work Constant hiring of store managers who are already noted through training to be a negative influence to their store Constantly... casting a blind eye to the needs of their retail stores Dumb hiring requirements set in college towns where most potential employees in that area lack those requirements Workers constantly quit and leave the company for much better and sane options while some only stay once corporate offers them a significant pay raise because they cant afford to lose EVERYONE

    Show More
    Skechers U.S.A.2018-08-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun place to work. 50% discount on shoes. Flexible with scheduling. Fast paced environment. If you’re willing to put in the work then I can be fun

    Cons

    Overworked and underpaid. Benefits can be a little expensive. Communication often changes quickly. There are too many directives coming from many places.

    Advice to Management

    Pay a competitive wage to your management! $13/hr when the Chicago minimum wage keeps increasing is no longer competitive!

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-05-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pay not commensurate with similar types of jobs, but very simple retail work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    An excellent job for high school students, or anyone wanting very few hours per week, but doesn't mind evenings/weekends, with the occasional oddball times helping another nearby store or doing inventory count. Good discount on shoes.

    Cons

    Morale is very low at my store. Managers from other stores gossip about their employees and make off-color jokes sometimes. But it's retail, this is probably common behavior. Not a lot of diversity among management in the stores in our city, all white men. Pay scale is low even for assistant managers (there are grocery store cashier jobs in the area that pay higher than the assistant manager rate), and... associates have been told no merit-based raises.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do not overpromise and underdeliver during interviews.

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-03-15
  6. "Easy job, great environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time Assistant Manager in Beaumont, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Deep discount on shoes every month. Company 401k and health care for full time employees. Relaxed environment compared to other companies.

    Cons

    You will still get stubborn customers and people trying to cheat the return and discount policies. Theft can be pretty high too.

    Advice to Management

    More security and asset protection would be nice in areas of high theft rate. Help desk is not always available with issues in the stores.

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-03-12
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Not the perfect fit for your future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manhattan Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Skechers goes all out on parties, they’re rather extravagant. Nice discount on shoes. The company is growing, so jobs are available.

    Cons

    Office politics are hard to get around. Gossip is pervasive and it happens at the highest level all the way down. Favoritism plays a part in promotions and discipline. There are pay gaps that need to be addressed. The work hours are rigid unless you’re an executive or director: they are very loose with their office hours.

    Advice to Management

    Favoritism and longevity shouldn’t exclude people from being called out for wrong doing. Be more flexible with your work hours to keep talented people. Recognize hard work and close the pay gaps.

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-01-18
  8. "1st assistant store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Vacaville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount on shoes good On apparel bad Benefits and time off is ok Pay was ok but recently they have limited and max a lot of employees

    Cons

    Good atmosphere really depends on your boss . Had a good one for a while and then didn’t for a while Retail hours Lots of pressure

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-01-11
  9. "Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount on shoes at your home store

    Cons

    Management pay is not nearly equivalent to what other retailers would offer

    Skechers U.S.A.2017-12-19
  10. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bluffton, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Love my job; been there for some time, great health benefits and wonderful discounts on shoes if you love Skechers

    Cons

    My position I do a lot of my work and everyone else work. No serious cons to complain about with the job.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you are helping employees with everyday work and not taking the easy way out

    Skechers U.S.A.2017-08-31
Found 29 reviews