Skechers U.S.A. "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Skechers U.S.A. Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated Oct 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Skechers U.S.A. CEO Robert Greenberg
Robert Greenberg
295 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Seems to have poor communication between upper management and store management(in 56 reviews)

  • "Super low pay makes it hard to stay here due to LA getting more expensive every year(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "A Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth in Retail and Wholesale. Innovative Company with great products. Great employee discounts. Company challenges you to grow the business and yourself. The owners are very involved with the business and really care about your feedback and input. Upper Retail Management is stable and very supportive. Must be adaptive to change to work here as the company is ever changing but that’s what makes it a... fun place to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Work life balance is not good. Directors change every year and each try to reinvent the wheel and operation processes. Micro managed way too much after having longevity in the company.

    Advice to Management

    Too many layers between the retail stores and corporate office. Retail Field Management days/hours should align with Corporate Retail Calendar.

    Skechers U.S.A.2019-10-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Skechers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Hialeah, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff Employee discount Flexibility Good products

    Cons

    Needs to raise wage No ability to grow Too much work Favoritism

    Skechers U.S.A.2019-10-19
  3. "Retail floor sales associate."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Associate in Wisconsin Dells, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's great if you love shoes and helping people find the right shoes it's great. Also employee discount is great for buying your own shoes there. It also is multitasking with helping customers and making sure shoes are in the right place.

    Cons

    Since I'm in a dense tourist area some people don't speak english which is a challenge. You have to accept that you can't help everyone all at once and keep up with keeping the store clean. Organizing shoes can be more tiresome than you think it is.

    Advice to Management

    Schedules should NOT be done a MONTH in advanced I believe you should at the latest give a 2 week notice if you need a day off. Also only ask managers to do things in a REASONABLE time. They are only human and a lot underemployed and need more hands.

    Skechers U.S.A.2019-09-15
  4. "tedious but tolerable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    easy goals to reach employee discount

    Cons

    may ask that you help closing shift

    Skechers U.S.A.2019-08-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "For the Most Part, Not Worth It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers were friendly, hours were flexible, store manager worked around everyone's schedules, mostly easy job when it wasn't busy (and it was rarely busy), generous employee discount, and commission on top of hourly pay.

    Cons

    Low pay for amount of work expected, no amount of work is ever good enough, customers were often rude and annoying, little room for advancement, back room was ALWAYS overflowing (through no fault of the store employees), which made it difficult to move quickly and efficiently, so customers would sometimes walk out if they thought you weren't moving quickly enough, lack of larger shoe sizes for both women and men,... sales stayed down so we were constantly getting calls from upper management asking why our sales were down (our location was not usually busy except on Sundays), teenagers constantly walked into the store to make fun of us, our products, and to get gum, effectively keeping our conversion rate low, and, although there is commission, you only get it by selling two or more pairs, which rarely happened when there wasn't a BOGO sale or when it wasn't holiday time (averaged $15-20 per paycheck). Overall, the morale of the employees stayed down, and their motivation along with it. Also, due to restructuring within the company, hours were capped at 25 per week and more employees had to be hired, effectively cutting everyone's hours to below 25 and making it that much more difficult to make commission and have a decent paycheck. At the end of the day, the job just wasn't worth it. The only way I would recommend this job is if you are trying to work your way through school because the hours were fairly flexible and the pay, though not great, was better than a lot of other places in the mall. If you don't like children and hearing about people's foot problems, then this job is NOT for you, and I would suggest looking elsewhere.

    Show More
    Skechers U.S.A.2019-05-20
  6. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount, quarterly bonus, family/life balance

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations when it comes to cleanliness and stocking. Expected to maintain a spotless store along with 100% stocked bins and 100% priced boxes.

    Advice to Management

    Have a better understanding for team members making an effort to meet expectations.

    Skechers U.S.A.2019-04-16
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee Discount, working with great co-workers and loyal customers

    Cons

    Horrible and I mean horrible corporate culture, impossible expectations keeping up everything up to museum standards and having 100% customer service at the same time with payroll being reduced more and more each year with no recognition for hard work and results when you have them. Lots of favorizing no matter how long you've been there or how valid results you have. Corporate Staff DM RM HR asking for impossible... do more work with less while having no realistic payroll support while keeping you "accountable" for sales results. Old POS equipment and overall lots of equipment problems , this company still uses Fax machines for most of the paperwork processing. Roles are mixed up above your level and HR will give you feedback into Visuals and Operations even though it's not their role to do so neither they have any knowledge of the same. But when you need actual support staffing the store or asking the right questions they either give you no help whatsoever or tell you "it's global" since they have no other answers for you. Allocations issues repeatedly there over the years throwing random big shipments with no additional payroll for anything not even sick or vacation hours let alone couple of thousand units of shipment. Lastly company is really cheap on paying their employees below the competition with no realistic achievable bonus structure for SM no bonus for any other management members or any overtime allowed with previously mentioned expectations. I've been with the company +6 years and I really DO NOT recommend working here. It was a better place to work couple years back with diferent upper management in place but even then all the negative stuff was there as well it is still today. Take my advice and search work for other retail or footwear brand names.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start supporting the Store needs and stop having such a disconnect to the reality by giving right amount of payroll to achieve all expectations. Be realistic to the goal setting and stop favorizing people and promote right people with results. Stop making excuses year after year and pay better if you have money for marketing and corporate building remodeling (needs nothing) then share some of the hard earned money... to your poorly payed hourly employees and pay them better.

    Show More
    Skechers U.S.A.2019-03-20
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Very toxic company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. full-time

    Pros

    Employee discount. Nothing else is worth the toxicity

    Cons

    Very toxic and shifty company to work with. HR does not care regarding employees concerns and always side with management. Short employee turnarounds due to toxicity. Have a chaotic and bad work environment that does not give you any feedback to improve. No respect for availability of employees especially to the students who works and go to school at the same time. Favoritism is everything in this company.

    Advice to Management

    Stop Favoritism, stop the toxicity, treat everyone with respect.

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-08-10
  9. Helpful (14)

    "unethical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manhattan Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good benefits and perks - Great cafe - Good location at the beach if you work at the pier building - Super fun parties and events - Really great and talented coworkers in my immediate teams. Some of the best people, really - Promote from within (for example, I knew employees who started in retail and had worked their way up the ladder in corporate, so there are good opportunities) - Good employee discount... (including Friends & Family days) as well as free samples. And man those shoes are comfortable (albeit usually really ugly). - They travelled me out to Asia in my first 6 months for training so I was really thankful for those opportunities. - Good stepping stone to other jobs in the footwear business, although considering the reputation as I'll explain below, I have heard from other colleagues outside Skechers that it actually hurts your reputation if you stay too long If you can separate yourself from the ethics of the company and don't take the product too personally, and especially if you're male and/or connected with the right people, you can have a good, long, pleasant career at Skechers. Met people who were perfectly happy there.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are a LOT of cons attached to the pros above. - Talented staff are severely undervalued, and their skills are squandered on terrible product. Skechers makes its money off of cheap knock-offs and pushing out as high a volume of cheap shoes as possible. Creativity, innovation and attention to design are actually punished at Skechers, as there was a massive layoff recently and the people who pushed these... initiatives were the ones who lost their jobs. And who are the people who get to keep their jobs? The yes men. For example, one man was sued for physical abuse DURING company time, yet instead of getting fired -- he got promoted. Skechers has a bad reputation for nepotism and other forms of favoritism. As I said above, I do respect the internal promotion and giving people opportunities that they might not have otherwise, but this usually means that people with no skill or background end up being heard over the employees with REAL experience, education and talent. So, like I said, if you're connected with the right people and if you don't care about putting your talents to use, you will be just fine. - Back to the layoff -- the motivation was greed. The company is built just to make as much money as possible. Skechers is actually doing very well but the executives wanted to "trim the fat" so that they can expedite their growth. Honestly, the company spends so much money elsewhere -- in their over-the-top lavish parties, office facilities (for Pete's sake, there is a lionfish tank in the office!), company conferences, unnecessary trips where employees honestly just spend the entire time partying on the company dollar. Also, my team was actually understaffed (our workloads caused all of us really long nights) and I was frequently told by my immediate managers (who I loved) that I was getting severely underpaid for my work and that they fought hard with upper management to up my pay but to no avail. The way the company handled its finances was really backwards. - The sexism is rampant. The company definitely runs on old-fashioned values. There thankfully are high executives who are female, but again, they either get their through favoritism, or clawing their way by catty office politic. These mean women were incredibly nasty towards other women (the OPPOSITE of feminism), and spent a good portion of time just gossiping instead of their actual work. And there were always incidents of sexual harrassment, which never were resolved by HR. We always knew it was a lost cause because we knew that HR never did its job in regulating company ethics. The most talented designers in our division were women, but they were constantly taken advantage of, overworked (handling a vast majority of projects), and not given credit through promotion whereas the men's travel up the ladder was much quicker. They were also talented but they had to work a lot less than the women to get the same treatment. Also you can see the blatant gender politics in the company's marketing campaigns, so yeah. Really obviously sexist company. I usually am not the type to spitefully write a bad review. I left the company almost a year ago since these things left a bad taste in my mouth. But after hearing how my friends were terribly treated, I decided that the general public needs to know how the company still operates.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Honestly you can probably keep doing what you're doing since it obviously makes you a lot of money. Just trying to inform the public on what the company actually looks like before they work here. However, know that your old-fashioned values and lack of ethics will not sustain your company in the long run, and progressive companies will overtake you (Adidas, for example, who took over the #2 position in footwear over... Skechers) AND if you have another Shape-Ups fiasco from your get-rich-quick methodology, you might be done for good this time.

    Show More
    Skechers U.S.A.2018-04-26
  10. Helpful (4)

    "More Like A Terrible Fit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful Office and decent employee discount.

    Cons

    Look within the company to fix the root of the problem. Examine Upper Management Team (directors and up) as there are several bad seeds who does nothing except follow orders and does not speak up to make a change for the company or defend their teams. Poor soft skills, terrible training process, and rigid work hours. Lots of favoritism and shuffling of employees regardless of knowledge and expertise.

    Advice to Management

    Should have training for soft skills/ communication for Upper Management.

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-02-28
Found 32 reviews