Skechers U.S.A. "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Skechers U.S.A. Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Skechers U.S.A. Chairman and CEO Robert Greenberg
Robert Greenberg
296 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "The environment varies with the staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment, great store manager support.

    Cons

    Upper management lacks in supporting store managers and associates

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-09-18
  2. "Skechers USA review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. full-time

    Pros

    Supportive upper management. Rooms to move up.

    Cons

    Not paid for natural disasters

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-09-18
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Not worth the pressure for the pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    knowledge of the product was always offered

    Cons

    upper management sucked. so did HR

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-04-11
  4. Helpful (14)

    "unethical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manhattan Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good benefits and perks - Great cafe - Good location at the beach if you work at the pier building - Super fun parties and events - Really great and talented coworkers in my immediate teams. Some of the best people, really - Promote from within (for example, I knew employees who started in retail and had worked their way up the ladder in corporate, so there are good opportunities) - Good employee discount (including Friends & Family days) as well as free samples. And man those shoes are comfortable (albeit usually really ugly). - They travelled me out to Asia in my first 6 months for training so I was really thankful for those opportunities. - Good stepping stone to other jobs in the footwear business, although considering the reputation as I'll explain below, I have heard from other colleagues outside Skechers that it actually hurts your reputation if you stay too long If you can separate yourself from the ethics of the company and don't take the product too personally, and especially if you're male and/or connected with the right people, you can have a good, long, pleasant career at Skechers. Met people who were perfectly happy there.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are a LOT of cons attached to the pros above. - Talented staff are severely undervalued, and their skills are squandered on terrible product. Skechers makes its money off of cheap knock-offs and pushing out as high a volume of cheap shoes as possible. Creativity, innovation and attention to design are actually punished at Skechers, as there was a massive layoff recently and the people who pushed these initiatives were the ones who lost their jobs. And who are the people who get to keep their jobs? The yes men. For example, one man was sued for physical abuse DURING company time, yet instead of getting fired -- he got promoted. Skechers has a bad reputation for nepotism and other forms of favoritism. As I said above, I do respect the internal promotion and giving people opportunities that they might not have otherwise, but this usually means that people with no skill or background end up being heard over the employees with REAL experience, education and talent. So, like I said, if you're connected with the right people and if you don't care about putting your talents to use, you will be just fine. - Back to the layoff -- the motivation was greed. The company is built just to make as much money as possible. Skechers is actually doing very well but the executives wanted to "trim the fat" so that they can expedite their growth. Honestly, the company spends so much money elsewhere -- in their over-the-top lavish parties, office facilities (for Pete's sake, there is a lionfish tank in the office!), company conferences, unnecessary trips where employees honestly just spend the entire time partying on the company dollar. Also, my team was actually understaffed (our workloads caused all of us really long nights) and I was frequently told by my immediate managers (who I loved) that I was getting severely underpaid for my work and that they fought hard with upper management to up my pay but to no avail. The way the company handled its finances was really backwards. - The sexism is rampant. The company definitely runs on old-fashioned values. There thankfully are high executives who are female, but again, they either get their through favoritism, or clawing their way by catty office politic. These mean women were incredibly nasty towards other women (the OPPOSITE of feminism), and spent a good portion of time just gossiping instead of their actual work. And there were always incidents of sexual harrassment, which never were resolved by HR. We always knew it was a lost cause because we knew that HR never did its job in regulating company ethics. The most talented designers in our division were women, but they were constantly taken advantage of, overworked (handling a vast majority of projects), and not given credit through promotion whereas the men's travel up the ladder was much quicker. They were also talented but they had to work a lot less than the women to get the same treatment. Also you can see the blatant gender politics in the company's marketing campaigns, so yeah. Really obviously sexist company. I usually am not the type to spitefully write a bad review. I left the company almost a year ago since these things left a bad taste in my mouth. But after hearing how my friends were terribly treated, I decided that the general public needs to know how the company still operates.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Honestly you can probably keep doing what you're doing since it obviously makes you a lot of money. Just trying to inform the public on what the company actually looks like before they work here. However, know that your old-fashioned values and lack of ethics will not sustain your company in the long run, and progressive companies will overtake you (Adidas, for example, who took over the #2 position in footwear over Skechers) AND if you have another Shape-Ups fiasco from your get-rich-quick methodology, you might be done for good this time.

    Show More
    Skechers U.S.A.2018-04-26
  5. Helpful (4)

    "More Like A Terrible Fit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful Office and decent employee discount.

    Cons

    Look within the company to fix the root of the problem. Examine Upper Management Team (directors and up) as there are several bad seeds who does nothing except follow orders and does not speak up to make a change for the company or defend their teams. Poor soft skills, terrible training process, and rigid work hours. Lots of favoritism and shuffling of employees regardless of knowledge and expertise.

    Advice to Management

    Should have training for soft skills/ communication for Upper Management.

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-02-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. full-time

    Pros

    Great parties and nice people work there.

    Cons

    Extremely political, you only get promoted if you are liked by upper management. It doesn't matter if you have great experience or nothing at all. Unlike any big company they are very old school, and work is very manual. If you come from any other big retailer you will have a hard time adjusting to the way they do things. Work environment is very old school office like 9-6, they look at you weird if you leave before 6pm.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire management with experience from outside companies. Give laptops to employees, save trees. Treat employees like salaried adults, give them more freedom. Award the people who do the actual work instead of continuing to promote upper management.

    Skechers U.S.A.2018-02-03
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great company not great upper management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. full-time

    Pros

    Stable company not likely to close. Discount is 50% off a set number of shoes.

    Cons

    Upper management: It's hard to work for someone who never has anything positive to say. Work/life balance: Zero. Expext to be in your store six days a week, early mornings, late nights, beyond 8 hrs, taking in store lunches, (but you better not get OT or a meal penalty),and be ridiculed if you ever take a Friday or Saturday off.

    Advice to Management

    People work for people. District Managers should treat their people with respect, have empathy, communicate with their team, and be available. The DM that is currently overseeing this district has none of the above traits. They are all talk, says one thing and does another. They have zero credibility throughout the district due to their actions. They don't effectively communicate, and when issues escalate have no recollection of conversations held. Since this DM's arrival over half of the Store Managers in this large district have quit. Some of those managers had been with the company five or more years. Your motto is Sales Plan People. Make sure you have the right DMs in place to cultivate the people that take care of your product and generate your sales.

    Show More
    Skechers U.S.A.2017-07-24
  8. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People centric culture and opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Very reactive company and communication from upper management could be better and more proffesional

    Skechers U.S.A.2017-05-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Assistant Manager in Wrentham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The generous discounts that we receive we can share with friends and family The shoes are amazing the support it good and comfortable

    Cons

    The Upper management doesn't know how to do their job, also starts unnecessary stuff in the store that should be kept to just them

    Advice to Management

    To not start drama for nothing

    Skechers U.S.A.2017-03-20
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Stay away from Wholesale Allocations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manhattan Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great view, nice location/facilities

    Cons

    Director is verbally abusive to her employees while exhibiting no motivation or work ethic herself, which was ignored by her boss and HR. Most people (including upper management) are there to collect a paycheck and do not care about doing a good job or growing professionally. Most employees put in minimal effort during the day and then try to milk the overtime, so if you manage your time well you end up having to stay late finishing other people's work, essentially rewarding laziness. Absolutely no work ethic, integrity or interest in retail among employees and management. Don't work here if you are a serious professional interested in moving up in your career.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Introduce a way for employees to ANONYMOUSLY evaluate their work environment(managers/division of work/co-workers). If HR is incapable of this, bring in consultants. The lack of professionalism is truly appalling. The company loses money on missed sales due to negligence of employees who have been with the company for years (even though they put little to no effort into their jobs). People who are not performing need to be moved out. Stop using "the cost of training" as an excuse to let people who don't care about the quality of their work to stay in the same position year after year.

    Show More
    Skechers U.S.A.2017-01-29
Found 62 reviews