Skechers U.S.A. "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Skechers U.S.A. Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Skechers U.S.A. Chairman and CEO Robert Greenberg
Robert Greenberg
295 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work if you have a good boss. Lots of company perks.

    Cons

    Most of the supervisors are amazing people except a few. Performance Division has the worst upper management team supervising the department, beware!

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees

    Skechers U.S.A.2016-10-31
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Concept Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A.

    Pros

    Great, innovative company that really cares about its product and it's people. Given endless amount of tools and support to improve store and motivate team. Really great corporate culture, store managers go to a conference each year to learn more about the company's future and product innovation. Pay is very fair for the work that is required in my specific location. Numerous conference calls, meetings, and open lines of communication to go over procedures and expectations.

    Show More

    Cons

    Upper management let several seasoned managers and assistants slip through the cracks instead of motivating them to stay. Training procedures are fairly new and stores are still adjusting to them. There seems to be quite a bit of management turn over in this area.

    Advice to Management

    Really get to know your people. Districts would benefit from a more family atmosphere among Store Managers. Compensate employees who have put in the work, it seems that long term managers were not being paid fairly in my region.

    Skechers U.S.A.2016-10-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A.

    Pros

    Discount is good, staff all gets along very well like a big family. We have fun at work but still get things done.

    Cons

    No room for growth. It is a very micromanaged position, almost like upper management doesn't trust their managers to successfully run their stores. Stores get surprise visits which are very counter productive and cause unnecessary stress on the entire store. Upper management uses negativity to "motivate" store managers when really it just causes us to feel worthless and doubt our ability to do our jobs. Company expects museum standards in the entire store but won't give the hours or the staff support to make sure that is possible. "Do more with less" is the new thing. No training hours even for management. Out of date dress code and very sexist views on what men can wear vs women.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Trust your managers! Why are we even in the position if you are going to run the stores for us?! Don't lie to your managers about advancement to keep them around when it is painfully obvious that there is no where to go anytime soon.

    Skechers U.S.A.2016-09-27
  4. "Mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A.

    Pros

    The only pro is that the tennis shoes are comfortable

    Cons

    Upper management does not care about stores. very Petty business tendencies. No help from upper management in hiring practices would rather a store struggle then hire somebody who is ready and willing to work. Company sells shoes in department store for a cheaper price than in own stores.

    Advice to Management

    Find a new buyer for company. Styles are old and out dated.

    Skechers U.S.A.2016-10-15
  5. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Second Assistant Manager in Cabazon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love working with all of my co workers

    Cons

    Upper management doesn't really care about there employees they expect so much from you and don't appreciate the pay sucks they don't move you up within the company they bring outside people to work instead of promoting within the store, they also bring others for the same position with hire pay then managers

    Skechers U.S.A.2016-08-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. for less than a year

    Pros

    Generous employee discount Benefits Constant Product knowledge

    Cons

    No work life balance No growth from within Lack of communication from upper management

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better. Coach more. Be considerate.

    Skechers U.S.A.2016-08-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. full-time

    Pros

    Good product, have new styles that come in often and made with pretty decent quality. Have a customer that's older and no style

    Cons

    Terrible upper management. Treat people very bad from store teams to field leadership. Also rips off other shoe brands designs. Work every holiday, work overload with no respect to time off. Constant turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Turnover all the upper management

    Skechers U.S.A.2016-09-05
  8. "Ok Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A.

    Pros

    Decent pay. Good commission. Benefits were good as well.

    Cons

    Upper management not great. DM was not knowledgable and was difficult to work for.

    Advice to Management

    Better training for upper management.

    Skechers U.S.A.2016-07-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Poor culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Yonkers, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. for less than a year

    Pros

    None to mention right now

    Cons

    Poor company culture; poor upper management

    Skechers U.S.A.2016-04-27
  10. "Poor Execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Second Assistant Manager in Folsom, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A.

    Pros

    Pleasant coworkers Poor communication from upper management

    Cons

    Low pay Large workload Lack of management organization

    Advice to Management

    Management is overworked with little pay.

    Skechers U.S.A.2016-03-01
Found 62 reviews