Skechers U.S.A. "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Skechers U.S.A. Reviews

Updated Jan 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Skechers U.S.A. Chairman and CEO Robert Greenberg
Robert Greenberg
299 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Just Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Concept store employees make commission, which can definitely be used as an advantage when hiring motivated sales associates (although outlet employees are left out of this incentive) - Fairly generous benefits package for full-time employees - The company seems to have a pretty good grasp on what customers they are targeting - Newly designed stores are more shop-able, modern, and sleek (for the customers that is) - Go Walks are extremely comfortable and will run your business. Seriously, rely on these shoes to get you through the darkest of sales periods

    Cons

    - Pay is less than spectacular, and the commission structure seems to be getting harder and harder- Part-time ASM positions are hard to fill due to the low pay (usually only $1 or so more than min. wage) - Very disorganized business plan overall; everything is last minute and top priority - The return policy needs to be more strict. No time limit or rules are actually implemented, so people are definitely taking advantage - Completely and totally outdated everything. From the fax machines to the ancient POS, the entirety of the technology in the store will push you back into the 80's. Update your systems already! (BTW, I know that implementing new operating systems can be fairly expensive, however, I can assure you that the current systems are costing you more) - Total lack of oversight from upper management. Hearing from your District Manager is few and far between, and actually seeing them is more rare. However, when they do visit the store, mostly everything is wrong and must be done a different way - High turnover rate (most likely due to low compensation)

    Continue reading
    Skechers U.S.A.2014-10-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Un realistic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - First Assistant Manager in Woodbridge, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Easy Job Only thing you have to sell is shoes

    Cons

    Compensation Very small store Unrealistic goals Upper Management Not helpful

    Continue reading
    Skechers U.S.A.2014-09-25
  3. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A.

    Pros

    Fair discount, plenty of hours for scheduling

    Cons

    upper management is a joke, DM would call and scream in your ear

    Continue reading
    Skechers U.S.A.2014-07-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Couldn't wait to give my two weeks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. full-time

    Pros

    The only part of Skechers that was rewarding was that you had some great people you got to know. This was one of the only reason I stayed for so many years ; and the pay isn't so bad.

    Cons

    The upper management is crazy, they would expect you to work miracles with very little payroll. It is a very labor intensive job and corporate likes to constantly change their visual directives.

    Continue reading
    Skechers U.S.A.2013-09-08
  5. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A.

    Pros

    You get plenty of hours and if anything you can make commission if you ask.

    Cons

    Fearful of getting fired if upper management does not like you.The turnover is high.

    Skechers U.S.A.2013-05-08
  6. "Former Management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A.

    Pros

    Great teammates/staff! Cool new product.

    Cons

    Lousy upper management on the retail side. Too many old school people that are smart at what they do, but have zero people skills. Regional Managers that are not honest with the people below them.

    Continue reading
    Skechers U.S.A.2013-04-18
  7. "Not the best job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Skechers U.S.A. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The sales team is amazing. Commission can be really good if you get to sell.

    Cons

    unrealistic targets, shifts changing at the last minute, no respect from upper management, a lot of drama

    Skechers U.S.A.2020-01-28
  8. "If you think you learn quick think again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. full-time

    Pros

    Discount is good People who are not manager are good

    Cons

    Poor training Not enough staff Frequent upper management visits Old systems

    Continue reading
    Skechers U.S.A.2019-10-10
  9. "It is what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Vaughan, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team I worked with was great and friendly. Good chance to improve my sales skills

    Cons

    Upper management puts a lot of pressure on employees

    Continue reading
    Skechers U.S.A.2019-08-13
  10. "Good place for part time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skechers U.S.A. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good place to work part time, good comission, and can make a good living off working there and studying at university

    Cons

    Bad managment, especially upper management, felt very management vs staff

    Continue reading
    Skechers U.S.A.2019-08-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 66 reviews