Skuid Reviews | Glassdoor

Skuid Reviews

Updated 14 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 86 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Skuid CEO Ken McElrath
Ken McElrath
72 Ratings
Pros
  • "Of course, a great company isn't much good without a great product(in 8 reviews)

  • "Company culture and traditions are unlike anything I've ever seen(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "The rapid growth that the company is experiencing will naturally add to the struggle of maintaining such a vibrant work environment(in 6 reviews)

  • "Skuid is currently in a temporary office space as they buildout two floors in the Liberty building (downtown Chattanooga)(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Surrounded by humble professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skuid full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Skuid has employed some of the best talent I've ever had the pleasure of working with. Everyone from HR, to Finance, to QA have optimized their own processes to streamline your dealings with them. Frankly, I don't know how they've done it, but there's not a person there I dislike, and wouldn't be willing to grab a drink with. It has a lot of the efficiencies I would expect at a much larger company, but minus a... lot of the slow moving cruft. They also have a focus on growing their people and letting them branch out. Engineers have several layers of protection from interruptions to try and allow maximal deep work. And in engineering there is a focus on quality where we build things to last, and automate whatever we can fairly aggressively to keep our work cycles tight. State of the art CI/CD processes in place. They've got their act together. Great place to work and grow as an engineer. What the engineering department lacks in headcount they often make up for in average engineer impact. Can only recall one or two times working late was necessary in about three years of working here due to critical customer issues. They are fine with you often working remote, or in some special cases - full-time remote. 9-5 is not a requirement, just that the work gets done in a reasonable time.

    Show More

    Cons

    Recent acquisition of the company (Like 5 months ago) has added a bit of uncertainty to the company moving forward. Though the acquirer seems to be decent as far as giant corps. go. A lot of our fate now lies in their hands, and no one is totally sure yet what that will mean longer term. Only time will tell.

    Advice to Management

    I'd say considering offering full-time remote positions to widen the net of skilled engineering applicants may be a good idea. All of engineering works remote ~50% of the time anyway and there are good folks out there. If we can't compete with a FAANG on salary, or even traditional benefits, maybe we could offer the flexibility they won't, which is full-time remote. Anyway, keep it up!

    Skuid2019-07-14
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Great, caring, empathetic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skuid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The engineering team at Skuid is a high functioning, wonderful team full of caring heroes. As engineers, it can be hard to check your ego at the door but this team does it well. The technical management is very knowledgeable, supportive, and caring as well. The company itself is one of the most transparent and caring I've worked for. As a startup that's transitioning into something more, there are the usual... pivots and changes in direction. Through it all there is an unwavering focus on quality engineering.

    Show More

    Cons

    Change is hard. The pivots and changes in directions can be tough to weather at times, even knowing that they are extremely typical for a company at this stage.

    Skuid2019-03-28
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing People - Fun Product to Sell - Huge Market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skuid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a sales professional - product, support from leadership, and culture stand out as vital requirements as I maneuver my way through my career. Skuid truly differentiates. Skuid has a one of a kind product that exists in a LARGE market but has key differentiators that make it easy to become passionate about. Every tech startup raves about their people and culture and Skuid does too - where I have found there is a... separation is in the ACTUAL relationships people are willing to build. I pick peoples brains on the weekend about real estate or relevant topics outside of tech - I can truly say that the character of people at Skuid is unmatched.

    Show More

    Cons

    Each sales cycle is SO different at Skuid today - this is both a good and bad thing. For having as many top notch customer logos as Skuid does without having perfected a repeatable sales cycle both frustrates me and gets me extremely excited. You are constantly being challenged on ways to be creative and get things done - working and closing deals at Skuid makes you a better overall rep. Again, being as successful... as Skuid is without necessarily being on some of the top analyst reviews is both amazing and frustrating. Once we are there and have a place at the table - the ceiling is truly unlimited.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lose the culture, and you will lose the people. Continue to have a hand in each major customer interaction. Keep innovation and R&D at a maximum - this will always shine. Maintain and grow the relationship Skuid has with major partners.

    Skuid2019-03-16
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Left & Came Back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skuid full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, excellent product and world class customers. This is a special place. The chance to work among some exceptional people and serve some amazing customers is a dynamite combo. I left and came back having seen what I needed to see. Delighted to be welcomed back by the team and people I grew to know and trust.

    Cons

    Tech startups have their inherent risks and Skuid isn’t immune. Also it can be hard to find talent and keep it if remote. Both are embraced here.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your people, they will reinvest in your customers. Cultivate honesty and direct communication.

    Skuid2019-03-18
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing Work/Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skuid full-time

    Pros

    The people at Skuid are what truly make this company special. The people you work with genuinely appreciate you as an individual, and aren't solely interested in walking over people to get ahead. Your co-workers are happy to help you with issues, and in fact often offer that help unsolicited. Another major benefit of working here is the work-life balance; it's exceptional; managers are understanding when you need... to attend to family/personal matters. I love the flexibility of being able to work remote when needed, but also enjoy the office culture and being around the Skuid Skuad. Unlimited vacation is definitely a plus! Our product has morphed with the growing needs of our customers. When I first started we were all about Skuid on Salesforce and a new release that really showcased what Skuid is capable of. Fast forward a couple of years and I've witnessed firsthand how the Skuid product has diversified- now with customers using us on Platform with a variety of data sources (SAP, AWS, Microsoft, etc) and so many new features (mobile, templates, etc). Of course, a great company isn't much good without a great product. And I can say that Skuid has one. I enjoy seeing potential customers' responses after seeing a demo of our product. They are uniformly enthusiastic and amazed that so much can be accomplished without coding.

    Show More

    Cons

    Growing pains of being in a Tech Startup- Things are constantly changing and morphing as we grow.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring those who fit the company culture and continue with the culture of open communication. Think about bringing back the 401K matching, it seems the most requested perk and it will help us stay competitive and attract/retain great talent. Kudos on the latest reorganization! It's never easy to do, but now sales and marketing work seamlessly together. I foresee a very bright future with our current... executives and other talented people!

    Show More
    Skuid2019-03-16
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Fake News"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skuid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office, free breakfast and snacks

    Cons

    Don't buy into the 5-star reviews. When they're struggling to recruit people or secure funding it's common practice to encourage the staff to write glowing reviews to bury the truth. It's a rudderless ship and they will fill you with false hope and false security only to turn their back on you when things get a little tight. Yes, start-ups do go through ups and downs, but this particular one makes the same... mistakes over and over and over again. Don't look here for long-term job security.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with yourselves, your employees, and the prospects you're recruiting

    Skuid2019-03-18
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Still Very Much a Startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skuid full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, decent benefits, casual work environment, lots of opportunity to grow and move around if interested. Things have been unsteady at times, but this is a startup. Sure, there have been some bad decisions made, but you dont choose to work for a startup without recognizing the risk of instability.

    Cons

    There is an "impending doom" feeling at times that is often glossed over by leadership. At times the company is run too top down. Certain leadership roles try to keep too tight of a grip on day-to-day, in the weeds, operations. This cant be run like a mom & pop business anymore.

    Advice to Management

    Leadership needs to recognize they hired smart people with great ideas and embrace that. Bring back some benefits as soon as possible. We NEED to retain great employees. We will never see great success if we cannot retain great employees with compensation/benefits that is competitive in the tech industry.

    Skuid2018-12-21

    Skuid Response

    December 21, 2018HR Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We agree with you, working for a startup can feel like a rollercoaster ride at times. Do you have any ideas on how we can better retain our employees other than the comp/benefits side of things? We love to hear ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Great culture, terrible execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skuid

    Pros

    Co-workers, collaboration, snacks, la Croix, and paid benefits

    Cons

    No 401k match. Knee jerk reactions that cost people their jobs. Was there a year and went thru 2-3 signicant layoffs. The once strong culture is now marred by the looming feeling of impending doom.

    Advice to Management

    Take off your rose colored glasses.

    Skuid2018-12-19
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Running on Fumes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skuid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything that was positive is in the past tense.

    Cons

    Lack of market fit for their product. Not a full stack development platform and no capital or talent left to get there. Built on the SFDC platform and totally beholden their ecosystem as a bolt on to mask the Salesforce's UI/UX shortcomings. However, it's tough to sell into this environment when SFDC doesn't want you around because they are all in on Lightning and view Skuid as an annoyance. SFDC has taken all... the wind out of Skuid's sails. Continuous layoffs has left a shell of a company. CEO not viewed as a credible leader any longer.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sell out to SFDC for whatever they'll give you. They are the only viable buyer.

    Skuid2019-01-24
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Run. Run far away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Skuid full-time

    Pros

    Health insurance premiums paid 100 %, 401K w/ employer match, Niedlov's breakfast, great colleagues, and a collaborative work environment...OH WAIT, that was the old Skuid. Maybe someone will buy us and put us out of our misery? Maybe we'll stop hiring people just to fire them 60 days later? Maybe sales and marketing can work together someday?

    Cons

    Where do you start? Multiple reorgs in the last 6 months, no predictable revenue, lack of leadership, lack of trust, sales and marketing padding their numbers...the list goes on.

    Advice to Management

    Hand over the keys...

    Skuid2018-12-14

    Skuid Response

    December 21, 2018HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the opinions of our employees, both good and bad. We hate that we missed the mark with you though. You're right in that things are different now at Skuid. Startups go through constant change and at times, the experience can feel rough. It ...

    Show More
Found 86 reviews