KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Skullcandy

Is this your company?

Skullcandy

Add a Review

Skullcandy Reviews

Updated May 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
84%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Skullcandy CEO Jason Hodell
Jason Hodell
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/Life balance, challenging, feel like family(in 10 reviews)

  • "Company with a 'can do' culture, inclusive and open work environment(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior management likes to live on the edge and make decisions at the last second(in 4 reviews)

  • "Not a ton of room for upward growth(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      May 6, 2021 - Marketing Manager in Park City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Skullcandy is a fun place to work that really cares about their employees

      Cons

      Lacks diversity in their board

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      If You Ever Worked Somewhere You Hated This Is The Complete Opposite

      Feb 5, 2021 - Marketing and Digital Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits my medical is so cheap, unlimited time off, so much flexibility, casual office environment while working on a cool product, work from home during COVID. HR even had masks shipped in for us when you couldn't find them anywhere back in April. The C-level are really good people and you could approach them at any time if you needed to. A incredible place to balance your work and personal life. You will work hard especially before Holiday but you will learn so much here.

      Cons

      You truly have to dig deep to find them. The people that are unhappy or complain here make me wonder if they've ever worked anywhere else or if they know how good they have it-some of my coworkers think they are entitled to everything so they just complain instead of looking elsewhere and that can get really frustrating for a team's mood. It is a small company so you might not get promoted unless someone above you leaves and while the compensation could be a bit higher based on how expensive Utah is getting most of it would not be worth leaving for.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Culture

      Feb 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Park City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flex time, great employees and coworkers, perfect office location in Park City. Theres the ability to move up in your role and career and there are many people who have left the company and come back. That says a lot right there. They hire talented people and its sink or swim around here, if you don't cut it you don't last. In addition to the 401k match and discounted health insurance they also give a discount and partial reimbursement to gym and ski passes. There are half day Friday's in the summer which usually include a BBQ or grill out on the patio, and even food trucks. In addition to time off they also have company parties and events including department and company ski days on the mountain, holiday party and summer bash at the lake. The leadership team is reliable and trustworthy, they have a great vision and I would highly recommend working here.

      Cons

      I couldn't imagine a better place to work and the only con I can think of is that the coffee maker is pretty bad.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Like to work hard and play hard with world class teams? Skullcandy might be for you.

      Feb 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Park City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of autonomy and opportunity to drive improvements and have an impact. Small and nimble, but big enough to have real industry impact. If you are looking for a high energy, fast paced place this could be for you. Make no mistake, you will work harder than you may ever have worked before but you will see the impacts and do it with some awesome people. If you are looking to coast, or for a 9-5, do not apply. Solid company values if you truly embrace them. Products are the best they've ever been and the marketing a brand is stronger than ever. World class teams.

      Cons

      Small and fast, but resources versus projects is always a challenges which means you will feel overworked at times. Certain positions require after hours factory calls and/or travel to asia (pre-pandemic). Communications can be wonky at times, meaning inefficiencies and a lot of meetings.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Voted Best Places to Work. Again!! SL Tribune and Outside Magazine

      Dec 17, 2020 - Corporate Counsel in Park City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Skullcandy provides wide latitude not found at large companies. On the other hand, we compete with the big dogs and we are winning. Skullcandy was voted one of Deloitte's Best Managed Companies (midsize) Skullcandy had already implemented a work from home policy prior to COVID so the transition was much smoother than many other companies. The flexibility to work remotely is great. The HQ building in Park City is the best place to work west of the Mississippi. We have hiking/biking trails literally out our back door. It takes 7 minutes to get from your desk to the Cabriolet lift at The Canyons (8 minutes if you are slow to put your boots on). The company culture is very accepting of all types even if you have purple hair, skate board for fun, or prefer reading technical manuals on wireless hardware, or all of the above.

      Cons

      The organization is flat, which doesn't leave much room for upward mobility unless people leave. The obvious side effect of providing great opportunities not provided at large highly structed companies.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Culture. Good Work Ethic. SubPar Pay.

      Jan 20, 2021 - Anonymous in Park City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In my experience you are never micro managed - lots of responsibility and trust is given off the bat. Company wide transparency -- the executive team is good about sharing both the good and bad Culture -- You will never find a company like Skullcandy! The culture is what makes you stay. Work hard, play hard is a motto and everyone lives it. From the Halloween Party, to BBQ Friday's you will have a smile on your face most days at work. Bonus your colleagues become your friends & the freedom and trust you get is hard to beat. Given a lot of opportunities to do more and contribute more. Open dialogue with direct managers & facetime with executives. They are genuinely interested in talking to you and your opinions. Collaborative work environment. Lots of opportunity to work cross functionally.

      Cons

      Pay/Salary - Compared to industry standard you will be paid less and have more responsibilities. Not a ton of room for upward growth. Early growth is easily gained, but you will hit a plateau and it's hard to move past. Seems to be more due to the size of the company so not sure there is much to be done there.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The Best Company I Have Worked For!

      Nov 18, 2020 - Administrative in Park City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Where to start? One of the best parts about working for Skullcandy is the transparency all the way to the highest levels of the company. Our entire leadership team works tirelessly to better the lives and careers of all employees. Their open door policy isn’t a gimmick, if you have a question, concern or idea, they welcome it. The company culture and perks are second to none. They embrace the amazing place we get to live and work by giving us Unlimited PTO, Powder Days, Half Day Fridays, BBQs and the list goes on and on and on. We have a skate ramp, pool table, pickleball court and ping pong so you can get your stress relief and break up the monotony of the day. With a dog friendly office, there is always a four legged friend to give you a cuddle to brighten your day.

      Cons

      For my position and role within the company, I really don’t have any cons. I have taken advantage of our open door policy and feel any concern that I have brought up has been addressed quickly and satisfactory.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great culture and that’s about it.

      Jan 29, 2021 - Supply Chain in Park City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture, great location some good people

      Cons

      Toxic, terrible management over promise under deliver

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Perfect size means great combination of culture & business

      Jan 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Park City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Skullcandy has a great culture thanks to its size and its senior leadership. This means we work hard and play hard. In fact, one of our company values is "First Chair, Last Call". The culture is relaxed, but it is filled with really smart, high performing people. People genuinely like working together.

      Cons

      The company has been great throughout covid, allowing everyone to work from home. But, it doesn't allow us to have the same in person interactions and events that we are used to. Compensation could be better.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work, even better people.

      Dec 22, 2020 - Social Media Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Skullcandy is an excellent place to work. Not only is the office a unique space with a breathtaking view, but it's also filled with some of the coolest people in UT. Skullcandy pushes you to be creative, try new things, and be continually learning. We have strong female leadership and lots of growth opportunities! We work hard, but we play harder, we love to celebrate together ( Holiday Parties, Powder Days, Themed Office Days, and more) Some of my favorite days at Skullcandy: Halloween party, Chrisrtmas Party, Campaign launches, and Sales Meeting.

      Cons

      The Commute is a bit long from the city and a bit rough in the Winter. Luckily, leadership considers that.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 81 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Skullcandy Job Seekers

    Product Line Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Skullcandy? Share Your Experiences

    Skullcandy logo
    or