Sky Customer Service Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Customer Service Advisor

Sky Customer Service Advisor Reviews

Updated Dec 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
52%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Sky CEO  Jeremy Darroch
Jeremy Darroch
28 Ratings
  1. "Customer Service Advisor Retention"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor Retention in Stockport, England

    I have been working at Sky part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant office and fantastic pay

    Cons

    Managers would micro manage every detail

    Advice to Management

    Give more freedom to the advisors

    Sky2019-11-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "hypocrasy at it's finest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    degree of flexibility perks people engagement activities

    Cons

    unatainable targets backward management hypocritical practices in terms of green credentials ( they started the ocean rescue but the amount of waste of paper in the contact centre is astronomical) unfair treatment of staff (in order to avoid paying redundancies they "manage" people out of the business by setting them up to fail) they don't actually give a hoot about the customer all they do is for the sake of profit not enough opportunities for working mothers hence the gender pay gap

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    you need to move with the times by giving staff more autonamy and fair targets

    Sky2019-12-17
  3. "Order recovery expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Livingston, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, inclusion, mental health, support, sickness leave

    Cons

    Salary, face fits, Sickness covered under equality act support (friend not me)

    Sky2019-09-26
  4. "Not a place to work if you want a home/work like balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Stockport, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free Sky BB, TV, Telephone

    Cons

    You're just another brick in a wall

    Advice to Management

    Treat people as individuals and not androids

    Sky2019-09-02
  5. "Good. But misleading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free sky, good working environment, good canteen, good team, good manager

    Cons

    Job that is not about sales has a heavy sales focus and punishment for those who don't sell. Managers circles are all clique based, and the managers are often not available and off in a meeting somewhere as an excuse to not take escalations

    Advice to Management

    Stop the clique culture and stop punishing staff who are not sales advisors for not making sales, we can all sell, yes, but a lot of us did not join tech support to be telesales advisors. Training was alright but was told we didn't need technical knowledge to do a technical job, and we were only shown half the systems we would need and told we wouldn't need the others. Which is absolutely not the case. CEL leaders reject escalations or process overrides when you've explained why it is needed because they apparently know better but half are not even tech trained. Sales are briefly mentioned in grad and training and we are told it is not a big deal but then on the floor all you hear is sales sales sales sales target is fair but then if I am technical support and customer service, you shouldn't be punishing us for not selling. We are not a sales assistants and I never applied to be a sales assistant, leave sales to sales and support to support. The commission is good however I feel like we as support advisors shouldn't be targeted on sales

    Show More
    Sky2019-09-06
  6. "Don’t care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Dunfermline, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free sky pay more than minimum wage

    Cons

    Don’t care about you as long as your recontracting customers

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on the customer

    Sky2019-08-15
  7. "Run away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Stockport, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing colleagues to work with

    Cons

    Terrible management who honestly do not have a clue Work life balance none existent My manager actually used the phrase "maybe you care too much about customers" New starters were endlessly arriving cause sky starting firing them on the smallest missed target after grad bay so just became depressing coming in to find more people Let go. "Free sky tv" unless you have 3 absences on a year and it's gone for 6 months and they wouldn't care if it was a genuine medical requirement or not. 4 years there and I would rather lose my house the spend 1 more day working in that place

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No advice would sort that lot of clowns

    Sky2019-08-14
  8. "Micro-Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good canteen, and your colleagues are great people. Pay isn’t too bad. Free tv.

    Cons

    - Micro-managed constantly. Every second you’re in work, they can see your aux code. Doesn’t matter if you’re doing case prep, typing up notes, sending emails. If you’re not on a call or ready, they see it as ‘unproductive’. - Worked in service, and they were at us for sales with targets when it was our job to try fix people’s tech issues. - If you miss a certain amount of days, they will downgrade your tv. It’s like you’re a child and you’re being punished for being ILL. - Dealing with customers shouting at you on a daily basis, swearing and abusing you, then they wonder why you have low survey scores.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You wouldn’t have such a large turnover rate if you didn’t treat your staff like children. Micro-managing, punishment, high stress levels. You give them the responsibility of their job which is fine, but with three other targets. And with all that responsibility, they still have no authority and are the bottom of the ladder. Respect goes a long way.

    Sky2019-07-23
  9. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Dunfermline, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Various shifts, free sky q and fibre broadband, subsided canteen, discounts at lots of retailers, OK pension

    Cons

    Salary not comparable to market

    Advice to Management

    Increase base salary... Which is currently being considered

    Sky2019-04-23
  10. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Stockport, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent Benefits. Great people. Sales incentives

    Cons

    All about making more money Sales focus in technical department

    Sky2019-04-04
Found 50 reviews