Sky Sales Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Sky Sales Advisor Reviews

Updated Jan 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
50%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Sky CEO  Jeremy Darroch
Jeremy Darroch
44 Ratings
  1. "Call centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits , opportunities of progression

    Cons

    Target based and routed calls

    Sky2020-01-06
  2. "good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland

    I have been working at Sky full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely people and good benefits

    Cons

    difficult and rude customers. KPIs

    Sky2019-12-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Pay and benefits decent - everything else terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay for an entry level job not requiring a degree etc Ability to make up to £400 per month in bonuses Great benefits like free Sky, Christmas gift, food on occasions

    Cons

    Soul crushing Customers can be really horrible as in any job but you get a lot of them in succession Everything is recorded and monitored and it feels like you’re being spied on and if you’re not absolutely 100% perfect at everything (and nobody can be) you’ll get pulled up about it and interrogated about how you think you could improve Can be demeaning - customers and management So many people I know developed anxiety and depression working there, dreading the next call coming in If you had any time off sick you had to have a “back to work interview” to find out why you were off, if they can “support” you or do anything to help etc but it’s actually a pretty intimidating process and although they say the right words everyone always felt like it was an interrogation and to try put you off ever being absent again

    Show More
    Sky2019-11-29
  4. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sky Sales Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love it great to work for

    Cons

    The job itself is hard

    Sky2019-09-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sky full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free sky tv and discounts on broadband Opportunities to progress, must be hard working and achieving targets, helps to be friends with management Decent wage

    Cons

    Management don't care about staffs mental wellbeing or take family circumstances into account Opening times for department aren't great HR processes not followed well Some CELs have superiority complex and are neither helpful nor approachable for advisors

    Advice to Management

    Review weekend opening hours for retentions... Do they really need to work till 8pm on a Saturday and Sunday!? Review lower/middle management more closely, perhaps hire HR staff in all offices.

    Sky2019-10-16
  6. "Fantastic company, dodgy line management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sky full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant environment that fosters inclusion and equality with plenty of opportunities for ambitious individuals

    Cons

    Antiquated computer systems not fit for purpose, too much bureaucracy

    Advice to Management

    Hire individuals with management backgrounds rather or provide management training to those stepping up.

    Sky2019-08-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sky full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and incentives. Lots of little perks and chances to win things alongside being rewarded for performance. Often lots going on in work depending on different holidays eg: Christmas, Halloween etc.

    Cons

    The way they deal with absence is not great. They preach about mental health constantly and how supportive they are and inclusive etc. It’s just not true. The individual managers can be fantastic but when it comes to the company policies from higher up it can just be terrible. You can be penalised/sky tv taken from you for things that are completely out of your control and I just do not think that is fair at all. I think sky need to have a look at how they are treating people and rather than follow one process for everything - really look into each case on an individual level. They say that they do this but they don’t really. Also can be quite cliquey and some managers can be extremely rude to you and act like they are so much better than you. Also a nightmare to get into work on a Sunday if you are not local given the location. Lots of stupid targets - too regulated now and very forced, can’t just have a normal conversation with a customer. The conversations aren’t as genuine as when I first started which is a shame. Morale had really dropped when I left due to so many changes and regulations - it just wasn’t as enjoyable as when I first started sadly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat people more fairly. And stop being rude to sales advisors for no reason - they deal with enough hassle speaking to customers on the phone. Your job is to answer more difficult questions and provide solutions to situations that we are not allowed to so don’t become annoyed with the sales advisor when it is out of their control.

    Sky2019-08-06
  8. "Retention Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sky Sales Advisor 

    I worked at Sky full-time

    Pros

    Holidays and good work environment

    Cons

    Having to do shift work

    Sky2019-07-10
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Advisor in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing basic salary for a sales job, commission structure is very good, free sky TV, discounts at a lot of major stores

    Cons

    Next to no opportunity for progression within the company in retail. Can be mundane and repetitive.

    Sky2019-06-30
  10. "No life working there !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sky full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are quite genuine there

    Cons

    Slave hours, promotion chances slim

    Advice to Management

    Don’t pick and choose your favourites

    Sky2019-07-03
Found 84 reviews