Sky Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Sky Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
64%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Sky CEO  Jeremy Darroch
Jeremy Darroch
25 Ratings
  1. "Very good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Sky

    Pros

    good working standards, good contractor rates.

    Cons

    Parking is not available for contractors

    Sky2020-01-23
  2. "Growing company with big tech ambitions!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people and teams. Large company so lots of opportunities. Great working environment and campus.

    Cons

    Not in Central London. Can stagnate if not motivated.

    Sky2020-01-03
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Out of touch with technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Livingston, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits , good work life balance

    Cons

    Lots of journey men happy with status quo

    Sky2019-11-19
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not really a tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Some of the best benefits in the business (9% company pension contribution, free Sky TV, on-site gym) - Great approach to work-life balance - Actively engaged in the well-being (mental and physical) of staff

    Cons

    - All major technical decisions are made by non-technical staff based on financials - All changes must be costed - Recruitment works on a "yes to everyone that applies" basis due to high churn - Grad scheme effectiveness depends on patronage - A highly political promotion environment - you are far more likely to be promoted if the hiring manager is your friend than if you are actually competent - The system admin departments still think it's the 90s - Middle management has no real training at managing people

    Continue reading
    Sky2019-10-13
  6. "Fun company, a bit maverick, nice experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Engineer in Brentwood, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sky for more than a year

    Pros

    Spacious and modern offices, great location, great atmosphere, a real sense of community, everybody very level and approachable. Sky is a comparatively large company, but retains much of the nature of a start-up. Sometimes "Believe in better" rings a bit hollow, but "Made by us" is very true: Sky has never hesitated to break the mold, going so far as designing their own, branded 3-pin electric plugs. Why not? Sky has never been content with repackaging and rebranding off-the-shelf solutions, and enjoys being a bit different, being the one that makes others wonder "what will they do next?"

    Cons

    The flip side of the positive. One hand doesn't know what the other is doing. Projects spinning out of control, management not knowing what's going on, a sometimes lazy and careless attitude among some employees, groups and entities that are totally entrenched and impenetrable while showing no corporate spirit , engagement, or responsibility. Giant baby, a massively overgrown start-up, a lack of maturity and structure. But Sky is what you make of it: be positive, and the negatives fade into insignificance.

    Continue reading
    Sky2019-09-22
  7. "Worst company I ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Lisbon
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sky full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Only the company name. Please read my Advice To Management.

    Cons

    It was my worst experience in a company. The teams work under pressure, the leader that I worked with is a big-headed guy and doesn't like to receive feedback. - Salary - Micromanagement - No collaboration teams, but competition a lot. - No participation in decisions. - Ego >>>>>> people

    Continue reading
    Sky2019-10-03
  8. "Modern and Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in Livingston, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Sky is a great, modern company to work for with really good benefits, good career oportunities and interesting work.

    Cons

    Location is the only con I can think of, Livingston isn't great.

    Sky2019-08-27
  9. "Corporate company trying to be agile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary package Very good benefit Subsided gym and food Work Life balance

    Cons

    Corporate culture (pretending to be agile) You need to be part of inner circle to progress, your technical knowledge does not get you anywhere (glass ceiling) Managers are not trained

    Sky2019-09-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great perks, interesting projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sky full-time

    Pros

    Good culture, friendly atmosphere. Great pension, free private healthcare, free life assurance, work laptop, nice office spaces, free Sky TV & broadband. Good facilities on campus including subsidised cafes and restaurants, supermarkets, subsidised gym, subsidised dry cleaners, mail room. Working hours are very good.

    Cons

    Need to be on duty in the evening sometimes for emergency technical problems with services - but you get compensated 0.5 days holiday for every week on duty.

    Sky2019-08-10
  11. Helpful (4)

    "Spiteful and demoralising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mid Software Engineer in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sky full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A while ago i would have listed a lot more, The people and the team are great and make it a fun place to work. Relaxed culture in terms of dress codes.

    Cons

    Where to start. We work with Scotland teams who are hell bent on trying to belittle us in Leeds, and question everything we do. We just get bollocked when things go wrong even though its either nothing to do with us and Livi's issue, or bad product management. Tech Leadership in Leeds is vapid and uninspiring, they went for a yes person who has zero tech knowledge, his DC Labs Town Hall sessions are hilarious. Too much out of hours work too, senior managements expectations are somewhat unrealistic in DCL. For a company that is trying to promote better mental health in the workplace, practice what you preach as stress and anxiety is rife.

    Continue reading
    Sky2019-07-02
Found 46 reviews